The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 15.36 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 15.36 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.15.36 kWh usableScored configuration: Battery-Box Premium LVL15.4.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
LVL remains distinct from HVS, HVM and LVS identities already in the catalogue.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
76 / 100#16 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. LVL remains distinct from HVS, HVM and LVS identities already in the catalogue. Scored model: Battery-Box Premium LVL15.4 · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
23 of 23 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 4 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output3 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Endurance2 checkable rows, all reviewed absences: not published, we lookedMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments
- Safety1 of 3 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- BackingMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment; no checkable rows
- Fit6 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. Thermal evidence recovery 2026-10-04: current AU LVL15.4 V2.1 manual heat sinks support passive thermal management; exact physical/electrical sheet join retained, no whole-product or market review refresh. CER re-read 2026-10-23: the 15 October 2026 export merged the two LVL15.4 rows into one, approved 20 April 2023 and expiring 31 December 2027; the cited approval date follows it.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 5 more
- Modularity & scalabilityManufacturer ↗
- Verified reliabilityManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cycle life (cycles to 70%)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
2 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
AU Certifications
- Before
- The current CER snapshot contains the renewed LVL15.4 row approved 22 July 2026 and expiring 31 December 2027; the older duplicate expired 19 July 2026.
- After
- The CER's 15 October 2026 battery export, read 23 October 2026, lists one LVL15.4 row, approved 20 April 2023 and expiring 31 December 2027. Earlier exports carried two rows, a renewal approved 22 July 2026 and the original 2023 approval, which expired 19 July 2026; the CER has merged them.
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. Thermal evidence recovery 2026-10-04: current AU LVL15.4 V2.1 manual heat sinks support passive thermal management; exact physical/electrical sheet join retained, no whole-product or market review refresh. CER re-read 2026-10-23: the 15 October 2026 export merged the two LVL15.4 rows into one, approved 20 April 2023 and expiring 31 December 2027; the cited approval date follows it.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
26 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Grid-forming & backup tier: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
Smart home & IoT depth
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No local smart home integration
Grid-forming & backup tier
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Whole-home backup via paired hybrid inverter (capability is inverter-dependent
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
Thermal load management
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No thermal load integration
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
EV charging integration: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://raw.githubusercontent.com/redpomodoro/byd_battery_box/main/README.md; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf
Verified reliability
- Before
- Not independently tested
- After
- Not third-party tested
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
VPP & grid services readiness
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No VPP capability
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
EV charging integration
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No EV integration
Grid-forming & backup tier: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
Thermal load management: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://raw.githubusercontent.com/redpomodoro/byd_battery_box/main/README.md; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://help.discoverenergy.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/1500003407681-Discover-Energy-VPP-Product-Compatibility-List; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Proprietary / no documented API
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/250808_User%20Guide_Be%20Connect%202.0_V1.2_EN-68959ae44a4b9.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Limited%20Warranty%20Letter_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.2_EN-6a5595b52b0f6-6a5dd7b582d9d.pdf
1 change to this record · 2 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf
3 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
2 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
AU Warranty scope
- Before
- Australia residential systems below 50 kWh combined usable energy; ten years, 60% retention or 47.46 MWh for LVL15.4, whichever limit occurs first.
- After
- Australia residential systems below 50 kWh combined usable energy installed on or after 1 December 2021; ten years from the warranty start date, 60% retention or 47.46 MWh for LVL15.4, whichever limit occurs first (clauses 1.2, 1.3 and 2.5 of Limited Warranty V1.2).
AU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: Unconditional site labour and travel reimbursement are not promised.; registration: The warranty start date is the first day after six months from the production date or, if the Original Buyer chooses and provides written proof of delivery to the installation site, the first day after 30 days from that delivery date (clause 1.1). Cover does not apply to defects or deterioration resulting from the product not being installed within one month of the warranty start date, operation with an inverter not specified in the BYD Battery-Box Premium LVL Minimum Configuration List, or the product not being operated for any period of six months or more (clauses 2.3d, 2.3e and 2.3j). A claim must be reported in writing to the BYD Authorized Service Partner with the installation date, invoice, Battery-Box configuration, product serial number and inverter; module, BMU and inverter serial numbers, firmware versions and operating details are also requested (clause 4.1).; remedy: BYD may repair, replace or provide a partial refund.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: Coverage extends to a subsequent owner who acquires the product for their own use and provides proof of ownership.; transport: Return and testing costs depend on the claim and expert-determination outcome.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Modularity & scalabilityPrimary datasheet+3 in JSON record
6 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. Thermal evidence recovery 2026-10-04: current AU LVL15.4 V2.1 manual heat sinks support passive thermal management; exact physical/electrical sheet join retained, no whole-product or market review refresh.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetThermal & fire mitigation: Evidence status
- Before
- Reviewed absence
- After
- Sourced
Thermal & fire mitigation
- Before
- Basic
- After
- Passive thermal mgmt
Thermal & fire mitigation: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf
- After
- https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_Operating_Manual_LVL-V2.1-260804-6a73e9430703b.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/Datasheet_Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%28AU%29_V1.4_EN-6a5593cc0ae43-6a5dd78381586.pdf
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
12 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- BYD's current USA, Mexico and Canada instrument names HVL and HVM-US, not LVL 15.4. The live HVL US datasheet is a different high-voltage identity. The German and English LVL datasheets list IEC 62619, CE, CEC and UN 38.3, not UL. An older Americas LVL warranty is not a current US sale path for this identity.
DE Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Ordinary onsite labour is not expressly promised. Optional service work is billed to the first purchaser.; registration: Installation within one month of invoice, approved operation, timely notice, invoice and serial evidence apply.; remedy: BYD chooses free repair, replacement or a calculated partial refund.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not expressly promised.; transferability: The German terms define the beneficiary as the first purchaser and do not establish transfer.; transport: Ordinary freight is not expressly promised.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_LVL_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f866792418.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20HVL%26HVM-US%20Limited%20Warranty-USA,%20Mexico%20and%20Canada%20V1.3-672329fe15037.pdf
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_LVL_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f866792418.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20LVL%20Limited%20Warranty-Residential-Germany-DE%20V1.1-5f18f46247e4a.pdf
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- available
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- BYD's live downloads library still publishes a German LVL datasheet and a German residential warranty naming LVL 15.4. HVM, HVS, HVL and LVS are different identities. Distributor stock is not inferred.
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The LVL battery's IEC 62619 evidence is battery-safety evidence, not standalone German grid approval. Grid conformity belongs to the site inverter and installation. No product pairing is asserted.
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; the German residential LVL instrument names LVL 15.4 for ten years and 80 percent retained usable energy or 40.34 MWh, whichever occurs first, for products installed on or after 1 January 2020.
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German LVL datasheet names LVL15.4 (2021) and lists IEC 62619, CE, CEC and UN 38.3.
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: BYD; name: Battery-Box Premium LVL 15.4; model: Battery-Box Premium LVL15.4 (2021); exact Australian low-voltage battery; score: 61.1
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Battery-Box Premium LVL 15.4 scores 64, placing 39 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 64.4. Its highest-scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), above the class average of 84. Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 56. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 12.8 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar