The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 8–9.999 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Essential-load capability recorded
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts & labour · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The public family is 8-10 kW; the exact regulator-scored M10 output is 9.999 kW. Scored model: SMILE-M10-S-INV · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
16 of 16 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
2 of 3 questions with checkable rows have a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output3 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claim
- Endurance1 checkable row, beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Safety1 of 2 checkable rows beyond the maker's claim
- BackingMaker-only: 2 maker's commitments; no checkable rows
- FitMaker-only: 6 design facts; no checkable rows
- FootprintNot scored for inverters
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record correction. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact M8/M9/M10-S inverter cooling correction reviewed 2026-10-05 using V01 manual printed88-89; lower-power natural-cooling table excluded. Other verification dates unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 4 more
- Rated AC power (kW)Manufacturer ↗
- Semiconductor technologyManufacturer ↗
- Monitoring & smart featuresManufacturer ↗
- Warranty period (yrs)Warranty ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
3 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not published
3 changes to this record · 153 products changed in this update
Shutdown / arc safety: Evidence status
- Before
- Reviewed absence
- After
- Sourced
6 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Thermal management
- Before
- Fanless / natural convection
- After
- Smart / variable-speed fan
Thermal management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0811/4470/9362/files/Datasheet_SMILE-M10_M9_M8-INV_V01_30.06.pdf?v=1783072362; https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0811/4470/9362/files/Installation_Operation_Maintenance_Manual_EN_SMILE-M-S_V01_20260615.pdf?v=1783072364
- After
- https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0811/4470/9362/files/Installation_Operation_Maintenance_Manual_EN_SMILE-M-S_V01_20260615.pdf?v=1783072364
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact M8/M9/M10-S inverter cooling correction reviewed 2026-10-05 using V01 manual printed88-89; lower-power natural-cooling table excluded. Other verification dates unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU Support Note
- Before
- This is the inverter layer only. Existing AlphaESS battery records remain separate, and no product-pair recommendation is published.
- After
- This is the inverter layer only. Existing AlphaESS battery records remain separate, and no product-pair recommendation is published. The exact M8/M9/M10 inverter manual specifies Smart Fan Cooling, with noise below 45 dB(A) at 1 m. These models are not documented as fanless; natural cooling in the same manual applies to the separate lower-power M5/M3.6/M5-B models.
9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://alphaess.au/products/smile-m10; https://www.alphaess.com/products; https://www.alphaess.com/smile-g3-t4~10; https://www.alphaess.com/smile-m5-5kw-residential-energy-storage-system
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- AlphaESS's global products catalogue lists SMILE-M5 and SMILE-G3-T residential storage, not SMILE-M8-S-INV, SMILE-M9-S-INV or SMILE-M10-S-INV. No official United States host lists those M-S-INV inverter codes. SMILE-M5 and SMILE-G3-T are not transferred onto this inverter record.
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- AlphaESS Germany's storefront and Heimspeicher collection do not list SMILE-M8-S-INV, SMILE-M9-S-INV or SMILE-M10-S-INV. The global catalogue's SMILE-M5 and SMILE-G3-T pages are different identities and are not transferred onto this Australian M-S-INV inverter.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://alphaess.au/products/smile-m10; https://alphaess.de/; https://alphaess.de/collections/residential; https://www.alphaess.com/products; https://www.alphaess.com/smile-g3-t4~10
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences.
2 changes to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification model
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- SMILE-M10-S-INV (AS4777-2 2020)
Certification: SMILE-M10-S-INV (AS4777-2 2020)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- accepted at: 2026-08-29; category: inverter; certification model: SMILE-M10-S-INV (AS4777-2 2020); jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: alphaess-smile-m-s-inverter-8-10-au; source key: data/inverters/alphaess_smile_m_s_inv_au.json; source manufacturer name: Alpha ESS Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2026-07-07; candidate model: SMILE-M10-S-INV (AS4777-2 2020); data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; expires at: 2029-07-07; list data version: au-cer-inverter-2026-08-20-51491c596569; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:12Z; listing status at validation: listed
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: AlphaESS; name: SMILE-M-S Inverter; model: SMILE-M8-S-INV, SMILE-M9-S-INV and SMILE-M10-S-INV; scored M10 at 9.999 kW local rating; score: 67.7
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
SMILE-M-S Inverter scores 66, placing 53 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.9. Its highest-scoring dimension is design & flexibility (96), running 15.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 40, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 51. Key specifications: 97.47% peak efficiency, 4 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar