The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
N-type silicon module
Produces DC electricity at the roof. It contains no system-level power conversion or storage.
- Product role
- None in the module.
- Published range
- 490–505 W
- Electrical layer
- DC module output
- Construction
- Rear contact, Monofacial, Dual-glass
Performance guarantee: 30-year linear output
Wattage figure based on the sourced rated power (505 W) applied to the guaranteed floor; modular/format differences aside, this is the same rated-power spec shown above.
Modelled effective output, year by year
Year 1 to year 25. Rated 505 W at STC.
How this is modelled
Modelled from this panel’s own published first-year (1%) and annual (0.35%/yr) degradation figures, compounded against its 505 W rated (STC) output. This is a datasheet-derived estimate, not a field measurement or a warranty guarantee. Actual output also depends on site irradiance, temperature, soiling and system design.
| Year | 1 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Watts | 500 W | 493 W | 484 W | 475 W | 466 W | 458 W |
| % of rated | 99.0% | 97.6% | 95.8% | 94.1% | 92.3% | 90.6% |
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-02
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- EnduranceManufacturer claim7 rows in the rings
- SafetyNot assessed for panels
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings3 warranty terms beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim1 row in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. SunPower Max AU Rev B June 2026, Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 and CER export checked 2026-08-07 Rechecked 2026-08-29: the current CER module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor HSM-BE52-HD, and the 1 July 2026 Australian warranty table still names HSM-BE52-HD490-505 only. India existing-catalogue panel ALMM review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded against List-I revision 03.08.2026; scores unchanged. Rechecked 2026-10-08: the Australian warranty (September 2026 edition, effective 1 July 2026) now names HSM-BE54-HD490-505, replacing the HSM-BE52-HD table the 29 August check read; the warranty fields are sourced from it. The CER module export still lists neither model code.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
Show 4 more
- AwardsManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Independent energy yieldIndependent test ↗
- Independent energy yieldIndependent test ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Independent energy yieldNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- PID (IEC TS 62804)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Hail resistanceNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
3 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
Fire classification (IEC 61730): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower%20Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View/67009066380; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://cer.gov.au/document_page/cec-approved-pv-modules; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/homeowners/products/solar-panels; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/installers
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View/67009066380; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://cer.gov.au/document_page/cec-approved-pv-modules; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower%20Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty_Document.pdf; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/homeowners/products/solar-panels; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/installers
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; the TCL SunPower Warranty for PV Modules (Australia, October 2026 edition as printed on the cover, effective 1 July 2026) names HSM-BE54-HD490-505 in its Warranty Table (clause 1.5) and gives a 30-year product term and a 30-year power term from the Warranty Start Date. Power is guaranteed at 99% of the minimum peak power in year one, reduced by 0.35% a year to no less than 88.85% at the end of year 30, measured with a 3% measurement tolerance. The warrantor is TCL Zhonghuan Energy Technology (Jiangsu) Co., Ltd., administered in Australia by SunPower Corporation Australia Pty Ltd. It applies to modules sold after 1 July 2026; the document is silent on earlier sales. The Warranty Start Date is the earlier of array interconnection and six months after delivery. It sits beside the Australian Consumer Law guarantees and limits the manufacturer's aggregate liability to the purchase price paid for the affected modules.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+8 in JSON record
32 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; the TCL SunPower Warranty for PV Modules (Australia, September 2026 edition, effective 1 July 2026) names HSM-BE54-HD490-505 in its Warranty Table (clause 1.5) and gives a 30-year product term and a 30-year power term from the Warranty Start Date. Power is guaranteed at 99% of the minimum peak power in year one, reduced by 0.35% a year to no less than 88.85% at the end of year 30, measured with a 3% measurement tolerance. The warrantor is TCL Zhonghuan Energy Technology (Jiangsu) Co., Ltd., administered in Australia by SunPower Corporation Australia Pty Ltd. It applies to modules sold after 1 July 2026; the document is silent on earlier sales. The Warranty Start Date is the earlier of array interconnection and six months after delivery. It sits beside the Australian Consumer Law guarantees and limits the manufacturer's aggregate liability to the purchase price paid for the affected modules.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+7 in JSON recordAnnual degradation (%/yr)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- 0.35
Guarantee assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_Max_Warranty.pdf
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Financial strength & warranty backing: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_Max_Warranty.pdf
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: For repairs and replacements the manufacturer covers the reasonable removal and reinstallation costs for the affected modules, and for refunds the reasonable market-standard removal and reinstallation costs (clause 2.4). The document states no separate labour allowance for other on-site work, and the manufacturer is not liable for loss arising from installation, removal, reinstallation or third-party components except where the Australian Consumer Law requires it (clause 5.3 c).; registration: The document sets no registration step. The warranty starts at the earlier of array interconnection and six months after delivery (clause 1.2). A claim needs itemised proof of purchase, delivery or installation, serial and model numbers (clause 2.3), and documentation of the warranty holder's identity and authority (clause 3.7); claims must be filed within the warranty term (clause 3.3).; remedy: The manufacturer elects, at its sole discretion, to repair, replace or refund a covered module, subject to the Australian Consumer Law (clauses 2.2 and 2.4). Replacement modules may be refurbished or remanufactured, electrically and mechanically compatible, with substantially equal or greater power (clause 2.5). A refund is the spot price of comparable modules multiplied by (1 - n/30), where n is the years in service since the Warranty Start Date (clause 2.6). Returned modules need prior written authorisation (clause 2.3).; removal reinstallation: For repairs and replacements the manufacturer covers the reasonable removal and reinstallation costs for the affected modules; where it issues a refund it pays the reasonable market-standard removal and reinstallation costs associated with the claim (clause 2.4).; transferability: The warranty may be assigned to the subsequent owner of the modules; the original warranty holder or subsequent owner should notify SunPower Australia of the assignment and provide reasonable documentation of the transfer of ownership (clause 3.8). Modules moved from their original installation location without the manufacturer's or TCL SunPower's written approval are excluded (clause 4.1 e).; transport: The manufacturer covers reasonable, customary transportation costs for the return of covered modules and for the shipment of repaired or replacement modules to the place where they were originally delivered by the manufacturer (clause 2.4).
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+7 in JSON recordGuaranteed end-of-warranty output (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- 88.85
Guarantee assurance: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Guarantee period (yrs): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
Annual degradation (%/yr): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Performance guarantee period (yrs)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- 30
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View/67009066380; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://cer.gov.au/document_page/cec-approved-pv-modules; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_Max_Warranty.pdf; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/homeowners/products/solar-panels; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/installers
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View/67009066380; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://cer.gov.au/document_page/cec-approved-pv-modules; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/homeowners/products/solar-panels; https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/installers
Performance guarantee period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Guarantee period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Performance guarantee period (yrs): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
First-year degradation (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- 1.0
Guarantee period (yrs)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- 30
First-year degradation (%): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
First-year degradation (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Warranty transferability
- Before
- Not transferable / not disclosed
- After
- Transferable (buyer registration required within grace period)
AU Support Note
- Current text
- SunPower publishes the Australian BE54 datasheet and installer pathways on 8 October 2026, and SunPower Corporation Australia Pty Limited remains an active registered entity. The current Australian warranty now names HSM-BE54-HD490-505, which removes the model-code mismatch that held the warranty fields, but the exact family is absent from the regulator's approved-module list. The product remains an evidence-pending technical reference rather than a current Australian purchase option.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+7 in JSON recordWarranty transferability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_Max_Warranty.pdf
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Annual degradation (%/yr): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
Guaranteed end-of-warranty output (%): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
AU Certifications
- Before
- Rechecked 29 August 2026: the current CER approved-module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor the warranty table's HSM-BE52-HD family. The exact BE54 datasheet lists IEC 61215 and IEC 61730.
- After
- Rechecked 8 October 2026: neither the CER approved-module export of 24 September 2026 nor the live file contains HSM-BE54-HD or HSM-BE52-HD. The exact BE54 datasheet lists IEC 61215 and IEC 61730.
Guaranteed end-of-warranty output (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf; https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/warranty-documents-and-leaflets/au/AU_SunPower_Performance%208_MAX_Warranty%20.pdf
Source revision
- Current text
- SunPower Max AU Rev B June 2026, Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 and CER export checked 2026-08-07 Rechecked 2026-08-29: the current CER module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor HSM-BE52-HD, and the 1 July 2026 Australian warranty table still names HSM-BE52-HD490-505 only. India existing-catalogue panel ALMM review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded against List-I revision 03.08.2026; scores unchanged. Rechecked 2026-10-08: the Australian warranty (September 2026 edition, effective 1 July 2026) now names HSM-BE54-HD490-505, replacing the HSM-BE52-HD table the 29 August check read; the warranty fields are sourced from it. The CER module export still lists neither model code.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetGuarantee assurance
- Before
- Not Listed
- After
- Parts, Service & Transport
5 changes to this record · 28 products changed in this update
IN Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model HSM-BE54-HD505 is not named on ALMM List-I revision 03.08.2026. ALMM is a domestic-content and procurement instrument; absence is not a quality finding and does not change the global score. A manufacturer catalogue is not a substitute for List-I. Existing AU, US, DE or EU warranty terms are not transferred. HSM-BE52 is a different identity and is not transferred.
Source revision
- Current text
- SunPower Max AU Rev B June 2026, Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 and CER export checked 2026-08-07 Rechecked 2026-08-29: the current CER module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor HSM-BE52-HD, and the 1 July 2026 Australian warranty table still names HSM-BE52-HD490-505 only. India existing-catalogue panel ALMM review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded against List-I revision 03.08.2026; scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetIN Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model HSM-BE54-HD505 is not named on ALMM List-I revision 03.08.2026. Cited source_version in-almm-module-2026-08-03-ffdfc4d1f767.
IN Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in/s3716e1b8c6cd17b771da77391355749f3/uploads/2026/08/202608031426164762.pdf; https://mnre.gov.in/en/approved-list-of-models-and-manufacturers-almm/
2 changes to this record · 109 products changed in this update
4 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Current text
- SunPower still publishes the Australian BE54 datasheet and installer pathways, and SunPower Corporation Australia Pty Limited remains active. Those facts do not cure the exact model-code mismatch or establish CER eligibility. The product remains an evidence-pending technical reference rather than a current Australian purchase option.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+6 in JSON recordAU Certifications
- Before
- The exact BE54 datasheet lists IEC 61215 and IEC 61730, but neither HSM-BE54-HD nor the warranty's HSM-BE52-HD family appears in the current CER export.
- After
- Rechecked 29 August 2026: the current CER approved-module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor the warranty table's HSM-BE52-HD family. The exact BE54 datasheet lists IEC 61215 and IEC 61730.
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Held for the exact family. Rechecked 29 August 2026: the Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 is provided by TCL Zhonghuan Energy Technology (Jiangsu) Co., Ltd. and administered by SunPower Corporation Australia Pty Limited, but its exhaustive table still names HSM-BE52-HD490-505 rather than HSM-BE54-HD490-505. No product term, power term, service remedy or transfer right is assigned to the BE54 record.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+6 in JSON recordSource revision
- Before
- SunPower Max AU Rev B June 2026, Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 and CER export checked 2026-08-07
- After
- SunPower Max AU Rev B June 2026, Australian warranty effective 1 July 2026 and CER export checked 2026-08-07 Rechecked 2026-08-29: the current CER module export still contains neither HSM-BE54-HD nor HSM-BE52-HD, and the 1 July 2026 Australian warranty table still names HSM-BE52-HD490-505 only.
2 changes to this record · 118 products changed in this update
Independent energy yield
- Before
- Not independently yield-tested
- After
- No public independent yield result found in reviewed sources
Independent energy yield: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents
- After
- https://scorecard.pvel.com/methodology/; https://scorecard.pvel.com/top-performers/; https://scorecard.pvel.com/wp-content/uploads/2022-PVEL-PV-Module-Reliability-Scorecard-Summary.pdf; https://scorecard.pvel.com/wp-content/uploads/2024-PV-Module-Reliability-Scorecard.pdf
1 change to this record · 65 products changed in this update
9 changes to this record · 106 products changed in this update
Damp heat extended (2000h): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://pub-493f128c789642909ff4ab27a5f41128.r2.dev/product-datasheets/au/AU_SunPower_Max_Datasheet_490-505W.pdf
- After
- No longer recorded
Awards: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.sunpowerglobal.com/au/documents
- After
- No longer recorded
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Max 54-cell scores 70, placing 12 of 53 in the Premium Performance class against a class average of 67.9. Its strongest scoring dimension is architecture & design (94), running 8.0 points above the class average on this dimension. Durability (verified) scores 46, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on durability (verified) is 58. Underlying specifications include a module efficiency of 24.7%, N-type back-contact silicon cell technology, 30-year product warranty backed by a 30-year performance term.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar