back to batteries

Performance & Value

Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack

5.12–12.8 kWh · LFP · DC-coupled

BYDReleased 2021

76/ 100

Superior

Global

LFP100% UsableHigh Power 10kW+VPP-Ready

The verdict. In our Performance & Value class, BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack leads on power & efficiency. Home-battery reliability is rarely independently verified, so judge on chemistry, safety certification and the backing company.

1stof 74 in Performance & ValueTop 10%class average 63.0
Compare this batteryAsk Watt →

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability90
Power & Efficiency94
Longevity (verified)60
Safety & Chemistry73
Guarantee & Backbone77
Energy Ecosystem74

Market position

1stof 74 in Performance & ValueTop 10%
487676

Our reading

Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack sits at the top of the Performance & Value class with 76 points against a class average of 63.0. Its strongest scoring dimension is power & efficiency (94), running 28.7 points above the class average on this dimension. Key specifications: LFP, 96.9% round-trip efficiency, 10.2 kW continuous output.

The data

Chemistry
LFP
Power
10.2kW
Round-trip
96.9%
Cycle life
Not recorded
Technology architecture

DC-coupled battery

Architecture guide

Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.

Product role
The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
Published range
5.12–12.8 kWh
Phase
Not recorded
Backup boundary
Installation-specific
Architecture describes the product boundary. It is not a system design or an equipment-pairing decision.
Decision evidence

What the documents establish

Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.

Usable capacity

100% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 10.24 kWh in the scored configuration.

10.24 kWh usableScored configuration: Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2. Published range 5.12–12.8 kWh.

No reserve is withheld at the stated depth of discharge.

At a sourced 100% depth of discharge the usable and nominal figures are the same number, so no separate nominal capacity is stated.

Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

10.2 kWhfull7.2at yr 10
60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.

Blackout protection

79 / 100#8 of 90 batteries
fleet low 40median 64fleet high 100
No backupGrid-forming

Whole-home (via hybrid inverter)

Continuous power
10.2kW
Surge / motor-start
Surge rated
Off-grid solar recharge
Yes, documented
AC terminal protection
Not specified

The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. Capacity range describes the reviewed Australian configurations; the score remains anchored to the HVS 10.2 reference configuration, not the largest stack. Scored model: Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2 · checked 2026-06-16. Evidence.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-31

Strong evidence coverage

29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.

Change ledger

Product record history

8 changes to this record · 61 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    DE Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The German HVS datasheet V1.0 and the HVS/HVM Datenblatt V1.9 name Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2 and print VDE 2510-50, IEC 62619, CE and UN 38.3.
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    DE Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BCU2.0_250918_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Operating_Manual_V1.2_GER-68cbb27ba9522.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/downloads; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/240418_BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Datenblatt_V1.9_DE-6625bf22074dd.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BBOX_HVS_Datasheet_DE_V1.0_240703_L-668f6d40b4086.pdf; https://www.bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD_Battery-Box_Premium_HVS&HVM_Limited_Warranty-Germany-DE_V1.2-64265a79bb25d.pdf
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    DE Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The official BYD Battery-Box Germany download hub publishes the HVS 10.2 German datasheet, the HVS/HVM Datenblatt and the Germany limited warranty V1.2. EFT-Systems GmbH is the named German service partner. The HVM 8.3 sibling record is not merged here. Manufacturer listing is established; distributor inventory is not inferred.
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    DE Grid and installation context

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    VDE 2510-50 and IEC 62619 on the German HVS sheets are battery-safety evidence, not standalone German grid approval. Grid conformity belongs to the site inverter and installation. No cross-product suitability is inferred.
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    DE Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    available
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    DE Warranty conditions

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    labour: Ordinary onsite labour is not expressly promised.; registration: Installation within one month of invoice, notice within 30 days, invoice and serial evidence, a BYD-listed compatible inverter, and requested internet performance-data access apply. EFT-Systems GmbH is the named German service partner.; remedy: BYD may repair, replace with an equivalent new or used part, or pay a calculated partial refund, at BYD's choice.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not expressly promised.; transferability: The Germany HVS/HVM limited warranty V1.2 names the first purchaser who put the product into service and does not establish a later-owner transfer right.; transport: Ordinary freight is not expressly promised.
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
  7. Record updated

    Source revision

    Before
    BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07
    After
    BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS BCU V2.0 datasheet dated 2025-03-28, operating manual V1.0 and Australian warranty V1.0 reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
    Primary datasheet
  8. Evidence added

    DE Warranty scope

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Germany; limited warranty V1.2 names HVS 5.1, HVS 7.7, HVS 10.2 and HVS 12.8 for products installed in Germany on or after 1 December 2021. Cover is ten years and 80 percent retained usable energy or 24.96 MWh throughput for HVS 10.2, whichever occurs first. The Australian overlay on this record remains 70 percent and is not transferred. The HVM tower, HVL US tower, LVS and LVL families are not transferred.
    AU market evidenceDE market evidence+3 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    4E246Ed15E26

    Current text
    accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: HVS 10.2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: byd-byd-battery-box-premium-hvs-10-2; source key: data/batteries/byd_battery_box.json; source manufacturer name: Shenzhen BYD Electronics Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2023-10-19; candidate model: HVS 10.2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2026-10-19; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed

    The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.

    Australian approved-product source identity
5 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    Market

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    AU
    Cell balancing architecture
  2. Record updated

    Note

    Before
    Capacity range describes supported configurations; the score remains anchored to the reviewed reference configuration, not the largest stack.
    After
    Capacity range describes the reviewed Australian configurations; the score remains anchored to the HVS 10.2 reference configuration, not the largest stack.
    Cell balancing architecture
  3. Record updated

    Canonical identity

    Before
    BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.24 kWh
    After
    BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack 10.24 kWh
    Primary datasheet
  4. Record updated

    Ranges

    Current text
    checked: 2026-06-16; market: AU; max: 12.8; min: 5.12; range label: 5.12–12.8 kWh; source revision: Live source; revision not stated; source url: https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium_Datasheet_HV-AU%20V1.2%20EN-5eec6422498ad.pdf; unit: kWh

    The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.

    Cell balancing architecture
  5. Record updated

    Published name

    Before
    Battery-Box Premium HVS
    After
    Battery-Box Premium HVS Stack
    Primary datasheet
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    AIT independently measured 96.9% mean DC battery efficiency for the exact BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS 10.2. HTW defines the basis as DC energy discharged divided by DC energy charged, averaged over full-cycle tests at 100%, 50% and 25% nominal power. This is battery efficiency, not the Fronius system SPI.
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    supported
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://bydbatterybox.com/uploads/downloads/BYD%20Battery-Box%20Premium_Datasheet_HV-AU%20V1.2%20EN-5eec6422498ad.pdf
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://solar.htw-berlin.de/publikationen/batteriespeicher-test-2024/; https://solar.htw-berlin.de/wp-content/uploads/HTW-Stromspeicher-Inspektion-2024.pdf
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record
  8. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
    Round-trip efficiency (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+3 in JSON record

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. DE market evidence checked
  3. Australian certification source identity verified
  4. AU market evidence checked
  5. Plain-language warranty summary checked
  6. US market evidence checked
  7. Series benchmark evidence checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Further reading from Findings

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.