The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 5.12–12.8 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 10.24 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.10.24 kWh usableScored configuration: Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2. Published range 5.12–12.8 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Capacity range describes the reviewed Australian configurations; the score remains anchored to the HVS 10.2 reference configuration, not the largest stack.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
79 / 100#8 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Capacity range describes the reviewed Australian configurations; the score remains anchored to the HVS 10.2 reference configuration, not the largest stack. Scored model: Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2 · checked 2026-06-16. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-31
Strong evidence coverage
29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record revision. BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 10 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Usable capacity (kWh)Manufacturer ↗
- Warranty assuranceManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- EV charging integrationManufacturer ↗
- Thermal load managementManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Round-trip efficiency (%)Manufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Firmware & security disclosureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
One earlier entry recorded a source recheck rather than a change to the published figure, and is not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
3 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Current text
- The current CER export checked 4 October 2026 lists exact HVS 10.2 under the existing Shenzhen BYD Electronics Co Ltd certificate holder through 17 January 2027. The separately listed HVM+ family is not treated as an extension, rename or successor to this HVS record. Shenzhen BYD Electronics Co., Ltd. remains the cited warranty provider and Alps Power Pty Ltd the Australian service partner. This limited approval review does not refresh the governing warranty, compatible-inverter evidence or whole-market verification date.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU market evidence+5 in JSON recordAU Certifications
- Before
- The current BCU V2.0 HVS datasheet lists VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CEC, CE and UN 38.3 for the exact family.
- After
- The current BCU V2.0 HVS datasheet lists VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CEC, CE and UN 38.3 for the exact family.; The current CER approved-battery export checked 4 October 2026 lists exact HVS 10.2 under Shenzhen BYD Electronics Co Ltd, brand BYD and series HVS, approved 19 October 2023 and expiring 17 January 2027. This extends the previously recorded 19 October 2026 expiry. Export capacity fields are 10.24 kWh nominal and usable; they are regulator-row metadata, not a new performance-test basis.
Certification: HVS 10.2
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: HVS 10.2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: byd-byd-battery-box-premium-hvs-10-2; source key: data/batteries/byd_battery_box.json; source manufacturer name: Shenzhen BYD Electronics Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2023-10-19; candidate model: HVS 10.2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-01-17; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-10-02-7a89cac97b8b; list retrieved at: 2026-10-04T04:00:04Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Australian approved-product source identity
8 changes to this record · 61 products changed in this update
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German HVS datasheet V1.0 and the HVS/HVM Datenblatt V1.9 name Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2 and print VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CE and UN 38.3.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BCU2.0_250918_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Operating_Manual_V1.2_GER-68cbb27ba9522.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240418_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Datenblatt_V1.9_DE-6625bf22074dd.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_HVS_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f6d40b4086.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Limited_Warranty-Germany-DE_V1.2-64265a79bb25d.pdf
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The official BYD Battery-Box Germany download hub publishes the HVS 10.2 German datasheet, the HVS/HVM Datenblatt and the Germany limited warranty V1.2. EFT-Systems GmbH is the named German service partner. The HVM 8.3 sibling record is not merged here. Manufacturer listing is established; distributor inventory is not inferred.
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- VDE 2510-50 and IEC 62619 on the German HVS sheets are battery-safety evidence, not standalone German grid approval. Grid conformity belongs to the site inverter and installation. No cross-product suitability is inferred.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- available
DE Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Ordinary onsite labour is not expressly promised.; registration: Installation within one month of invoice, notice within 30 days, invoice and serial evidence, a BYD-listed compatible inverter, and requested internet performance-data access apply. EFT-Systems GmbH is the named German service partner.; remedy: BYD may repair, replace with an equivalent new or used part, or pay a calculated partial refund, at BYD's choice.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not expressly promised.; transferability: The Germany HVS/HVM limited warranty V1.2 names the first purchaser who put the product into service and does not establish a later-owner transfer right.; transport: Ordinary freight is not expressly promised.
Source revision
- Before
- BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; limited warranty V1.2 names HVS 5.1, HVS 7.7, HVS 10.2 and HVS 12.8 for products installed in Germany on or after 1 December 2021. Cover is ten years and 80 percent retained usable energy or 24.96 MWh throughput for HVS 10.2, whichever occurs first. The Australian overlay on this record remains 70 percent and is not transferred. The HVM tower, HVL US tower, LVS and LVL families are not transferred.
5 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
Note
- Before
- Capacity range describes supported configurations; the score remains anchored to the reviewed reference configuration, not the largest stack.
- After
- Capacity range describes the reviewed Australian configurations; the score remains anchored to the HVS 10.2 reference configuration, not the largest stack.
Canonical identity
- Before
- BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.24 kWh
- After
- BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack 10.24 kWh
Ranges
- Current text
- checked: 2026-06-16; market: AU; max: 12.8; min: 5.12; range label: 5.12–12.8 kWh; source revision: Live source; revision not stated; source url: https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium_Datasheet_HV-AU%20V1.2%20EN-5eec6422498ad.pdf; unit: kWh
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Cell balancing architecture
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- AIT independently measured 96.9% mean DC battery efficiency for the exact BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2. HTW defines the basis as DC energy discharged divided by DC energy charged, averaged over full-cycle tests at 100%, 50% and 25% nominal power. This is battery efficiency, not the Fronius system SPI.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium_Datasheet_HV-AU%20V1.2%20EN-5eec6422498ad.pdf
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://solar.htw-berlin.de/publikationen/batteriespeicher-test-2024/; https://solar.htw-berlin.de/wp-content/uploads/HTW-Stromspeicher-Inspektion-2024.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
The reading keeps the 76 in the Performance & Value seat, against a class average of 63.3. A high mark here does not transfer to Premium Integrated or to an overall battery ladder. The comparison stays inside the class seat. For the Performance & Value homepage tile, this is the mark that sits. Power and efficiency is the strongest dimension on this sheet (94). What the card already shows is LFP chemistry, 96.9 per cent round-trip efficiency and 10.2 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar