September 2026

Methodology

Every score is deterministic: same inputs, same result, every time. No human thumb on the scale. Each scored value carries an evidence state and, where available, a direct published source. This is the full method, as of September 2026.

Published rubric
Sep 2026 edition
Per-category
panel 2.16.0battery 2.10.0inverter 3.7.0thinfilm 2.16.0pluginess 1.2.0
How it works

The scoring engine

How a score is built

Each product is scored against a published rubric of weighted pillars and criteria. Specifications, declared capabilities and documented evidence states map to reference bands. Pillars and the overall score use weighted averages. The arithmetic is deterministic; the choice of criteria and weights is an editorial methodology decision. No product receives an individual discretionary adjustment.

What happens when a spec is missing

Every criterion declares a missing mode. Floor supplies 40 points when the recorded value is missing. Neutral supplies 50 points. Both are scoring assumptions, not measured product performance. A missing record does not by itself prove manufacturer non-disclosure. Exclude removes the criterion and renormalises the remaining weights within its pillar. The current rubric can therefore change a score when evidence is absent. Reviewed absence and genuine non-applicability must be read with the source notes; neither should be mistaken for a measured result.

Classes, not one leaderboard

Products are sorted into market classes (e.g., Premium European, Performance & Value) and judged within those classes. A boutique premium product should not be ranked against a volume residential product on scale, and vice versa. The class system prevents misleading cross-segment comparisons while still publishing all scores.

International publication

International safety standards and regional approval records have different scopes. The current inverter rubric rewards the number of evidenced national grid-code markets; it does not treat certification breadth as proof of better electrical performance. Local approval and availability must still be checked separately. Any future change to this scoring rule will be versioned and reviewed before publication.

Evidence and market context

Every audit-sheet row is labelled as sourced, reviewed absence, estimated, derived, or not found. Reviewed absence means the linked exact-product material was checked but did not publish the qualifying detail. It is evidence of non-disclosure in the reviewed material, not proof that a capability can never exist. Not found is reserved for rows where no direct source has been located. An estimate or missing source is never presented as a verified fact. Product scorecards also state when their market review was last checked. A product marked market review not yet completed has no implied availability, certification, warranty or installer-compatibility claim for your location: confirm those points before purchase.

Why no product scores 100

Each published rubric fixes its own reference bands. The composite mixes specifications, engineering proxies and warranty or support evidence; it is not a physical measurement of distance from perfection. Adding a new product does not recalibrate existing scores. Changes to reference bands or weights require an explicit rubric release.

Ageing technology: successor flags and the legacy tier

A newer-generation notice is informational, not proof of replacement. When sourced evidence establishes that an exact model is superseded or retired, we seal its last accepted assessment: rubric, inputs, pillar scores, audit sheet and subscores. It leaves current rankings and is not rescored under a later rubric. Its historical URL remains available. Current safety, recall and support notices remain separate from the frozen assessment. A regional withdrawal alone does not establish global retirement. Corrections require a recorded review rather than silently rewriting history.

What the score represents

Every score is tied to a named model or configuration. For panels, thin-film modules and inverters, the benchmark uses the highest published output only inside one physical, electrical and market-certification series; a lower model stays visibly in research until the maximum model's variant-sensitive evidence has been checked. Batteries instead show the supported capacity range and retain a named reference configuration, because a larger stack is not inherently a better battery. Plug-in ESS records score one exact model and publish grid-injection, backup and storage metrics separately. Regional ranges are kept distinct from the global family so an Australian maximum is never silently presented as a worldwide one.

External data sources

Scores draw on: manufacturer datasheets and warranty documents (primary sources, archived copies hosted under /sources/); IEC standards (61215, 61730, 61701, 62716, 62109, 62619, TS 62804); UL 9540A and UL 1741; AS/NZS 4777.2; independent test programmes: PVEL PV Module Reliability Scorecard, RETC, DNV battery scorecard, HTW Berlin Stromspeicher-Inspektion (RSP/SPI), ITP Renewables; BNEF Tier-1 lists (displayed, never scored); and peer-reviewed literature cited in individual rubric changelogs. What each of those third-party sources actually establishes, and which decision it answers, is set out in Three names on a spec sheet.

Methodology change log

Every rubric change is versioned and dated. Expand a rubric for its full history.

Panels21 versions · latest v2.16.0
  • v2.16.0 (2026-09-01): Module efficiency re-anchored and resolution doubled. (a) The 100-point band moves from 27.0% to 32.0%.
  • v2.15.0 (2026-08-24): Independent energy yield register closure. All 117 active panel records now carry one reviewed state and criterion-level source provenance: 3 exact current Kiwa PVEL PAN matches, 81 brand-or-series signals whose exact model or BOM is not covered, and 33 scoped reviewed absences.
  • v2.14.0 (2026-08-20): Three changes. (a) Independent energy yield gains a band at 55, 'Brand or series yield-tested; exact model not covered', mirroring the band v2.13.0 added to Verified reliability and applying the same rule to the register's other third-party criterion.
  • v2.13.0 (2026-08-19): Verified reliability gains a band at 60, 'Brand or series independently tested; exact model not covered', between 'Previously validated, now lapsed' (55) and 'Tested - pass' (65).
  • v2.12.0 (2026-08-19): LeTID returns as a scored criterion, 'LeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342)', Durability pillar at weight adjusted with the other seven criteria renormalised proportionally (rescaled).
  • v2.11.0 (2026-08-18): Discrimination-driven cleanup per the 2026-08-18 rubric review. Retired 'Awards' (92% of scored products in one band, 59% missing: a marketing signal in a measurement benchmark); its [weight withheld] weight moves to Encapsulation & frame construction (rebalanced) and Contact (rebalanced).
  • v2.10.0 (2026-08-01): Score-neutral panel-taxonomy migration. The former 'Cell architecture' scoring field is now explicitly named 'Cell technology tier', and every categorical band maps one-for-one to its previous score.
  • v2.9.0 (2026-07-31): Evidence state now affects the score. A criterion whose provenance marks it an editorial estimate keeps its band and is pulled 25% of the way toward the non-disclosure floor of 40, so an estimated band of 100 scores 85 and an estimated band of 60 scores 55.
  • v2.8.0 (2026-07-11): Warranty-insurance backing removed as a scoring path in 'Financial strength & warranty backing'; top band retitled 'Investment-grade or insured warranty' -> 'Investment-grade (rated)'.
  • v2.7.0 (2026-07-11): Retire 'Low-light / IAM coefficient' and fold the low-light prior into Cell architecture (deep-research 2026-07, Pass 3 + datasheet audit).
  • v2.6.0 (2026-07-10): Reliability-dial refinement; implements the governance 'never-tested vs lapsed' decision (governance_and_roadmap.md; deep-research 2026-07-10).
  • v2.5.0 (2026-07-05): Mid-field weight reallocation (rubric_review_2026-07b).
  • v2.4.0 (2026-07-03): New criterion 'End-of-life & recycling disclosure' (Sustainability, [weight withheld]; Carbon footprint / EPD 1.0 -> [weight withheld]). Watch-lane promotion on publisher direction, scored as verifiable disclosure.
  • v2.3.0 (2026-07-03): Implements rubric_review_2026-07.md on sourced enrichment (46/46 panels researched; every fact carries source + verbatim quote).
  • v2.3.0 (2026-07-03): Implements rubric_review_2026-07.md on sourced enrichment (46/46 panels researched; every fact carries source + verbatim quote).
  • v2.2.1 (2026-07-03): Missing-mode correction, floor -> exclude, for Fire classification (IEC 61730): 100% unpopulated (never enriched), so floor mode was a uniform fixed-point drag on all 46 panels for data the pipeline never collected - 'exclude' per the rubric's own missing-mode definitions. Found by engine/discrimination.py.
  • v2.2.0 (2026-07-03): Encapsulation rebuilt: chemistry and evidence over form factor, split into two criteria. (1) 'Encapsulation & frame construction' (weight adjusted, floor): five bands replace the previous three.
  • v2.1.0 (2026-06-20): Eight new criteria added. Durability: Hail resistance class (IEC 61215 + enhanced), Ammonia resistance (IEC 62716), Damp heat extended (2000h). Efficiency & Yield: NOCT (numeric, lower_better), Anti-soiling glass (categorical), Low-light / IAM coefficient (categorical proxy).
  • v2.0.0 (2026-06-20): HPBC split from back-contact tier; first-year degradation ceiling tightened; product warranty breakpoints refreshed; TOPCon bands collapsed; IEC 61730 Class C fire classification added.
  • v1.1.0-draft (2026-06-16): Retired LeTID & company-age, added independent energy yield + financial/warranty strength, eased encapsulation.
  • v1.0.0 (2026-06-16): Initial release.
Batteries14 versions · latest v2.10.0
  • v2.10.0 (2026-08-25): Closed the 78-product round-trip-efficiency and cycle-life evidence registers without weakening either comparison boundary. Round-trip efficiency now scores only an exact battery/DC round-trip value.
  • v2.9.0 (2026-07-31): Evidence state now affects the score. A criterion whose provenance marks it an editorial estimate keeps its band and is pulled 25% of the way toward the non-disclosure floor of 40, so an estimated band of 100 scores 85 and an estimated band of 60 scores 55.
  • v2.8.0 (2026-07-05): Warranty throughput normalised per kWh (rubric_review_2026-07b P4) after a 19-product sourced warranty sweep. Old vibes-bands (High/Moderate) replaced with quantified bands: unlimited-for-standard-use / >=5 MWh per kWh usable (cycle caps convert at 1000 cycles = 1 MWh/kWh) / 2.5-5 / <2.5 / not published.
  • v2.7.0 (2026-07-03): New criterion 'Backup surge / motor-start capability' (Power & Efficiency, [weight withheld]; existing criteria rescaled). Watch-lane promotion. LRA published: Tesla PW3 (185 A), FranklinWH aPower 2 (185 A + 15 kW/10 s), Fox ESS PowerQ (up to 110 A).
  • v2.6.0 (2026-07-03): New criterion 'Firmware & security disclosure' (Energy Ecosystem, [weight withheld]; existing criteria scaled x0.9). Promoted from the roadmap's watch-don't-score lane on publisher direction, scored as verifiable disclosure per the deterministic-methodology rule.
  • v2.5.0 (2026-07-03): New criterion 'Cell provenance & traceability' (Safety & Chemistry, [weight withheld]; Cell chemistry rebalanced): cells in-house (100) / supplier named (85) / undisclosed (70).
  • v2.4.1 (2026-07-03): Missing-mode correction, floor -> exclude, for the three v2.3 Intersolar criteria (Backup switching speed, Dual-port flexibility, Battery generation compatibility).
  • v2.4.0 (2026-07-02): Merges the stranded 'Rubric Shifters' v2.3.0 (2026-07-01, snapshot battery_rubric_v2.3.json) which was authored but never wired into this live file or the data: discovered during the globalization sweep (two releases shared the v2.3.0 number; see globalization_guardrails.md finding 5 and guardrail G6).
  • v2.3.1 (2026-07-02): Globalization migration (2026-07-02): score-neutral. Band labels for 'Grid & safety certification' and 'VPP & grid services readiness' re-authored so the top bands are defined by capability plus evidence in ANY named market, not AU-only regulatory recognition (AS/NZS 4777.2 + CEC listing, 'live AU VPP program').
  • v2.3.0 (2026-06-30): Three new criteria prompted by SigenStor Neo debut at Intersolar Europe 2026. (1) 'Backup switching speed' in Power & Efficiency (weight adjusted): distinguishes true 0ms UPS topology (load always on inverter output, no relay) from <5ms relay switching from <20ms seamless.
  • v2.2.0 (2026-06-20): Three new criteria added. (1) 'Cell balancing architecture' under Longevity: active cell-level balancing (energy recirculation) vs passive (dissipation) is a genuine longevity and efficiency differentiator; weight adjusted within pillar.
  • v2.1.0 (2026-06-20): Replaced 'Integration & Sustainability' pillar with dedicated 'Energy Ecosystem' pillar . Five new criteria: Open protocol & API maturity, VPP & grid services readiness, EV charging integration, Thermal load management, Smart home & IoT depth.
  • v2.0.0 (2026-06-20): Added 'AC terminal & connection protection' criterion in Safety & Chemistry (prompted by Sigenergy ACCC recall: AC quick-connect thermal fault). Refined 'Modularity & scalability' bands to reward fine-grained ≤5 kWh expansion increments.
  • v1.0.0 (2026-06-16): Initial release.
Inverters12 versions · latest v3.7.0
  • v3.7.0 (2026-08-25): Operating-envelope measurement contract added without changing any weight, band or missing-data mode.
  • v3.6.0 (2026-07-31): Evidence state now affects the score. A criterion whose provenance marks it an editorial estimate keeps its band and is pulled 25% of the way toward the non-disclosure floor of 40, so an estimated band of 100 scores 85 and an estimated band of 60 scores 55.
  • v3.5.0 (2026-07-05): Monitoring & smart features deepened 3->5 bands (rubric_review_2026-07b P3b) after a 26-product sourced enrichment sweep.
  • v3.4.0 (2026-07-05): Max DC:AC oversizing ratio de-saturated (rubric_review_2026-07b): the top band began at 1.5 and 96% of the fleet scored 100, crushing genuine headroom units (1.6-2.0) into the same band. New bands a graduated threshold ladder reward real oversizing capability; the 1.5 crowd is re-banded.
  • v3.3.0 (2026-07-03): New criterion 'Firmware & security disclosure' (Energy Ecosystem, [weight withheld]; existing criteria scaled x0.9). Same promotion and evidence base as battery v2.6.0.
  • v3.2.0 (2026-07-03): Grid & safety certification rebuilt from a saturated gate (96% of units in one band at weight adjusted) into a certification-breadth ladder: 3+ markets (100) / 2 (90) / 1 (82) / IEC 62109 only (70) / code-only (60) / unlisted (40).
  • v3.2.0 (2026-07-03): Grid & safety certification rebuilt from a saturated gate (96% of units in one band at weight adjusted) into a certification-breadth ladder: 3+ markets (100) / 2 (90) / 1 (82) / IEC 62109 only (70) / code-only (60) / unlisted (40).
  • v3.1.1 (2026-07-02): Globalization migration (2026-07-02): score-neutral. Band labels for 'Grid & safety certification' and 'VPP & grid services readiness' re-authored so the top bands are defined by capability plus evidence in ANY named market, not AU-only regulatory recognition (AS/NZS 4777.2 + CEC listing, 'live AU VPP program').
  • v3.1.0 (2026-06-20): Three new criteria across two pillars. (1) 'Semiconductor technology' in Efficiency: SiC (silicon carbide) and GaN (gallium nitride) inverters deliver superior efficiency under real-world partial-load conditions that IGBT-based inverters cannot match; weight adjusted within pillar.
  • v3.0.0 (2026-06-20): Added 'Energy Ecosystem' pillar .
  • v2.0.0 (2026-06-20): Thermal management replaces Cooling; weighted efficiency primary metric; surge/arc separated; founder heritage tier added.
  • v1.0.0 (2026-06-16): Initial release.
Rubric v2.16.0 · 133 products

Solar panels

133 products across silicon and thin-film. Six pillars. Thin-film (CdTe, CIGS) is scored on a separate lens calibrated to its distinct technology characteristics. It is not compared directly against crystalline silicon.

PillarWeightScored criteria
Architecture & Design19%Cell technology tier; Encapsulation & frame construction; Contact; Fire classification (IEC 61730)
Efficiency & Yield20%Module efficiency (%); Independent energy yield; Temp coefficient Pmax (%/C); NOCT (C); Bifaciality factor (%); Power tolerance (%)
Durability (verified)23%Verified reliability; Positive loading (MQT16, Pa); Negative loading (MQT16, Pa); PID (IEC TS 62804); Salt mist (IEC 61701); Hail resistance; Ammonia resistance (IEC 62716); LeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342)
Performance & Degradation19%Guaranteed end-of-warranty output (%); First-year degradation (%); Annual degradation (%/yr); Performance guarantee period (yrs)
Guarantee & Backbone13%Guarantee period (yrs); Guarantee assurance; Warranty transferability; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record
Sustainability6%Carbon footprint / EPD; End-of-life & recycling disclosure

Weights and criterion names come from the same rubric as current scores. Warranty curves are contractual promises, not measured lifetime forecasts. Independent test evidence retains its exact model and bill-of-materials scope.

Rubric v2.10.0 · 92 products

Home batteries

92 residential products. Six pillars. Gateway dependency is disclosed on scorecard pages as an informational annotation. It is not scored. See the gateway note below.

PillarWeightScored criteria
Capacity & Usability11%Usable energy / DoD (%); Modularity & scalability; Energy density / footprint; Battery generation compatibility
Power & Efficiency16%Round-trip efficiency (%); Continuous power output (kW); Backup switching speed; Operating temperature range; Backup surge / motor-start capability
Longevity (verified)22%Cycle life (cycles to 70%); Warranty throughput; Warranty period (yrs); End-of-warranty retained capacity (%); Verified reliability; Cell balancing architecture; Warranty degradation guarantee
Safety & Chemistry21%Cell chemistry; Safety certification; Thermal & fire mitigation; AC terminal & connection protection; Ingress protection (outdoor); Cell provenance & traceability
Guarantee & Backbone15%Warranty assurance; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record
Energy Ecosystem15%Grid-forming & backup tier; Open protocol & API maturity; VPP & grid services readiness; EV charging integration; Thermal load management; Smart home & IoT depth; Dual-port flexibility; Firmware & security disclosure

Round-trip efficiency must be read with its AC or DC measurement boundary. Backup, switching and surge belong to the exact assessed device or documented configuration; a DC pack does not independently supply AC backup. UL 9540 provides complete-system safety certification requirements. UL 9540A is a thermal-runaway fire-propagation test method: interpretation depends on its edition, test level, configuration and results. UL explains the distinction.

Cell balancing: active vs passive

Passive balancing dissipates excess charge as heat through resistors. Active balancing moves charge between cells or modules instead of simply dissipating it. The distinction can matter over long service life, but it is often poorly disclosed. A module optimiser, pack-level control or generic BMS claim is not treated as proof of active cell-level balancing. Where exact architecture is not published, the audit row records a reviewed absence and the rubric's non-disclosure band applies.

Warranty degradation guarantee: the clause most consumers never read

An end-point-only warranty (e.g., "≥70% capacity at year 10") permits a battery to lose 25% of its capacity in year two and then stabilise. The manufacturer satisfies the warranty but the customer suffers large early losses during the years of heaviest use. A stepped guarantee adds a midterm checkpoint. A linear annual-cap guarantee limits degradation per year and prevents front-loaded decline. Only Sonnen currently offers a linear degradation guarantee in this product set. Tesla offers stepped midterm + end-of-term. All others are end-point only.

Grid-forming vs grid-following

A grid-following battery needs an external AC voltage and frequency reference to operate. It cannot function without the grid or a running generator to synchronise to. A grid-forming battery creates that reference itself: it can black-start a home from a complete outage, run indefinitely from solar, and synchronise a generator or additional solar to its own microgrid. Sonnen, Tesla Powerwall 3, and Enphase IQ Battery (with IQ System Controller) are grid-forming in this product set. Most modular batteries (BYD, LG, Sungrow SBH, Huawei Luna, LG RESU) are grid-following. Their backup capability depends entirely on the paired hybrid inverter.

Gateway disclosure: not a penalty

Some batteries require a separate gateway or hub for full smart functionality (VPP dispatch, load management, blackout protection). Where this applies, the scorecard shows an amber gateway note. Gateway dependency is not penalised in the score. A gateway mounted at the switchboard can be the correct topology when the battery is installed in a garage, shed, or any location remote from the main electrical panel. The gateway note is a disclosure so the consumer knows a separate box exists and understands its role.

Blackout protection: a standalone sub-score

Outage resilience is decision-critical for many battery buyers, but the capabilities that define it sit in three different pillars of the main rubric, so no single pillar score answered the question. Battery scorecards therefore carry a separate blackout-protection sub-score (0–100, shown with the product's rank and the fleet median). It re-weights sourced specs already scored in the main rubric around that one question: backup coverage tier, switchover continuity, surge/motor-start strength, backup power depth, and off-grid solar recharge. It is a standalone benchmark: it never feeds the overall product score, and the same missing-data rules apply (non-disclosure floors at 40; not-applicable criteria are excluded and re-normalised). The sub-rubric is published as blackout_rubric_v1 with its own change log.

Rubric v3.7.0 · 102 products

Inverters

102 products across residential hybrid, small commercial, and large C&I. Seven pillars. Inverter tier pages (Residential, Small Commercial, Large C&I) apply a reweighted profile to surface the criteria most relevant to each segment.

PillarWeightScored criteria
Efficiency16%Peak efficiency (%); Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %); Semiconductor technology; Night standby consumption (W)
Design & Flexibility14%Number of MPPTs; Max DC:AC oversizing ratio; Max input current per MPPT (A)
Thermal & Physical Resilience18%Thermal management; Ingress protection; Operating temperature range; Surge protection
Features & Integration14%Hybrid / battery capability; Backup / islanding; Monitoring & smart features; Reactive power range
Safety & Compliance12%Grid & safety certification; Shutdown / arc safety
Guarantee & Backbone14%Warranty period (yrs); Warranty assurance; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record
Energy Ecosystem12%Open protocol & API maturity; VPP & grid services readiness; EV charging integration; Thermal load management; Smart home & IoT depth; Firmware & security disclosure

The current tier profiles use the relative weights below, independently of the global pillar weights, and omit Energy Ecosystem. These existing calculations are disclosed here without changing scores. Percentages are rounded for display.

Residential: tier profile v1.0.0
PillarWeightScored criteria
Efficiency15.38%Peak efficiency (%); Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %); Semiconductor technology; Night standby consumption (W)
Design & Flexibility15.38%Number of MPPTs; Max DC:AC oversizing ratio; Max input current per MPPT (A)
Thermal & Physical Resilience18.46%Thermal management; Ingress protection; Operating temperature range; Surge protection
Features & Integration16.92%Hybrid / battery capability; Backup / islanding; Monitoring & smart features; Reactive power range
Safety & Compliance16.92%Grid & safety certification; Shutdown / arc safety
Guarantee & Backbone16.92%Warranty period (yrs); Warranty assurance; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record
Small Commercial: tier profile v1.0.0
PillarWeightScored criteria
Efficiency18.57%Peak efficiency (%); Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %); Semiconductor technology; Night standby consumption (W)
Design & Flexibility17.14%Number of MPPTs; Max DC:AC oversizing ratio; Max input current per MPPT (A)
Thermal & Physical Resilience15.71%Thermal management; Ingress protection; Operating temperature range; Surge protection
Features & Integration17.14%Hybrid / battery capability; Backup / islanding; Monitoring & smart features; Reactive power range
Safety & Compliance14.29%Grid & safety certification; Shutdown / arc safety
Guarantee & Backbone17.14%Warranty period (yrs); Warranty assurance; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record
Commercial & Industrial: tier profile v1.0.0
PillarWeightScored criteria
Efficiency21.33%Peak efficiency (%); Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %); Semiconductor technology; Night standby consumption (W)
Design & Flexibility14.67%Number of MPPTs; Max DC:AC oversizing ratio; Max input current per MPPT (A)
Thermal & Physical Resilience14.67%Thermal management; Ingress protection; Operating temperature range; Surge protection
Features & Integration18.67%Hybrid / battery capability; Backup / islanding; Monitoring & smart features; Reactive power range
Safety & Compliance12%Grid & safety certification; Shutdown / arc safety
Guarantee & Backbone18.67%Warranty period (yrs); Warranty assurance; Financial strength & warranty backing; Manufacturing track record

Semiconductor technology: why it matters

The current rubric gives semiconductor technologies different reference bands. This is an engineering proxy, not a measured guarantee that every implementation performs better. Peak, weighted and partial-load efficiency need their own exact-device evidence; a future outcome-based profile must avoid counting the same advantage twice.

Night standby consumption: the silent lifetime cost

An inverter drawing 10 W for 11 hours each night consumes approximately 402 kWh over ten years. Actual standby consumption and duty vary by device. The current rubric assigns missing standby values 50 points; this is an assumption, not a measurement or a guarantee that missing evidence has no effect on the total.

Reactive power range: voltage management on the real grid

Reactive-power range, voltage-response functions and operating limits need exact-device evidence. A power-factor range alone does not establish every grid-support function. Network settings and regional requirements remain separate from a globally published specification score.

Transparency

What we do not score

Price

Price changes daily and varies by installer, region, and procurement volume. A score that bakes in price would be stale within weeks. Price context is provided separately where relevant but never affects a rubric score.

Bankability tier (BNEF) and module reliability rankings (PV ModuleTech)

BloombergNEF Tier 1 is a project finance construct. It reflects whether lenders will write debt against a product, not whether it outperforms in the field. PV ModuleTech publishes granular A+ to F manufacturer reliability rankings based on manufacturing quality audits and field data. Both are respected industry signals. Neither affects a score. BNEF's methodology is not publicly disclosed; incorporating an opaque external ranking into a deterministic scoring engine would undermine the transparency we require of every criterion. PV ModuleTech's rankings are proprietary, update quarterly, and would introduce a dependency on data we cannot republish. A score that changes for reasons a reader cannot independently verify is not a transparent score. Both are shown as informational context where available.

Regional availability and certification

Local availability and installation eligibility are published separately. The current inverter rubric does score evidenced certification breadth across markets, and ecosystem criteria can reflect documented regional programmes. Neither is a promise of approval or service availability at a particular address.

Local installer judgement

A specification score cannot know your roof, your grid connection, or how a specific product has actually held up in your climate over years of real operation. It also cannot know an installer's own service record with a brand: the callouts, warranty claims and comparisons an experienced local installer has seen first-hand and this benchmark has no access to. That is real evidence, not a deviation from it. Where a trusted local installer recommends a product against the ranking here, on the strength of their own track record, weigh that recommendation accordingly: this benchmark measures what is published, and does not claim to replace what has actually been proven in the field.

Rubrics: panels v2.16.0, batteries v2.10.0, inverters v3.7.0 · September 2026. Maintained by Methodology & Standards, Solar Analytica.

Developing the method

Comparable numbers need comparable conditions

A panel rating at standard test conditions, a battery energy claim and an inverter peak-efficiency figure answer different questions. Before adopting new weights, we record the exact model, conversion path, test conditions and evidence gaps.

This source-reviewed pilot covers 6 products. Its figures are manufacturer declarations, not independent laboratory results or a new ranking. Missing conditions remain unresolved; an unavailable document is not proof of a missing capability.

Candidate scores remain unpublished. Measurement definitions, criterion mappings, evidence thresholds, sensitivity testing, independent challenge and publisher approval must precede a versioned rubric release. Current scores retain their existing rubric; superseded and retired assessments remain frozen.

Frequently asked

How does review.solar score solar products?

Every product is scored against a published rubric of weighted pillars, each containing criteria. Each criterion maps a measured specification to a 0–100 band. Pillar scores are weighted averages of their criteria, and the overall score out of 100 is a weighted average of pillar scores. The same arithmetic runs on every product with no editorial adjustments.

Can manufacturers pay to rank higher?

No. There is no pay-to-rank: scores are deterministic (same inputs produce the same result every time) with no human thumb on the scale, and every figure traces to a published source. No manufacturer, advertiser or retailer has any say over a score. Price, BloombergNEF bankability tier and PV ModuleTech reliability rankings are shown as context only and never affect a rubric score.

What happens when a manufacturer does not disclose a specification?

Every criterion declares a missing mode. Floor (40 points) penalises non-disclosure of a figure that should be published. Neutral (50 points) applies when an axis is not universally published in that product class, so absence is not penalised but nothing is assumed. Exclude drops the criterion and renormalises the remaining pillar weights.

Why are products not ranked on a single leaderboard?

Products are sorted into market classes, such as Premium European or Performance & Value, and judged within those classes. A boutique premium product should not be ranked against a volume residential product, so the class system prevents misleading cross-segment comparisons while still publishing all scores.

Does the score change based on regional certification or where a product is sold?

No. review.solar is an international publication that uses root international safety standards (IEC 62109 for inverters, IEC 62619 for batteries, IEC 61215/61730 for panels) as the primary certification reference. National grid-connection overlays such as Australia's AS/NZS 4777.2 and CEC, US UL 1741 or EU VDE are noted but not scored, so a globally certified product is not penalised for the absence of a single national overlay.

What is not included in a review.solar score?

Price is excluded because it changes daily by installer, region and volume. Bankability tier (BNEF) and module reliability rankings (PV ModuleTech) are excluded because their methodologies are opaque or proprietary and cannot be independently verified. Regional availability and national certifications are shown in notes but are not rubric criteria. A local installer's own track record with a product is real evidence this benchmark has no access to, and is not something a specification score can weigh.

Explore next

Continue the research