The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 12 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 12 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.12 kWh usableScored configuration: Battery-Box Premium HVL 12.0 (US).
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
61 / 100#51 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Scored model: Battery-Box Premium HVL 12.0 (US) · checked 2026-07-16. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
17 of 17 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only1 row in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 2 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings1 design fact beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. HVL US data sheet V1.9, governing HVL and HVM-US warranty V1.3, current download catalogue, Be Connect guide and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
Show 3 more
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
- Verified reliabilityManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal & fire mitigationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Firmware & security disclosureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 5 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=BatteryList
2 changes to this record · 22 products changed in this update
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/250808_User%20Guide_Be%20Connect%202.0_V1.2_EN-68959ae44a4b9.pdf
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/250808_User%20Guide_Be%20Connect%202.0_V1.2_EN-68959ae44a4b9.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240223_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_Operating_Manual_V1.3-65d8556272d90.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/250808_User%20Guide_Be%20Connect%202.0_V1.2_EN-68959ae44a4b9.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/downloads
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/250808_User%20Guide_Be%20Connect%202.0_V1.2_EN-68959ae44a4b9.pdf; https://site.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240223_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_Operating_Manual_V1.3-65d8556272d90.pdf
3 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Current text
- On 7 October 2026 bydbatterybox.com/de, site.bydbatterybox.com/de and bydbatterybox.com/de/ still returned HTTP 404. BYD's downloads catalogue, which was reachable, lists HVL documents that include the HVL and HVM-US Limited Warranty for the USA, Mexico and Canada V1.3, the HVL compatible inverter list V1.4 with BYD America US service contacts, the HVL operating manual and HVL UL 1973, FCC and UN 38.3 documents, and lists no German or European HVL warranty, datasheet or EU declaration of conformity; German and European warranties are listed for HVS/HVM, LVL and LVS, and EU declarations of conformity for HVS, HVM, LVS, LVL, C130 and C230. The BYD home page labels the line Battery-Box Premium HVL US, and clause 2.4(a) of the US warranty excludes a Product not purchased in the USA or Canada. No BYD regional source states whether HVL 12.0 is offered in Germany, so the overlay stays not_reviewed and a European HVL listing without the US suffix is not transferred.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
DE market evidenceAU market evidenceUS Warranty scope
- Before
- United States for named HVL products installed on or after 1 November 2024; ten years or 30.30 MWh for HVL 12.0, whichever occurs first, with 70% retained usable energy.
- After
- United States for named HVL products installed on or after 1 November 2024. The product warranty runs ten years from the Warranty Start Date (clause 1.2), which is the first day after six months from the production date, or the first day after 30 days from a proven delivery date (clause 1.1). The performance warranty is 70% of usable energy for ten years or until 30.30 MWh of throughput for HVL 12.0, whichever comes first (clause 1.3).
US Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: No site-labour reimbursement entitlement is stated.; registration: No pre-registration is stated. The clause 4.1 claim table marks the installation date, invoice number, Battery-Box configuration, product serial number and inverter as mandatory, and also asks for module and BCU serial numbers, the BMS/BMU firmware version, inverter configuration, serial number and firmware, working mode, location and error information. Clause 2.4(e) excludes cover if the invoice and the information listed in clause 4 are not provided with the claim.; remedy: BYD repairs or replaces the non-conforming Product or parts at no charge and decides which in its sole discretion (clauses 3.1 and 3.2). If the Product or part is discontinued or unavailable, BYD may supply a similar Product or part, which may include previously used parts equivalent to new (clause 3.3). A formula-based partial refund applies only if BYD does not repair or replace (clause 3.4).; removal reinstallation: No removal or reinstallation benefit is stated.; transferability: Original Buyer only; no subsequent-owner transfer right is stated.; transport: No ordinary freight entitlement is stated; transport damage is excluded.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty throughputOpen protocol & API maturity+3 in JSON record
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- bydbatterybox.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names Battery-Box Premium HVL 12.0 (US). A European HVL listing without the US suffix is not transferred.
- After
- bydbatterybox.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names Battery-Box Premium HVL 12.0 (US). A European HVL listing without the US suffix is not transferred. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.bydbatterybox.com/de; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- bydbatterybox.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names Battery-Box Premium HVL 12.0 (US). A European HVL listing without the US suffix is not transferred.
Source revision
- Before
- HVL US data sheet V1.9, governing HVL and HVM-US warranty V1.3, current download catalogue, Be Connect guide and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- HVL US data sheet V1.9, governing HVL and HVM-US warranty V1.3, current download catalogue, Be Connect guide and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium%20HVL%26HVM-US%20Limited%20Warranty-USA%2C%20Mexico%20and%20Canada%20V1.3-672327ac375e6.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240108_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVL_US_Datasheet_V1.9-659b567c44f0c.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact datasheet and V1.3 warranty do not publish an independently measured cycles-to-70% result.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- BYD specifies round-trip efficiency of at least 96%.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- US market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Battery-Box Premium HVL scores 60, placing 56 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), above the class average of 84. Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 55. Key specifications: LFP, 96% round-trip efficiency.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar