The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 18 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
67 / 100#34 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score is fixed to the reviewed six-module 18 kWh system, not the larger two-cabinet marketing ceiling. Scored model: PWRcell 2 six-module configuration · checked 2026-08-02. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
21 of 21 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only1 row in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 3 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Current PWRcell 2 product page and specification, warranty revision B dated June 2025, Smart Disconnect Switch manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact PWRcell 2 named-market VPP evidence integrated 2026-10-05 from current Generac Connected Solutions and Duke Energy programme pages/terms; 18 kWh M6 benchmark unchanged. PWRcell 2 cloud API evidence integrated 2026-10-05 from official PWRapi overview, system-generation and authentication documentation; local API and Modbus/SunSpec claims remain unestablished.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
Show 11 more
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Verified reliabilityManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Smart home & IoT depthNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Firmware & security disclosureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf
- After
- https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=EnergyStorage; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf
1 change to this record · 22 products changed in this update
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pc2brochure_specguide.pdf
- After
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pc2brochure_specguide.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf
3 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
1 change to this record · 11 products changed in this update
Financial strength & warranty backing: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/about/; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf
- After
- https://www.generac.com/about/; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf; https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1474735/000143774926004568/R1.htm; https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1474735/000143774926004568/ex_873991.htm
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/footer/dealers-installers/generac-university/2025/sds_a0008210373_installmanual.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf; https://www.generac.com/home-energy-system/solar-battery-storage/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/connected-solutions/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/terms-conditions/
- After
- https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/authentication/; https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/identifying-system-generation/; https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/overview/; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/footer/dealers-installers/generac-university/2025/sds_a0008210373_installmanual.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf; https://www.generac.com/home-energy-system/solar-battery-storage/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/connected-solutions/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/terms-conditions/
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf
- After
- https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/authentication/; https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/identifying-system-generation/; https://docs.pwrapi.generac.com/getting-started/overview/
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Proprietary / no documented API
- After
- Cloud API only
US Support Note
- Current text
- Registration and persistent internet are conditions for full-term warranty. The documents publish local CAN system control but do not state whether all backup functions continue unchanged through an extended internet outage. PWRcell 2 is expressly included in Connected Solutions for eligible Massachusetts and Rhode Island customers and in Duke Energy Power Manager/EnergyWise Home for eligible North Carolina and South Carolina customers. Programme participation starts after utility acceptance and uses remote dispatch; it is not automatic for every US purchaser. Duke terms require reliable internet, approved equipment and interconnection compliance and specify a 20% state-of-charge floor during control events. The maker FAQ also describes an adjustable backup reserve; programme terms govern the applicable reserve and participation conditions. No nationwide entitlement, guaranteed incentive or frequency-service capability is inferred. Generac publishes PWRapi cloud documentation for PWRcell 2 systems, with Company and Program access provisioned by Generac. OAuth2 credentials and site scope are required; grid-service control is limited to enrolled sites. This is a partner cloud interface, not a documented local battery API or an assurance of unrestricted homeowner access.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
VPP & grid services readinessPrimary datasheet+8 in JSON recordOpen protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Source revision
- Current text
- Current PWRcell 2 product page and specification, warranty revision B dated June 2025, Smart Disconnect Switch manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact PWRcell 2 named-market VPP evidence integrated 2026-10-05 from current Generac Connected Solutions and Duke Energy programme pages/terms; 18 kWh M6 benchmark unchanged. PWRcell 2 cloud API evidence integrated 2026-10-05 from official PWRapi overview, system-generation and authentication documentation; local API and Modbus/SunSpec claims remain unestablished.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/footer/dealers-installers/generac-university/2025/sds_a0008210373_installmanual.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf; https://www.generac.com/home-energy-system/solar-battery-storage/
- After
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/footer/dealers-installers/generac-university/2025/sds_a0008210373_installmanual.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf; https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell2_specsheet.pdf; https://www.generac.com/home-energy-system/solar-battery-storage/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/connected-solutions/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/terms-conditions/
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/home-energy-system/solar-battery-storage/
- After
- https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/connected-solutions/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/; https://www.generac.com/services-applications/grid-solutions-programs/duke-energy-battery-program/terms-conditions/
VPP & grid services readiness
- Before
- No VPP capability
- After
- VPP-capable + live VPP program (named market)
US Support Note
- Current text
- Registration and persistent internet are conditions for full-term warranty. The documents publish local CAN system control but do not state whether all backup functions continue unchanged through an extended internet outage. PWRcell 2 is expressly included in Connected Solutions for eligible Massachusetts and Rhode Island customers and in Duke Energy Power Manager/EnergyWise Home for eligible North Carolina and South Carolina customers. Programme participation starts after utility acceptance and uses remote dispatch; it is not automatic for every US purchaser. Duke terms require reliable internet, approved equipment and interconnection compliance and specify a 20% state-of-charge floor during control events. The maker FAQ also describes an adjustable backup reserve; programme terms govern the applicable reserve and participation conditions. No nationwide entitlement, guaranteed incentive or frequency-service capability is inferred.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
VPP & grid services readinessPrimary datasheet+5 in JSON recordSource revision
- Current text
- Current PWRcell 2 product page and specification, warranty revision B dated June 2025, Smart Disconnect Switch manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact PWRcell 2 named-market VPP evidence integrated 2026-10-05 from current Generac Connected Solutions and Duke Energy programme pages/terms; 18 kWh M6 benchmark unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetVPP & grid services readiness: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- generac.com/de opens a not-found page. No German catalogue names APKE00076 / PWRcell 2.
Source revision
- Before
- Current PWRcell 2 product page and specification, warranty revision B dated June 2025, Smart Disconnect Switch manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- Current PWRcell 2 product page and specification, warranty revision B dated June 2025, Smart Disconnect Switch manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
17 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: The exact specification guide publishes 88% complete-system round-trip efficiency. No battery/DC round-trip value is substituted into the score.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pc2brochure_specguide.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact specification guide publishes 88% complete-system round-trip efficiency.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pc2brochure_specguide.pdf
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- No longer recorded
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pc2brochure_specguide.pdf
- After
- No longer recorded
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.generac.com/globalassets/residential/dealers--installers/generac-installer-programs/solar--battery-installer-support/pwrcell-2-warranty-rev-b.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The governing warranty uses 7.56 MWh per module and a 70% endpoint, not an independently measured cycles-to-70% result.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- US market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
PWRcell 2 18 scores 63, placing 42 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is guarantee & backbone (84), running 29.0 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (55) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: NMC, 10.5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar