The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 5–6 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Essential-load capability recorded
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the highest exact current power bin named on the V2 sheet linked from Sungrow India's MG5/6RL card. MG8RL/MG10RL and MGL060 are different identities. Scored model: MG6RL · checked 2026-09-03. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-05
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record revision. Sungrow MG5RL/MG6RL datasheet Version 2 linked from the India MG5/6RL page. India inverter and battery warranty-terms recovery 2026-09-05: structured IN overlay terms recovered or held from the current Indian governing instrument.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Rated AC power (kW)Manufacturer ↗
Show 7 more
- Grid & safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Warranty ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Manufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal load managementNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
4 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://resource.capetown.gov.za/documentcentre/Documents/Forms,%20notices,%20tariffs%20and%20lists/Approved%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Inverter%20List.pdf; https://www.certipedia.com/certificates/50728558?locale=en
Grid & safety certification
- Before
- IEC 62109 + grid codes, 3+ markets
- After
- IEC 62109 + grid code, 1 market
4 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl
IN Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Sungrow does not bear labour costs for removing the defective product or reinstalling the repaired or replacement product. In-warranty cover is materials only (clause 7.3).; registration: No baseline pre-install registration deadline is stated. Cover starts from the invoice date or documented first installation, or six months after Sungrow factory shipment if both documents are missing. Claims need proof of purchase, serial number and a defect report via phone, email or Sungrow GSP (clauses 2.2, 6.1 and 6.2).; remedy: Sungrow supplies the materials needed for repair (replacement parts or an equivalent replacement). If the product is not repairable, Sungrow guarantees to provide, at its discretion, a new or refurbished replacement with performance equal to or higher than the defective product. Remaining term follows the replacement (clauses 3.1 and 3.3).; removal reinstallation: Sungrow does not cover removal, reinstallation, or troubleshooting of other electrical-system components. Relocation to a new site needs Sungrow's written consent and a paid on-site inspection (clauses 3.7, 5.1(j), 7.3 and 7.4).; transferability: Warranty rights may transfer to a later owner, authorised operator or lessee at the same site during the warranty period. The new end-user must sign and submit Sungrow's warranty transfer agreement (clause 3.6).; transport: The claimant bears freight of the alleged defective product back to Sungrow. Sungrow bears freight of the new or refurbished product to the end-user. Shipping damage is excluded (clauses 7.1 to 7.3).
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
IN market evidenceWarranty period (yrs)+4 in JSON recordIN Warranty scope
- Current text
- India; the India manufacturer warranty HTML on sungrowpower.com/in/en, with the 2.3 product-list image, lists Residential PCS at 10 years standard and Residential Inverter (1-phase & 3-phase) at 5 years standard with a maximum extended period of 10 years. The instrument does not name MG6RL, and the India product page describes the MG5/6RL family as a 1-phase hybrid inverter, so the governing row is not established. Six structured warranty terms are recovered from clauses 3, 6 and 7 of that India HTML. AU, US or DE terms are not transferred.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
IN market evidenceWarranty period (yrs)+4 in JSON recordVPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Title
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Local and cloud monitoring depend on the communication setup
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf
Summary
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- MG6RL is explicitly covered by the current linked Ver13 manual. It specifies WiNet-S2 on COM1 and documents Ethernet Modbus TCP/IP for third-party control. WiNet-S2 also supports WLAN, but the manual advises against using Ethernet and WLAN together. iSolarCloud remote access requires a connection through the module and router or base station; access varies by user role. Its public cloud monitoring API additionally requires developer and application approval, plant authorization and the applicable service package. Confirm the supplied module, firmware and permitted connection arrangement before planning an external controller. Local TCP documentation does not establish local REST, SunSpec certification, every cloud dispatch command or a named live VPP. The India-hosted page labels this family SEA/MENA/Brazil; it does not prove local approval or installed hardware.
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Proprietary / no documented API
- After
- Modbus TCP + cloud API
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
4 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
IN Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Sungrow does not bear labour costs for removing the defective product or reinstalling the repaired or replacement product. In-warranty cover is materials only (clause 7.3).; registration: No baseline pre-install registration deadline is stated. Cover starts from the invoice date or documented first installation, or six months after Sungrow factory shipment if both documents are missing. Claims need proof of purchase, serial number and a defect report via phone, email or Sungrow GSP (clauses 2.2, 6.1 and 6.2).; remedy: Sungrow supplies the materials needed for repair (replacement parts or an equivalent replacement). If the product is not repairable, Sungrow may supply a new or refurbished replacement of equal or higher performance. Remaining term follows the replacement (clauses 3.1 and 3.3).; removal reinstallation: Sungrow does not cover removal, reinstallation, or troubleshooting of other electrical-system components. Relocation to a new site needs Sungrow's written consent and a paid on-site inspection (clauses 3.7, 5.1(j), 7.3 and 7.4).; transferability: Warranty rights may transfer to a later owner, authorised operator or lessee at the same site during the warranty period. The new end-user must sign and submit Sungrow's warranty transfer agreement (clause 3.6).; transport: The claimant bears freight of the alleged defective product back to Sungrow. Sungrow bears freight of the new or refurbished product to the end-user. Shipping damage is excluded (clauses 7.1 to 7.3).
Source revision
- Before
- Sungrow MG5RL/MG6RL datasheet Version 2 linked from the India MG5/6RL page.
- After
- Sungrow MG5RL/MG6RL datasheet Version 2 linked from the India MG5/6RL page. India inverter and battery warranty-terms recovery 2026-09-05: structured IN overlay terms recovered or held from the current Indian governing instrument.
IN Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://sungrowtest2blob.blob.core.windows.net/sungrow-official-web-dev/page-assets/60805b20-5f6a-4486-ae7f-37b8da26b4e7.png; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/warranty-terms-and-conditionsdetail-global-site
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/2dfe8668-ec2d-42b0-9ef9-9ecde7f0b981.pdf; https://sungrowtest2blob.blob.core.windows.net/sungrow-official-web-dev/page-assets/60805b20-5f6a-4486-ae7f-37b8da26b4e7.png; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/mgrl; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/warranty-terms-and-conditions-country-list-global-site; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/warranty-terms-and-conditionsdetail-global-site
IN Warranty scope
- Before
- India; the India warranty product-list image lists Residential PCS at 10 years standard. Duration only. The instrument does not name MG6RL. Six structured warranty terms are omitted.
- After
- India; the India manufacturer warranty HTML on sungrowpower.com/in/en, with the 2.3 product-list image, lists Residential PCS at 10 years standard. The instrument does not name MG6RL. Six structured warranty terms are recovered from clauses 3, 6 and 7 of that India HTML. AU, US or DE terms are not transferred.
1 change to this record · 5 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: Sungrow; name: MG6RL; model: Current India-listed MG5RL / MG6RL hybrid family; scored model MG6RL; score: 72.4
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
MG6RL scores 72, placing 23 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is thermal & physical resilience (85), running 8.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (50) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: 97.6% peak efficiency, 2 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar