The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
All-in-one energy system
Presents storage and power conversion as one integrated product or product platform.
- Product role
- Battery modules, inverter functions and controls are packaged as one purchasing architecture.
- Published range
- 14–54 kWh
- Phase
- Three phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
100% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 14 kWh in the scored configuration.14 kWh usableScored configuration: EK90 HS5-10K-T3-14. Published range 14–54 kWh.
No reserve is withheld at the stated depth of discharge.
At a sourced 100% depth of discharge the usable and nominal figures are the same number, so no separate nominal capacity is stated.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 15
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
82 / 100#4 of 90 batteriesWhole-home, seamless (<20ms)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The 14 kWh reference is scored; the source's later S3/S4 table typo does not create alternative phase identities. Scored model: EK90 HS5-10K-T3-14 · checked 2026-08-26. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-30
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record correction. Corrected 2026-09-30: the record scored an older copy of SAJ's EK90 HS5 Australian limited warranty (sha256 ae292a09, no version line), which states 60% SOH and, in one clause, a ten year term. SAJ's Australian warranty page linked Version 1.0 dated 8 August 2026 (sha256 5c8ec0fd) on 2026-09-30; it states 70% SOH and 15 years, and the record now follows it. End-of-warranty retained capacity moves from 60% to 70% and the score from 68.1 to 68.5. The older copy is kept on record as superseded. SAJ EK90 HS5 Three-Phase Australian datasheet, exact manual, EK90 HS5 Australian warranty and CER exports checked 2026-08-26 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
Show 2 more
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Firmware & security disclosureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
3 changes to this record · 4 products changed in this update
AU Certifications
- Current text
- The 24 September 2026 CER battery export lists EK90 BU5-7.0-TV and EK90 BU5-9.0-TV, approved 11 September 2026 and expiring 12 February 2028. This record is not bound to those rows because the single-phase and three-phase EK90 HS5 battery records name the same two modules. The 24 September 2026 CER inverter export lists EK90 HS5-10K-T3 (AS4777-2 2020), approved 11 September 2026 and expiring 12 February 2028, the inverter in this record's scored reference, EK90 HS5-10K-T3-14; this record is not bound to that row.; The exact Australian datasheet lists IEC 62109-1/-2, IEC 62040, IEC 62477, IEC 62619, AS 4777.2 and SA TS 5398 as standards.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU market evidence+5 in JSON recordAU Support Note
- Current text
- This is a current manufacturer-documented Australian launch, not an approval claim. It remains outside the AU buyer-ready gate because availability, support and buyer readiness are not reviewed. The three-phase datasheet's battery-combination table prints S3/S4 suffixes for its 15 kW and 20 kW rows, while its title and governing technical model header identify all three rows as T3. The T3 header governs this record and the source inconsistency remains disclosed.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU market evidence+5 in JSON recordAU Grid and installation context
- Current text
- SAJ publishes an Australian three-phase technical package and AS 4777.2 among its standards. The 24 September 2026 CER battery export lists this system's EK90 BU5 modules and the 24 September 2026 CER inverter export lists its inverter; this record is not bound to those rows. Grid connection, rebate eligibility and DNSP acceptance are not reviewed for this record.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU market evidence+5 in JSON record
13 changes to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Warranty throughput: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; the governing EK90 HS5 warranty, Version 1.0 dated 8 August 2026, states a 15-year BESS term from the earlier of installation or six months after SAJ shipment. It separately guarantees the battery to 70% SOH or 4.4 MWh throughput per kWh usable, whichever occurs first.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU market evidence+6 in JSON recordVerified reliability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/EK90-HS5%20%2810-20K%29-T3_Datasheet_en_AU.pdf; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/EK90-HS5%20%2810-20K%29-T3_Datasheet_en_AU.pdf; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/en-au/services-support-download; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/EK90-HS5%20%2810-20K%29-T3_Datasheet_en_AU.pdf; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.saj-electric.com/home-energy-storage-system-hs5-series; https://www.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Guides%20and%20Manuals/HS5/HS5-T/EK90_HS5-%288K-20K%29-T3-X_User_Manual_V0_en.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/en-au/services-support-download; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/EK90-HS5%20%2810-20K%29-T3_Datasheet_en_AU.pdf; https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.saj-electric.com/home-energy-storage-system-hs5-series; https://www.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Guides%20and%20Manuals/HS5/HS5-T/EK90_HS5-%288K-20K%29-T3-X_User_Manual_V0_en.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Guides%20and%20Manuals/HS5/HS5-T/EK90_HS5-%288K-20K%29-T3-X_User_Manual_V0_en.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Guides%20and%20Manuals/HS5/HS5-T/EK90_HS5-%288K-20K%29-T3-X_User_Manual_V0_en.pdf
Warranty period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
End-of-warranty retained capacity (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
End-of-warranty retained capacity (%)
- Before
- 60
- After
- 70
Warranty assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/Australia/AU%20Service%20and%20Support/AU%20Download%20Center/AU%20Warranty/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
- After
- https://au.saj-electric.com/hubfs/SAJ%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20residential%20EK90%20HS5%20%20system%20%28AU%29.pdf
Source revision
- Current text
- Corrected 2026-09-30: the record scored an older copy of SAJ's EK90 HS5 Australian limited warranty (sha256 ae292a09, no version line), which states 60% SOH and, in one clause, a ten year term. SAJ's Australian warranty page linked Version 1.0 dated 8 August 2026 (sha256 5c8ec0fd) on 2026-09-30; it states 70% SOH and 15 years, and the record now follows it. End-of-warranty retained capacity moves from 60% to 70% and the score from 68.1 to 68.5. The older copy is kept on record as superseded. SAJ EK90 HS5 Three-Phase Australian datasheet, exact manual, EK90 HS5 Australian warranty and CER exports checked 2026-08-26 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- SAJ EK90 HS5 Three-Phase Australian datasheet, exact manual, EK90 HS5 Australian warranty and CER exports checked 2026-08-26
- After
- SAJ EK90 HS5 Three-Phase Australian datasheet, exact manual, EK90 HS5 Australian warranty and CER exports checked 2026-08-26 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
1 change to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: SAJ; name: EK90 HS5 Three-Phase; model: Three-Phase EK90 HS5 with EK90 BU5-7.0-TV and EK90 BU5-9.0-TV modules; scored reference EK90 HS5-10K-T3-14; score: 68.1
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
EK90 HS5 Three-Phase scores 68, placing 12 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.3. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (94), running 10.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (52) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 10.0 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar