The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 4–24 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
100% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 12 kWh in the scored configuration.12 kWh usableScored configuration: Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0. Published range 4–24 kWh.
No reserve is withheld at the stated depth of discharge.
At a sourced 100% depth of discharge the usable and nominal figures are the same number, so no separate nominal capacity is stated.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
79 / 100#8 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The public range shows one-tower configurations. The score is anchored to LVS 12.0; the 256 kWh parallel maximum is supporting context, not the scored configuration. Scored model: Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0 · checked 2026-08-05. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
31 of 31 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record revision. Australian LVS datasheet V2.3 and installation manual V1.2 reviewed 2026-08-06; regional catalogues reviewed 2026-08-30. Exact Australian residential warranty V1.1 checked 2026-10-04: LVS 12.0 retains ten years/60% usable energy/35.64 MWh. Its capacity test uses 25–28 C ambient, 45 A current, 40 V discharge endpoint and 59 V charge voltage; this is not cycle-life or AC-output energy. Warranty commencement is production/delivery based, not HVM’s invoice rule. Replacement retains the original warranty period. Approval, sale and technical evidence were not refreshed in this warranty review.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Cell provenance & traceabilityManufacturer ↗
- Usable capacity (kWh)Manufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal & fire mitigationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
3 earlier entries recorded source rechecks rather than changes to the published figures, and are not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
3 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Source revision
- Current text
- Australian LVS datasheet V2.3 and installation manual V1.2 reviewed 2026-08-06; regional catalogues reviewed 2026-08-30. Exact Australian residential warranty V1.1 checked 2026-10-04: LVS 12.0 retains ten years/60% usable energy/35.64 MWh. Its capacity test uses 25–28 C ambient, 45 A current, 40 V discharge endpoint and 59 V charge voltage; this is not cycle-life or AC-output energy. Warranty commencement is production/delivery based, not HVM’s invoice rule. Replacement retains the original warranty period. Approval, sale and technical evidence were not refreshed in this warranty review.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australian residential LVS 4.0–24.0 installed on or after 1 December 2021; Shenzhen BYD Electronic Co., LTD is the named provider. LVS 12.0: ten-year product cover; 60% usable energy until ten years or 35.64 MWh controller-recorded output, whichever first. Default start is the first day after six months from production; written proof of delivery to the first installation site permits the first day after 30 days from delivery. Additional modules’ performance cover starts at their seller-invoice sale date. The scope requires combined usable energy below 50 kWh; exactly 50 kWh is not resolved by the opening scope and later greater-than-50 exclusion. The scored single 12 kWh tower is within scope. Australian Consumer Law rights are additional.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetBattery generation compatibility+2 in JSON recordAU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Unconditional installation or site labour reimbursement is not established. PDF8 section 4.2 permits inspection charges if coverage does not apply or no defect is found. PDF9 out-of-warranty parts/labour/travel costs are separate.; registration: Written claim to the BYD partner, or global service if unreachable, with mandatory installation date, invoice, battery configuration/product serial and inverter details (PDF6–7). Notify within 30 days of awareness; installation within one month of warranty start, manual-compliant use and approved operation are conditions (PDF4). Requested performance-data access over the internet applies after a claim (PDF5); this does not establish continuous cloud dependence. No separate initial product-registration requirement is stated.; remedy: PDF5–6 sections 3.1–3.4: BYD chooses repair or replacement; unavailable types may be replaced with similar parts, including used parts equivalent to new in performance/reliability. If not repaired/replaced, performance refunds use BYD-selected remaining-throughput or usable-energy-shortfall formulas. For an inoperable product, refund is maximum claim amount/120 × (120 − months since warranty start). Maximum claim amount is BYD-determined defect-free new market value, not automatically invoice price. PDF8 section 4.5 retains the original warranty period after repair/replacement.; removal reinstallation: Unconditional removal and reinstallation reimbursement is not established; no site-work entitlement is inferred from no-charge hardware remedies.; transferability: PDF1 expressly includes a subsequent owner acquiring the product for their own use with proof of ownership; no separate transfer-registration deadline is stated.; transport: Ordinary claim freight is not an unconditional entitlement. PDF8 section 4.3 requires replaced items to be available for pickup within four weeks unless agreed otherwise; otherwise BYD may invoice full market price. PDF10 expert-testing and shipping costs fall to the buyer only if the claim is not withdrawn within 14 days of referral notice and the expert decides for BYD; BYD pays in other cases. This dispute rule is not ordinary repair freight cover.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetBattery generation compatibility+2 in JSON record
12 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_LVS_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f8b2f70105.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20HVL%26HVM-US%20Limited%20Warranty-USA,%20Mexico%20and%20Canada%20V1.3-672329fe15037.pdf
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- BYD's current USA, Mexico and Canada instrument names HVL and HVM-US, not LVS 4.0 through 24.0. No UL LVS datasheet was recovered. The German LVS datasheet lists VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CE, CEC and UN 38.3, not UL.
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German LVS datasheet names LVS 4.0 through LVS 24.0, including the scored LVS 12.0, and lists VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CE, CEC and UN 38.3.
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
Source revision
- Before
- Australian LVS datasheet V2.3 dated 2023-11-24, Australian installation manual V1.2 dated 2024-05-29 and residential warranty V1.1 re-audited 2026-08-06
- After
- Australian LVS datasheet V2.3 dated 2023-11-24, Australian installation manual V1.2 dated 2024-05-29 and residential warranty V1.1 re-audited 2026-08-06. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; the German residential LVS instrument names LVS 4.0, 8.0, 12.0, 16.0, 20.0 and 24.0 for ten years and 80 percent retained usable energy or the model-specific throughput ceiling, whichever occurs first, for products installed on or after 1 June 2020.
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_LVS_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f8b2f70105.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVS%20Limited%20Warranty-Residential-Germany-DE%20V1.0-5f8502e01a4f4.pdf
DE Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Ordinary onsite labour is not expressly promised. Optional service work is billed to the first purchaser.; registration: Installation within one month of invoice, approved operation, timely notice, invoice and serial evidence apply.; remedy: BYD chooses free repair, replacement or a calculated partial refund.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not expressly promised.; transferability: The German terms define the beneficiary as the first purchaser and do not establish transfer.; transport: Ordinary freight is not expressly promised.
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The LVS battery's VDE 2510-50 and IEC 62619 evidence is battery-safety evidence, not standalone German grid approval. Grid conformity belongs to the site inverter and installation. No product pairing is asserted.
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- BYD's live downloads library still publishes a German LVS datasheet and a German residential warranty naming the LVS family. LVS Lite, LVL, HVM, HVS and HVL are different identities.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- available
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet%20BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVS%20Datasheet_AU_V2.3-656e94f89bd61.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Warranty%20T%26CS%20BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVS%20Residential-Australia-EN%20V1.1-656e93d6617fb.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The Australian LVS datasheet publishes battery round-trip efficiency of at least 95%.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The reviewed exact LVS datasheet and Australian warranty do not publish a cycle-life result to a stated retained-capacity threshold.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet%20BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVS%20Datasheet_AU_V2.3-656e94f89bd61.pdf
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Battery-Box Premium LVS scores 70, placing 10 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.3. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (94), running 9.8 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 42, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 48. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 10.0 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar