The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 5–15.4 kW
- Phase
- Three phase
- Backup boundary
- Whole-home capability recorded
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the named exact German benchmark; larger stacks, paid states and nearby generations do not transfer evidence. Scored model: Powerwall 3P integrated inverter at 15.4 kW · checked 2026-08-16. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
14 of 14 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim1 row
- EnduranceManufacturer claim3 rows
- SafetyManufacturer claim2 rows
- Warranty & backingManufacturer claim2 rows
- FitManufacturer claim6 rows
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Powerwall 3P German datasheet and warranty effective 19 March 2026, checked 2026-08-16. First-market US overlay review 2026-09-01: official United States catalogues recorded; existing Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Hybrid / battery capabilityManufacturer ↗
Product record history
2 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-NA.pdf; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall3p
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3-Datasheet.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-NA.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/General/Warranty/en-us/Powerwall-Warranty-EN.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/More/ProductCertificationInformation/104514208CRT-001.pdf; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=EnergyStorage; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=InvertersList; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/InverterSolarList; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall3p
US Support Note
- Current text
- tesla.com/powerwall, tesla.com/powerwall3p, tesla.com/en_us/powerwall and tesla.com support pages returned HTTP 403 on 9 October 2026. The Energy Library NA 3P datasheet path returned HTTP 200 with an HTML page, not a PDF. The Tesla Limited Warranty (USA), Rev. 2.6, effective 6 May 2026, names Powerwall 3 part number 1707000-xx-x and Powerwall 3 Expansion part number 1807000-xx-x, not part number 1988000. The Intertek authorization to mark for report 104514208CRT-001, issued 24 March 2025, covers models described as 1707000 followed by two numbers, a hyphen and one letter. The California Energy Commission Solar Equipment List exports, updated 1 October 2026, list Tesla Powerwall 3 rows at 1707000-XX-Y but no row for 1988000. The Commission does not require submittal to the list as a condition for installing equipment in California, so that absence is not a finding that the product is unavailable. The German datasheet for 1988000-xx-y states 230/400 VAC three-phase at 50 Hz, while the US Powerwall 3 datasheet states 120/240 VAC split phase at 60 Hz. Powerwall 3 is a different identity and is not transferred onto Powerwall 3P. Held is not unavailable.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
US market evidenceUS market evidence+8 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 12 products changed in this update
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Current German three-phase integrated inverter. Rated output is software-selectable from 5 to 15.4 kW; final grid settings remain site-specific.
- After
- Current German three-phase integrated inverter. The datasheet lists seven AC output ratings from 5 to 15.4 kW (15.4, 15, 11.5, 10, 8, 6 and 5 kW), each with its own maximum continuous current and minimum breaker size, and does not state how a rating is set. It states that 15.4 kW is available at ambient temperatures up to 25 C with sufficient solar generation, and up to 11.5 kW without solar or at higher temperatures. It lists the output power factor as -1 to 1, configurable to grid connection rules. Final grid settings remain site-specific.
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Germany; integrated hardware is covered by the Powerwall 3P ten-year warranty, subject to its registration and connectivity conditions.
- After
- Germany; Tesla Motors Netherlands B.V. Powerwall warranty Rev. 1.15, effective 19 March 2026, names the integrated Powerwall 3P 1988000-xx-x. Cover applies to the complete listed product bought from Tesla or a Tesla-certified installer and installed within the listed European warranty region. The ten-year term runs from first installation, subject to registration, connectivity and stated exclusions. This analytical inverter listing shares the complete-product instrument; it has no separately sold inverter or independent inverter warranty term. Battery capacity and energy-throughput conditions do not establish inverter efficiency retention or component life. The German appendix preserves additional statutory rights; the applicable purchaser instrument remains to be confirmed.
DE Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: The written warranty does not expressly allocate site labour.; registration: Full ten-year cover requires registration and ongoing internet access for remote firmware updates, which may briefly interrupt operation. Customers who did not buy directly from Tesla or an affiliate should register through commissioning or later contact; prolonged disconnection or non-registration can reduce cover, but the instrument guarantees at least four years from first installation under its stated exclusions. Claims go first to the selling Tesla-certified installer; direct Tesla contact applies for direct purchases or an unreachable seller. Supply original purchase and subsequent ownership evidence, suspected defect, serial number and original installation date; request a Tesla RMA through the service form before returning a product. No fixed claim-notification day count is stated.; remedy: Subject to applicable local law, Tesla chooses repair with new or refurbished parts, equivalent new or refurbished replacement, or the market value of an equivalent product at claim time. Repair or replacement keeps the remainder of the original warranty term, unless local law requires otherwise. The German appendix preserves separate statutory rights. Site cost allocation remains unresolved.; removal reinstallation: Unconditional removal and reinstallation coverage is not stated.; transferability: The original purchasing/commissioning end user and a later owner with ownership evidence can claim; the claim package includes original purchase and subsequent ownership transfers. Relocation from the original installation site requires Tesla written consent. Ownership transfer does not by itself permit relocation or restart the warranty.; transport: The written warranty does not expressly allocate ordinary freight.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-NA.pdf; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall; https://www.tesla.com/powerwall3p
Source revision
- Before
- Powerwall 3P German datasheet and warranty effective 19 March 2026, checked 2026-08-16
- After
- Powerwall 3P German datasheet and warranty effective 19 March 2026, checked 2026-08-16. First-market US overlay review 2026-09-01: official United States catalogues recorded; existing Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- not_reviewed
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- tesla.com/powerwall and tesla.com/powerwall3p return HTTP 403. The Energy Library NA 3P datasheet path returned a broken PHP shell, not a PDF. Powerwall 3 is a different identity and is not transferred onto Powerwall 3P. Held is not unavailable.
20 changes to this record · 73 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact sheet publishes 21 kW for one second across three-phase loads and 7.4 kW for one second on a single phase. These are timed backup peaks, not continuous output.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact sheet warns of derating above 40 C and limits 15.4 kW availability to ambient temperature at or below 25 C with enough solar; up to 11.5 kW applies without solar or at higher temperatures.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Direct-pv hybrid inverter with 4 independent MPPTs at the scored model boundary.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact sheet publishes 21 A short-circuit current per MPPT or 42 A across two parallel trackers, separate from 16 A or 32 A operating current respectively.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact German Powerwall 3P sheet publishes a 60-800 V MPPT window inside a 60-1000 V PV operating range.
1 change to this record · 13 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: Tesla; name: Powerwall 3P Integrated Inverter; model: Powerwall 3P integrated three-phase inverter, model 1988000-xx-y; scored at 15.4 kW; score: 66.5
DE market evidence
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- DE market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Powerwall 3P Integrated Inverter scores 66, placing 49 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is features & integration (86), running 14.1 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 40, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 48. Key specifications: 4 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar