The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 8 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Essential-load capability recorded
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the exact MG8RL 8 kW bin named on the Version 3 APAC/MEA sheet and on Sungrow India's MG8RL/MG10RL card. MG10RL is a sibling identity on the same join path. MGL060 is a different identity. Scored model: MG8RL · checked 2026-09-05. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-05
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows
- EnduranceManufacturer claim4 rows
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 2 rows beyond claim
- Warranty & backingManufacturer claim4 rows
- FitManufacturer claim12 rows
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Sungrow MG5RL/MG6RL/MG8RL/MG10RL MGL060 datasheet Version 3 APAC/MEA. The India MG8RL/MG10RL card names MG8RL and MG10RL. The India Documents tab does not link a PDF.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Rated AC power (kW)Manufacturer ↗
Show 7 more
- Grid & safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Warranty ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Manufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal load managementNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
4 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Grid & safety certification
- Before
- IEC 62109 + grid codes, 3+ markets
- After
- IEC 62109 + grid code, 1 market
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://resource.capetown.gov.za/documentcentre/Documents/Forms,%20notices,%20tariffs%20and%20lists/Approved%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Inverter%20List.pdf; https://www.certipedia.com/certificates/50728558?locale=en
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Summary
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The Ver13 manual explicitly covers MG8RL and states that communication features and connection sequences are shared across its listed models. It documents WiNet-S2 on COM1 and Ethernet Modbus TCP/IP for third-party control. The module also supports WLAN; the manual advises against using Ethernet and WLAN together. iSolarCloud remote access needs connectivity and the appropriate user role, while its public cloud monitoring API requires developer and application approval, plant authorization and the applicable service package. This manual is linked from the MG5/6RL page; MG8RL’s India page provides no PDF link. Confirm the supplied MG8RL revision, module and firmware before planning an external controller. These documents do not establish local REST, SunSpec certification, every cloud dispatch command or a named live VPP.
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/datasheet-materials/c448c833-1a36-49c1-be8c-1a6dca8fefb1.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-mg8rl-mg10rl
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Title
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Confirm the supplied revision before connecting an external controller
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://developer-api.isolarcloud.com/; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/product-material/26f6549c-5133-4cfe-b7fc-08efefda5cbd.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Proprietary / no documented API
- After
- Modbus TCP + cloud API
1 change to this record · 8 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: Sungrow; name: MG8RL; model: Current India-listed MG8RL / MG10RL hybrid family; scored model MG8RL; score: 70.7
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
MG8RL scores 71, placing 36 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is design & flexibility (90), running 9.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (50) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: 97.6% peak efficiency, 3 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar