The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Microinverter
Converts DC to AC at each solar module rather than at one central string inverter.
- Product role
- Storage, when used, sits elsewhere in the energy platform.
- Published range
- 0.384 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Not recorded
Warranty coverage: 25-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 90 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score remains anchored to the exact United States suffix at240 V. Current sheet certifies384 VA continuous output as well as384 VA peak; production labels may show380/384 VA. The208 V column remains distinct at360 VA continuous. Scored model: IQ8HC-72-M-US · checked 2026-10-05. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
19 of 19 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings
- EnduranceDesign facts from the maker's own material2 design facts beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 2 rows in the rings beyond claim
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment2 warranty terms beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings6 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record correction. North America IQ8HC datasheet DSH-00047-10.0-EN-2026-07-30. Exact US performance revision integrated 2026-10-05; dated market, warranty and regulator determinations are retained without a broad re-verification.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Backup / islandingManufacturer ↗
Show 7 more
- Grid & safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Warranty ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 22 products changed in this update
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet
- After
- https://developer-v4.enphase.com/vpp-plans; https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet; https://enphase.com/installers/grid-services; https://enphase.com/installers/grid-services/dsgs-reward-program
4 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
US Certifications
- Before
- CA Rule 21 (UL 1741-SA), IEEE 1547:2018 (UL 1741-SB), UL 62109-1 and NEC 2014-2023 rapid-shutdown compliance.
- After
- CA Rule 21 (UL 1741-SA), IEEE 1547:2018 (UL 1741-SB), UL 62109-1 and NEC 2014-2023 rapid-shutdown compliance.; Listed on the California Energy Commission Grid Support Solar Inverter List as IQ8HC-72-M-US {240V} and {208V}, with a UL 1741 Supplement SB certificate date of 13 May 2026 (list data unchanged since 1 October 2026). A listing records submitted certification data and does not show current sale.
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet
- After
- https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=InvertersList
US Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Troubleshooting, uninstall and reinstall labour are excluded.; registration: Clause 2 conditions cover on registration within 45 days of first installation, with an exception for residents of California, Connecticut or any other state or province that forbids a returned registration card as a condition of cover. The attached registration form separately states that failure to complete and return it does not diminish warranty rights, and the document does not reconcile the two statements. The 25-year period runs from the Activation Date, the earlier of registration or Installer Portal activation (Covered Products Schedule). Claims go through the RMA process within the warranty period and within 90 days of discovering the defect (clause 5a); clause 4 asks that the product stay connected to the internet except for interruptions outside the owner's reasonable control, and states no numerical offline threshold.; remedy: Clause 6 lets Enphase choose between repair or replacement and a refund of the purchase price less reasonable depreciation. Enphase issues a refund only if it cannot provide a replacement and repair is not commercially practicable or cannot be timely made, or if the owner is willing to accept one. A repaired or replacement product carries the remainder of the original period or 90 days from receipt, whichever is later, and refunds or credits are paid within two weeks of Enphase receiving the product.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are excluded.; transferability: Clause 3 extends cover to a later owner only if the product stays at the original location, the transferee submits the Change of Ownership Form, pays the transfer fee within 30 days of the transfer and meets the registration requirement in clause 2. The fee is set in the form and Enphase may adjust it.; transport: Accepted claims use Enphase's prepaid return and replacement-shipping process.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Grid & safety certificationUS market evidence+4 in JSON recordUS Evidence sources
- Before
- https://enphase.com/cybersecurity; https://enphase.com/download/2025-30-nov-enphase-energy-limited-warranty-microinverter; https://enphase.com/download/iq-system-controller-3-data-sheet; https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet
- After
- https://enphase.com/cybersecurity; https://enphase.com/download/2025-30-nov-enphase-energy-limited-warranty-microinverter; https://enphase.com/download/iq-system-controller-3-data-sheet; https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet; https://enphase.com/store/microinverters/iq8-series/iq8hc-microinverter; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=InvertersList
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Note
- Before
- The score is anchored to the exact United States suffix. The separate 380 VA continuous output remains visible as a supporting metric.
- After
- The score remains anchored to the exact United States suffix at240 V. Current sheet certifies384 VA continuous output as well as384 VA peak; production labels may show380/384 VA. The208 V column remains distinct at360 VA continuous.
Source revision
- Current text
- North America IQ8HC datasheet DSH-00047-10.0-EN-2026-07-30. Exact US performance revision integrated 2026-10-05; dated market, warranty and regulator determinations are retained without a broad re-verification.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Number of MPPTs
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://enphase.com/de-de/store/microinverters; https://enphase.com/de-de/store/microinverters/iq8-series/iq8hc-microinverter
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German Enphase microinverter store names IQ8HC-72-M-INT, not IQ8HC-72-M-US. The INT identity is a different record and is not transferred.
Source revision
- Before
- North America IQ8HC datasheet DSH-00047-7.0; regional identity separated 2026-08-06
- After
- North America IQ8HC datasheet DSH-00047-7.0; regional identity separated 2026-08-06. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
4 changes to this record · 73 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://enphase.com/download/iq8hc-microinverter-data-sheet
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Module-level microinverter. The recorded one MPPT and input current are per microinverter, not array-wide system counts.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
IQ8HC 208/240 V scores 62, placing 59 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is safety & compliance (78). Energy Ecosystem (48) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: 97.3% peak efficiency, 1 MPPT inputs, 25-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar