The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 4–20 kW
- Phase
- Three phase
- Backup boundary
- Not recorded
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the named exact German benchmark; larger stacks, paid states and nearby generations do not transfer evidence. Scored model: PLENTICORE L G3 20.0 · checked 2026-08-16. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
15 of 15 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows
- EnduranceManufacturer claim4 rows
- SafetyManufacturer claim2 rows
- Warranty & backingManufacturer claim2 rows
- FitManufacturer claim4 rows
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. German PLENTICORE G3 datasheet September 2025, July 2026 warranty and ZEREZ list checked 2026-08-16. First-market US overlay review 2026-09-01: official United States catalogues recorded; existing Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Hybrid / battery capabilityManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Shutdown / arc safetyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 10 products changed in this update
DE Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: In years 1–5 KOSTAL may reimburse an installer exchange allowance as goodwill, using its separately published current rate for the nearest installer; distant-installer travel/accommodation and higher unapproved allowances are excluded. Years 6–10 exclude exchange and further installer costs. Owner-selected full-term labour and installer costs for manual software updates are not covered.; registration: Activate Smart Warranty through the KOSTAL Solar Webshop; the additional five-year Smart Warranty plus phase requires Solar Portal registration. The German instrument states a window within six months after purchase or twelve months after KOSTAL delivery; it does not resolve which clock controls when both dates are known. Confirm unit eligibility rather than choosing an earlier/later deadline. Claims need model/serial, purchase evidence, commissioning report/date, fault information, inverter logs and installation/string/DC details; the installer requests service through support. Required software updates must be reviewed at least every three months. Authorised online updating requires portal/network/internet access; manual updates are offered when online access is not consented to, with installer update costs borne by the owner. Ongoing internet obligations also appear in the instrument; unconditional offline warranty eligibility is not established. KOSTAL's public Garantie page, checked 6 October 2026, states that Smart Warranty activation is possible within the first six months after first commissioning, and that Smart Warranty plus applies to KOSTAL inverters up to 25 kW with a commissioning date from 1 April 2022. The conditions document places its purchase and delivery window in the Solar Portal registration step for Smart Warranty plus and states no separate commissioning-based activation deadline. Neither source states which date controls when several are known; this record relies on the conditions document valid from 1 July 2026.; remedy: KOSTAL normally provides an equivalent exchange unit in advance, but may require return first. Exchange units are generally refurbished, with at least original technical performance unless technical development requires a modification; the remaining original warranty transfers to the exchange unit. Support recommending an exchange does not confirm a warranty case: KOSTAL determines the cause and eligibility. Years 6–10 provide a repair phase with owner-funded shipping and exchange/installer costs. No-fault inspection and cleaning charges may apply; failure to return the defective unit can result in a device-price plus transport invoice. Reimbursements require prior agreement and submission within six months after the analysis result.; removal reinstallation: The installer removes the defective inverter, installs and commissions the exchange unit. The years 1–5 exchange allowance is conditional goodwill rather than an unlimited removal/reinstallation entitlement; years 6–10 exclude exchange and installer costs. The defective unit must be returned in appropriate packaging, with KOSTAL retaining the described device ownership rights. No unconditional full-term removal/reinstallation cover is established.; transferability: An unrestricted transfer right was not established.; transport: For a covered Smart Warranty claim in years 1–5, the appointed parcel service is free when the defective unit is returned within the specified return period; the instrument does not state a universal numeric return deadline. Years 6–10 exclude outbound and return freight, and the owner/installer organises suitable packaging. Overseas territories, islands and non-EU countries have separate conditions; these are not transferred to Germany as unrestricted freight cover.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetGrid & safety certification+2 in JSON record
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Germany; conditional ten years after registration. Service and freight narrow materially after year five.
- After
- Germany; KOSTAL Solar Electric GmbH service and warranty conditions valid from 1 July 2026 (DOC02239562-0007) provide a conditional ten-year 5+5 Smart Warranty / Smart Warranty plus structure from first commissioning for eligible PLENTICORE inverters. Activation and additional Solar Portal registration apply; this is not ten years of identical service or freight coverage. Accessories such as batteries and sensors are outside this instrument. Missing required updates, improper maintenance, software faults/non-compliant settings and exceeding the product-manual backup operating-hour limit are among the exclusions. Applicable unit dates, registration and approved-country conditions must be checked; G2, MP G3 and BI G3 configurations are not substituted for the scored L G3 20.0.
DE Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: In years 1–5 KOSTAL may reimburse an installer exchange allowance as goodwill, using its separately published current rate for the nearest installer; distant-installer travel/accommodation and higher unapproved allowances are excluded. Years 6–10 exclude exchange and further installer costs. Owner-selected full-term labour and installer costs for manual software updates are not covered.; registration: Activate Smart Warranty through the KOSTAL Solar Webshop; the additional five-year Smart Warranty plus phase requires Solar Portal registration. The German instrument states a window within six months after purchase or twelve months after KOSTAL delivery; it does not resolve which clock controls when both dates are known. Confirm unit eligibility rather than choosing an earlier/later deadline. Claims need model/serial, purchase evidence, commissioning report/date, fault information, inverter logs and installation/string/DC details; the installer requests service through support. Required software updates must be reviewed at least every three months. Authorised online updating requires portal/network/internet access; manual updates are offered when online access is not consented to, with installer update costs borne by the owner. Ongoing internet obligations also appear in the instrument; unconditional offline warranty eligibility is not established.; remedy: KOSTAL normally provides an equivalent exchange unit in advance, but may require return first. Exchange units are generally refurbished, with at least original technical performance unless technical development requires a modification; the remaining original warranty transfers to the exchange unit. Support recommending an exchange does not confirm a warranty case: KOSTAL determines the cause and eligibility. Years 6–10 provide a repair phase with owner-funded shipping and exchange/installer costs. No-fault inspection and cleaning charges may apply; failure to return the defective unit can result in a device-price plus transport invoice. Reimbursements require prior agreement and submission within six months after the analysis result.; removal reinstallation: The installer removes the defective inverter, installs and commissions the exchange unit. The years 1–5 exchange allowance is conditional goodwill rather than an unlimited removal/reinstallation entitlement; years 6–10 exclude exchange and installer costs. The defective unit must be returned in appropriate packaging, with KOSTAL retaining the described device ownership rights. No unconditional full-term removal/reinstallation cover is established.; transferability: An unrestricted transfer right was not established.; transport: For a covered Smart Warranty claim in years 1–5, the appointed parcel service is free when the defective unit is returned within the specified return period; the instrument does not state a universal numeric return deadline. Years 6–10 exclude outbound and return freight, and the owner/installer organises suitable packaging. Overseas territories, islands and non-EU countries have separate conditions; these are not transferred to Germany as unrestricted freight cover.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetGrid & safety certification+2 in JSON record
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Before
- kostal-solar-electric.com/en-us and the United States PLENTICORE path return 404. German VDE-AR-N 4105 evidence is not UL 1741 evidence and is not transferred onto a United States catalogue.
- After
- kostal-solar-electric.com/en-us and the United States PLENTICORE path return 404. German VDE-AR-N 4105 evidence is not UL 1741 evidence and is not transferred onto a United States catalogue. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
US Status
- Before
- unavailable
- After
- not_reviewed
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- German PLENTICORE G3 datasheet September 2025, July 2026 warranty and ZEREZ list checked 2026-08-16
- After
- German PLENTICORE G3 datasheet September 2025, July 2026 warranty and ZEREZ list checked 2026-08-16. First-market US overlay review 2026-09-01: official United States catalogues recorded; existing Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- kostal-solar-electric.com/en-us and the United States PLENTICORE path return 404. German VDE-AR-N 4105 evidence is not UL 1741 evidence and is not transferred onto a United States catalogue.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/de/produkte/wechselrichter/plenticore/; https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/en-us/; https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/en-us/products/inverters/plenticore/
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
16 changes to this record · 73 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact sheet publishes 42 A maximum PV short-circuit current on each L G3 DC input, separate from 30 A operating current.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- For the scored PLENTICORE L G3 20 kW state, the exact sheet publishes a 227-800 V full-power MPP window inside a 75-900 V working-voltage range.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/fileadmin/downloadcenter/kse/DB/PLENTICORE-G3/DB_PLENTICORE-G3_de.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Direct-pv hybrid inverter with 3 independent MPPTs at the scored model boundary.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/fileadmin/downloadcenter/kse/DB/PLENTICORE-G3/DB_PLENTICORE-G3_de.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/fileadmin/downloadcenter/kse/DB/PLENTICORE-G3/DB_PLENTICORE-G3_de.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact sheet publishes 22.1 kVA starting apparent power for at least five seconds in backup mode against 20 kVA nominal backup output. This is not general grid-tied continuous output.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.kostal-solar-electric.com/fileadmin/downloadcenter/kse/DB/PLENTICORE-G3/DB_PLENTICORE-G3_de.pdf
1 change to this record · 13 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: KOSTAL; name: PLENTICORE G3; model: PLENTICORE S/M/L G3 with nine activated output states from 4.0 to 20.0 kW; scored PLENTICORE L G3 20.0; score: 62.7
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- DE market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
PLENTICORE G3 scores 63, placing 58 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is efficiency (74), running 5.3 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 40, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 48. Key specifications: 98.21% peak efficiency, 3 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar