The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 10 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Essential-load capability recorded
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the exact MG10RL 10 kW bin named on the Version 3 APAC/MEA sheet and on Sungrow India's MG8RL/MG10RL card. MG8RL is a sibling identity on the same join path. MGL060 is a different identity. Scored model: MG10RL · checked 2026-09-05. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-05
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows
- EnduranceManufacturer claim4 rows
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 2 rows beyond claim
- Warranty & backingManufacturer claim4 rows
- FitManufacturer claim12 rows
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Sungrow MG5RL/MG6RL/MG8RL/MG10RL MGL060 datasheet Version 3 APAC/MEA. The India MG8RL/MG10RL card names MG8RL and MG10RL. The India Documents tab does not link a PDF.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Rated AC power (kW)Manufacturer ↗
Show 7 more
- Grid & safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Warranty ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Manufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal load managementNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
4 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://resource.capetown.gov.za/documentcentre/Documents/Forms,%20notices,%20tariffs%20and%20lists/Approved%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Inverter%20List.pdf; https://www.certipedia.com/certificates/50728558?locale=en
Grid & safety certification
- Before
- IEC 62109 + grid codes, 3+ markets
- After
- IEC 62109 + grid code, 1 market
7 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Summary
- Current text
- The India listing names MG10RL, while its recorded ratings use the official Version 3 APAC/MEA sheet. A newer Version 7 sheet names the same model but changes interface wording: Ethernet and WLAN are listed without the earlier optional qualifier. The India document link and supplied hardware or accessories have not been joined to that revision here. Confirm the supplied revision, accessories and firmware before relying on those interfaces. The newly recovered Ver13 manual explicitly names MG10RL and documents common WiNet-S2 Ethernet Modbus TCP/IP and iSolarCloud routes. It advises against using Ethernet and WLAN together. Its public cloud monitoring API requires developer and application approval, plant authorization, connectivity and the applicable service package. This supports documented TCP/cloud access within the stated hardware scope, without establishing local REST, SunSpec certification, every cloud dispatch command or a named live VPP. The shared manual is linked from the MG5/6RL page; the MG10RL India page still provides no PDF link. Version 7 describes a multifunctional generator or smart-load interface, but does not establish a heat-pump control protocol. Its optional microinverter compatibility applies only to the grid connection port. It lists up to eight inverters in parallel, with Sungrow consultation required above four. Its switching claim applies in typical conditions, and the 63 A bypass limit still requires site-specific load planning. These are conditional manufacturer disclosures, not confirmed features of every India installation.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetEvidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/bd5240c7-078d-45ca-b7e9-ff7138c9e5fe.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-mg8rl-mg10rl
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/bd5240c7-078d-45ca-b7e9-ff7138c9e5fe.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-mg8rl-mg10rl
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Proprietary / no documented API
- After
- Modbus TCP + cloud API
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-mg8rl-mg10rl
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
3 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/bd5240c7-078d-45ca-b7e9-ff7138c9e5fe.pdf; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-mg8rl-mg10rl
Title
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Check interface options against the supplied revision
Summary
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The India listing names MG10RL, while its recorded ratings use the official Version 3 APAC/MEA sheet. A newer Version 7 sheet names the same model but changes interface wording: Ethernet and WLAN are listed without the earlier optional qualifier. The India document link and supplied hardware or accessories have not been joined to that revision here. Confirm the supplied revision, accessories and firmware before relying on those interfaces; a communication port alone does not establish a public local API, VPP, EV charging or smart-home control. Version 7 describes a multifunctional generator or smart-load interface, but does not establish a heat-pump control protocol. Its optional microinverter compatibility applies only to the grid connection port. It lists up to eight inverters in parallel, with Sungrow consultation required above four. Its switching claim applies in typical conditions, and the 63 A bypass limit still requires site-specific load planning. These are conditional manufacturer disclosures, not confirmed features of every India installation.
1 change to this record · 8 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: Sungrow; name: MG10RL; model: Current India-listed MG8RL / MG10RL hybrid family; scored model MG10RL; score: 70.7
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
MG10RL scores 71, placing 35 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is design & flexibility (90), running 9.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (50) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: 97.6% peak efficiency, 3 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar