The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 13.92–97.44 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 13.92 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.13.92 kWh usableScored configuration: CQ7-L2. Published range 13.92–97.44 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score is anchored to the smallest complete two-module CQ7-L2 stack. A single 6.96 kWh module is not a complete published system.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
52 / 100#66 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score is anchored to the smallest complete two-module CQ7-L2 stack. A single 6.96 kWh module is not a complete published system. Scored model: CQ7-L2 · checked 2026-08-02. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
28 of 28 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
Record correction. CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact standard Australian CQ7-L2 DC power boundary reconciled 5 October 2026 from accepted current manual V1.0.0, printed April 2026, PDF pages 24-26. One CQ7-M plus one CQ7-S, 115.2 V nominal, 13.92 kWh benchmark retained. Maximum continuous charge/discharge 80 A, standard CC-CV charging 50 A, and 120 A peak discharge for 60 seconds are distinct rows. Nominal DC reference powers are 9.216 kW and 13.824 kW; neither is constant power over SOC nor AC household output. Former scored 5.76 kW and 65 A peak prose are corrected without transferring CQ7-50, heated or overseas variants. AC output remains outside this DC battery record. No market, warranty or whole-product verification refresh. CQ7 firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: accepted reachable Australian FoxESS policy V1.0 (July 2026) explicitly covers battery ESS and device firmware; disclosure band 40 to 80. Exact CQ7 support duration and firmware protections remain unestablished. Prior failed global locator retained separately; no whole-product verification refresh.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 7 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Verified reliabilityManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 1 product changed in this update
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260305/ENH3PRODatasheetAUV1.220260302.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260305/ENH3PRODatasheetAUV1.220260302.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260601/HybridINVconnecttoEVSEDirect.pdf
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/AUBATTERYWARRANTYV2.7A.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/download/datasheets-9; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/AUBATTERYWARRANTYV2.7A.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/download/datasheets-9; https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- No security or firmware documentation found
- After
- Security page or vulnerability disclosure published
AU Support Note
- Current text
- CQ7 is a DC stack with local CAN communication. Cloud registration is a commissioning warranty precondition, but the exact documents do not state that persistent cloud access is required for operation. AC phase, transfer, PV recovery and motor starting remain external-inverter properties. FoxESS publishes a vulnerability-reporting and handling policy covering battery systems and firmware. CQ7-specific security-update duration, firmware signing and secure boot remain unestablished; this does not change the cloud-operation boundary.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetWarranty throughput+4 in JSON recordSource revision
- Current text
- CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact standard Australian CQ7-L2 DC power boundary reconciled 5 October 2026 from accepted current manual V1.0.0, printed April 2026, PDF pages 24-26. One CQ7-M plus one CQ7-S, 115.2 V nominal, 13.92 kWh benchmark retained. Maximum continuous charge/discharge 80 A, standard CC-CV charging 50 A, and 120 A peak discharge for 60 seconds are distinct rows. Nominal DC reference powers are 9.216 kW and 13.824 kW; neither is constant power over SOC nor AC household output. Former scored 5.76 kW and 65 A peak prose are corrected without transferring CQ7-50, heated or overseas variants. AC output remains outside this DC battery record. No market, warranty or whole-product verification refresh. CQ7 firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: accepted reachable Australian FoxESS policy V1.0 (July 2026) explicitly covers battery ESS and device firmware; disclosure band 40 to 80. Exact CQ7 support duration and firmware protections remain unestablished. Prior failed global locator retained separately; no whole-product verification refresh.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetFirmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
6 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Continuous power output (kW): Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- No longer recorded
Continuous power output (kW)
- Before
- 5.76
- After
- No longer recorded
Source revision
- Current text
- CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact standard Australian CQ7-L2 DC power boundary reconciled 5 October 2026 from accepted current manual V1.0.0, printed April 2026, PDF pages 24-26. One CQ7-M plus one CQ7-S, 115.2 V nominal, 13.92 kWh benchmark retained. Maximum continuous charge/discharge 80 A, standard CC-CV charging 50 A, and 120 A peak discharge for 60 seconds are distinct rows. Nominal DC reference powers are 9.216 kW and 13.824 kW; neither is constant power over SOC nor AC household output. Former scored 5.76 kW and 65 A peak prose are corrected without transferring CQ7-50, heated or overseas variants. AC output remains outside this DC battery record. No market, warranty or whole-product verification refresh.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf
- After
- No longer recorded
9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/; https://us.fox-ess.com/downloads/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/US-CQ7-Datasheet-V1.0-20260121.pdf
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://de.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260602/DECQ7DatasheetV1.120260602.pdf; https://de.fox-ess.com/produkte/batterie
Source revision
- Before
- CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07
- After
- CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- FoxESS USA publishes a CQ7-US datasheet naming CQ7-US-M / CQ7-US-S and CQ7-US-L2 at 14.04 kWh. The scored identity is CQ7-L2 at 13.92 kWh usable. CQ7-US is not transferred onto CQ7-L2. H3 Plus plus CQ7 warranty copy is not this record.
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German CQ7 datasheet names CQ7-80 / CQ7-S-80 / CQ7-M-80 and a -L2 stack at 14.04 kWh. The scored Australian identity is CQ7-L2 at 13.92 kWh usable. CQ7-80 is not transferred onto CQ7-L2. CQ6, CQ16, EQ4800 and EQ5500 are different families.
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification: CQ7-L2
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: CQ7-L2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: foxess-co-ltd-foxess-ecs-cq7-battery-stack; source key: data/batteries/foxess_cq7.json; source manufacturer name: FOXESS CO LTD; validation: approved at: 2026-05-18; candidate model: CQ7-L2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencesupersededAustralian approved-product source identity
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact Australian datasheet publishes battery-pack round-trip efficiency above 95% at 25 C and 0.3C; 95% is retained conservatively.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact CQ7 manual publishes at least 6,000 cycles at 25 C to 70% state of health for CQ7-50-L2 through L14.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
CQ7 scores 71, placing 6 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.3. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (92), running 8.3 points above the class average on this dimension. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar