The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 15–40 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 15 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.15 kWh usableScored configuration: SBH150 (three SMR050_S modules; 15.0 kWh usable). Published range 15–40 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The Australian range starts at the reviewed SBH150 complete stack. A single 5 kWh SMR050_S module is not presented as a complete scored system.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
76 / 100#15 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The Australian range starts at the reviewed SBH150 complete stack. A single 5 kWh SMR050_S module is not presented as a complete scored system. Scored model: SBH150 (three SMR050_S modules; 15.0 kWh usable) · checked 2026-06-16. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-02
Strong evidence coverage
27 of 27 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim2 design facts beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitThird-party source1 of 2 rows in the rings beyond claim5 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Current SBH exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07. India existing-catalogue battery review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded from manufacturer Indian catalogues; scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 7 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Cell balancing architectureManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Grid-forming & backup tierManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
One earlier entry recorded a source recheck rather than a change to the published figure, and is not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/08/30/DS_20240329_SBH100_150_200_250_300_350_400_Datasheet_V4_EN.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/23078ad7-e7f9-4af3-a7c8-232af559b11a.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/08/30/DS_20240329_SBH100_150_200_250_300_350_400_Datasheet_V4_EN.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/23078ad7-e7f9-4af3-a7c8-232af559b11a.pdf
1 change to this record · 6 products changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: A standard service rebate contributes to approved repair labour; travel, subsistence and full installation costs are excluded.; registration: Portal registration is encouraged; iSolarCloud monitoring and complete performance data are material warranty conditions.; remedy: Replacement parts or an equivalent replacement, with a new or refurbished replacement at Sungrow's discretion that performs equal to or higher than the defective product. Where the product is no longer available in the market, Sungrow may at its option instead replace it with an equivalent product or refund the remaining annually depreciated purchase price. Statutory consumer guarantees under the Australian Consumer Law are not limited by this warranty.; removal reinstallation: No unconditional removal and reinstallation entitlement is stated beyond the standard service rebate.; transferability: The warranty is limited to the original purchaser or supplied end user and is otherwise non-transferable.; transport: Standard ground freight is covered up to AUD 200 for an approved claim.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Operating temperature rangeCell balancing architecture+4 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 10 products changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Before
- SBH150 is current on the CER battery export until 4 January 2027. The warranty requires iSolarCloud monitoring and performance data; incomplete data reduces the promised minimum term to four years.
- After
- SBH150 is current on the CER battery export until 4 January 2027. The warranty requires iSolarCloud monitoring and performance data; incomplete data reduces the promised minimum term to four years. Sungrow's SBH user manual SBH100-400-UEN-Ver16-202604 (Table 2-1, PDF page 14), which the Australian product page links, marks SBH150 as not available for sale in Australia, while Sungrow's Australian catalogue, the datasheet linked from its Australian product page and its Australian HV battery warranty name SBH150. No Sungrow document reviewed reconciles the two, and the conflict is recorded under decision evidence.
5 changes to this record · 28 products changed in this update
IN Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model SBH150 is not named on Sungrow's Indian residential storage catalogue. India has no public per-model BIS register, so registration is not independently verified here. Absence from that catalogue is a listing fact, not a quality finding, and does not change the global score. That catalogue names MG5/6RL, MG8RL/MG10RL and MGL060. The India For Home page names the SBH100~400 family and links to a product slug that returns HTTP 404. SBH100~400 on that landing page is not an exact SBH150 catalogue listing and is not transferred. Existing AU, US or DE warranty terms are not transferred.
IN Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model SBH150 is not named on Sungrow's Indian residential storage catalogue retrieved 2026-09-02. India has no public per-model BIS register.
IN Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
IN Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/for-home; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system
Source revision
- Before
- Current SBH exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- Current SBH exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07. India existing-catalogue battery review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded from manufacturer Indian catalogues; scores unchanged.
2 changes to this record · 109 products changed in this update
10 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
Note
- Before
- Capacity range describes supported configurations; the score remains anchored to the reviewed reference configuration, not the largest stack.
- After
- The Australian range starts at the reviewed SBH150 complete stack. A single 5 kWh SMR050_S module is not presented as a complete scored system.
Scored Model
- Before
- SBH Series (SBH100-400; 5.0 kWh module SMR050_S, 20-40 kWh per stack)
- After
- SBH150 (three SMR050_S modules; 15.0 kWh usable)
Canonical identity
- Before
- Sungrow SBH 5 kWh
- After
- Sungrow SBH High-Voltage Stack 15 kWh
Ranges
- Current text
- checked: 2026-06-16; market: AU; max: 40; min: 15; range label: 15–40 kWh; source revision: Live source; revision not stated; source url: https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/sbh100-150-200-250-300-350-40; unit: kWh
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Cell balancing architecture
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/23078ad7-e7f9-4af3-a7c8-232af559b11a.pdf; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/New%20knowledge%20base%20file/warranty/WD_202605_Term_Sungrow%20HV%20Battery%20Limited%20Warranty_V9.0.1.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The Australian warranty's 4,000-cycle condition is a warranty limit, not a measured cycle-life-to-70% result.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No comparable battery round-trip efficiency is published in the current exact datasheet or governing Australian warranty.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/08/30/DS_20240329_SBH100_150_200_250_300_350_400_Datasheet_V4_EN.pdf; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/New%20knowledge%20base%20file/warranty/WD_202605_Term_Sungrow%20HV%20Battery%20Limited%20Warranty_V9.0.1.pdf
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
- The blackout test: 21 home batteries judged on one question. · 8 min read
- 39 German product checks show why brand presence is not model availability. · 6 min read
- A battery warranty is a term, a throughput limit and a company standing behind both. · 7 min read
- A global score is not an Australian shopping list. · 7 min read
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
SBH High-Voltage Stack scores 75, placing 2 of 76 in the Performance & Value class and within 1.5 points of the class leader. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (96), running 12.4 points above the class average on this dimension. Key specifications: LFP, 10.56 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar