The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
N-type TOPCon module
Produces DC electricity at the roof. It contains no system-level power conversion or storage.
- Product role
- None in the module.
- Published range
- 390–400 W
- Electrical layer
- DC module output
- Construction
- Mono-glass
Performance guarantee: 25-year linear output
Wattage figure based on the sourced rated power (400 W) applied to the guaranteed floor; modular/format differences aside, this is the same rated-power spec shown above.
Modelled effective output, year by year
Year 1 to year 25, at 30°C and 1000 W/m². Rated 400 W at STC.
How this is modelled
Compounds this panel’s own published first-year (2%) and annual (0.25%/yr) degradation figures against its 400 W rated (STC) output, then derates for the ambient and irradiance selected. Output is scaled roughly linearly with irradiance (1000W/m² against the 1000 W/m² STC reference). This is the dominant real-world effect at low light, whether from cloud, shading or soiling. Output is then further derated for heat, from this panel’s own NOCT (44°C) and temperature coefficient (-0.34%/°C), giving an estimated cell temperature of 60°C at that ambient and irradiance. A datasheet-derived estimate, not a field measurement or a warranty guarantee: it does not account for this panel’s own low-light efficiency response (a separate, less-consistently-published spec), or for wind and system design. See NOCT and temperature coefficient in the glossary.
Control panel
| Year | 1 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Watts | 345 W | 341 W | 337 W | 333 W | 328 W | 324 W |
| % of rated | 86.2% | 85.3% | 84.2% | 83.1% | 82.0% | 80.9% |
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score is anchored to the highest published rating in this exact published US series. Scored model: REC400NP3 Black · checked 2026-08-23. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
26 of 26 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record revision. REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact sheet, US product page and warranty Rev B3 rechecked 2026-08-23; unsupported MBB classification removed. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary20-year product warranty (25 years via REC ProTrust) →
Show 7 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Cell configurationManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturer established (yrs)Manufacturer ↗
- Manufacturer established (yrs)Independent test ↗
- Independent energy yieldIndependent test ↗
- Independent energy yieldIndependent test ↗
- End-of-life & recycling disclosureManufacturer ↗
Product record history
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- recgroup.com/de/rec-n-peak-3-black returns 404. The German home page does not name REC400NP3 Black. Pure-R is a different identity and is not transferred.
Source revision
- Before
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact sheet, US product page and warranty Rev B3 rechecked 2026-08-23; unsupported MBB classification removed.
- After
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact sheet, US product page and warranty Rev B3 rechecked 2026-08-23; unsupported MBB classification removed. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/de; https://www.recgroup.com/de/rec-alpha-pure-r; https://www.recgroup.com/de/rec-n-peak-3-black
2 changes to this record · 109 products changed in this update
2 changes to this record · 118 products changed in this update
Independent energy yield
- Before
- Not independently yield-tested
- After
- No public independent yield result found in reviewed sources
Independent energy yield: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://scorecard.pvel.com/methodology/; https://scorecard.pvel.com/top-performers/; https://scorecard.pvel.com/wp-content/uploads/2022-PVEL-PV-Module-Reliability-Scorecard-Summary.pdf; https://scorecard.pvel.com/wp-content/uploads/2024-PV-Module-Reliability-Scorecard.pdf
40 changes to this record · 7 products changed in this update
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://www.recgroup.com/en-us/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-pv-modules-0; https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Independent energy yield: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Ranges
- Current text
- checked: 2026-08-23; market: US; max: 400; min: 390; range label: 390–400 W; source revision: REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact series sheet, rechecked 2026-08-23; source url: https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; unit: W
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetGuarantee assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
NOCT (C): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
First-year degradation (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Contact: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- No longer recorded
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/PVModuleList; https://www.recgroup.com/en-us/contact; https://www.recgroup.com/en-us/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
- After
- https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/PVModuleList; https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
Contact
- Before
- Advanced MBB
- After
- No longer recorded
Module efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Encapsulation & frame construction: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Hail resistance: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Negative loading (MQT16, Pa): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Power tolerance (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Source revision
- Before
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 UL sheet, US product page and N-Peak warranty Rev B3 reviewed 2026-08-06 Corrected 2026-08-19: LeTID recorded from the datasheet's "NO LIGHT INDUCED DEGRADATION" statement, previously logged as not stated. No score changes: the field is unscored. LeTID re-verified 2026-08-19 for rubric v2.12.0: scored under the returned criterion on the evidence recorded in its provenance. Re-verification 2026-08-19: Verified reliability recorded as "Previously validated, now lapsed" under panel rubric v2.13.0, which added a band for brand or series evidence where the exact model is not covered by the third-party record.
- After
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact sheet, US product page and warranty Rev B3 rechecked 2026-08-23; unsupported MBB classification removed.
Annual degradation (%/yr): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Carbon footprint / EPD: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Contact: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- No longer recorded
Ammonia resistance (IEC 62716): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
PID (IEC TS 62804): Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Financial strength & warranty backing: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.ril.com/ar2025-26/financial-performance-and-review.html; https://www.ril.com/investors/subsidiaries-associates/major-subsidiaries-associates-list
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/about-rec; https://www.recgroup.com/en/news/five-years-row-rec-group-top-performer-pv-module-reliability-scorecard-dnv-gl; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Fire classification (IEC 61730): Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Performance guarantee period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
Verified reliability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/news/five-years-row-rec-group-top-performer-pv-module-reliability-scorecard-dnv-gl
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/news/five-years-row-rec-group-top-performer-pv-module-reliability-scorecard-dnv-gl; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Independent energy yield: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
Salt mist (IEC 61701): Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
End-of-life & recycling disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/recycling-rec-solar-panels; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Source
- Current text
- checked: 2026-08-23; source revision: REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 exact series sheet, rechecked 2026-08-23; source url: https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetLeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342): Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Temp coefficient Pmax (%/C): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Guarantee period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
Positive loading (MQT16, Pa): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Cell technology tier: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Salt mist (IEC 61701): Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/about-rec; https://www.recgroup.com/en/news/five-years-row-rec-group-top-performer-pv-module-reliability-scorecard-dnv-gl; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
Carbon footprint / EPD: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
Guaranteed end-of-warranty output (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- https://www.recgroup.com/en/rec-n-peak-3-black; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf; https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/documents/warranty_rec_n-peak_rev_b3_web.pdf
2 changes to this record · 65 products changed in this update
4 changes to this record · 31 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Current text
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 UL sheet, US product page and N-Peak warranty Rev B3 reviewed 2026-08-06 Corrected 2026-08-19: LeTID recorded from the datasheet's "NO LIGHT INDUCED DEGRADATION" statement, previously logged as not stated. No score changes: the field is unscored. LeTID re-verified 2026-08-19 for rubric v2.12.0: scored under the returned criterion on the evidence recorded in its provenance. Re-verification 2026-08-19: Verified reliability recorded as "Previously validated, now lapsed" under panel rubric v2.13.0, which added a band for brand or series evidence where the exact model is not covered by the third-party record.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
6 changes to this record · 23 products changed in this update
LeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342): Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
Source revision
- Current text
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 UL sheet, US product page and N-Peak warranty Rev B3 reviewed 2026-08-06 Corrected 2026-08-19: LeTID recorded from the datasheet's "NO LIGHT INDUCED DEGRADATION" statement, previously logged as not stated. No score changes: the field is unscored. LeTID re-verified 2026-08-19 for rubric v2.12.0: scored under the returned criterion on the evidence recorded in its provenance.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetLeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342): Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
LeTID resistance (IEC TS 63342)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- LeTID resistance claimed for this product, no test cited
1 change to this record · 9 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 UL sheet, US product page and N-Peak warranty Rev B3 reviewed 2026-08-06
- After
- REC N-Peak 3 Black Rev 2.1 UL sheet, US product page and N-Peak warranty Rev B3 reviewed 2026-08-06 Corrected 2026-08-19: LeTID recorded from the datasheet's "NO LIGHT INDUCED DEGRADATION" statement, previously logged as not stated. No score changes: the field is unscored.
9 changes to this record · 106 products changed in this update
Damp heat extended (2000h): Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- No longer recorded
Damp heat extended (2000h): Evidence status
- Before
- derived
- After
- No longer recorded
Awards: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.recgroup.com/sites/default/files/2024-11/ds_rec_n-peak_3_black_series_rev_2.1_ul_web.pdf
- After
- No longer recorded
Damp heat extended (2000h)
- Before
- 1000h IEC 61215 standard
- After
- No longer recorded
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
N-Peak 3 Black scores 65, placing 50 of 53 in the Premium Performance class against a class average of 67.5. Its strongest scoring dimension is performance & degradation (82), above the class average of 78. Efficiency & Yield scores 39, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on efficiency & yield is 64. Underlying specifications include a module efficiency of 20.3%, N-type TOPCon cell technology, 20-year product warranty backed by a 25-year performance term.