back to batteries

Performance & Value

CQ7

13.92–97.44 kWh · LFP · DC-coupled

FoxESSReleased 2024

73/ 100

Very good

Global

LFP100% Usable

The verdict. In our Performance & Value class, FoxESS CQ7 leads on capacity & usability. Home-battery reliability is rarely independently verified, so judge on chemistry, safety certification and the backing company.

4thof 76 in Performance & ValueTop 10%class average 63.0
Compare this batteryAsk Watt →

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability92
Power & Efficiency81
Longevity (verified)67
Safety & Chemistry78
Guarantee & Backbone66
Energy Ecosystem57

Market position

4thof 76 in Performance & ValueTop 10%
487376

Our reading

CQ7 scores 73, placing 4 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.0. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (92), running 8.6 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (57) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 5.76 kW continuous output.

The data

Chemistry
LFP
Power
5.76kW
Round-trip
95%
Cycle life
6,000cycles
Technology architecture

DC-coupled battery

Architecture guide

Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.

Product role
The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
Published range
13.92–97.44 kWh
Phase
Not recorded
Backup boundary
Installation-specific
Architecture describes the product boundary. It is not a system design or an equipment-pairing decision.
Decision evidence

What the documents establish

Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.

Usable capacity

100% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 13.92 kWh in the scored configuration.

13.92 kWh usableScored configuration: CQ7-L2. Published range 13.92–97.44 kWh.

No reserve is withheld at the stated depth of discharge.

At a sourced 100% depth of discharge the usable and nominal figures are the same number, so no separate nominal capacity is stated.

Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

13.9 kWhfull9.7at yr 10
60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.

Blackout protection

68 / 100#26 of 90 batteries
fleet low 40median 64fleet high 100
No backupGrid-forming

Whole-home (via hybrid inverter)

Continuous power
5.76kW
AC terminal protection
Not specified

The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed CQ7 configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. The score is anchored to the smallest complete two-module CQ7-L2 stack. A single 6.96 kWh module is not a complete published system. Scored model: CQ7-L2 · checked 2026-08-02. Evidence.

Australia buyer evidence

Australian warranty decision

1 product record

Read the Australian warranty as a claim pathway: the headline term is separate from remedy, labour, freight, site work, transfer and registration conditions.

  1. FoxESS CQ7 13.92 kWh · Home battery

    Australian evidence checked 2026-08-10.

    Covered5 sources

    Australian warranty scope: Australia and New Zealand; FoxESS Australia warranty V2.7 names CQ7-L2 through L14. The period clause and exact throughput tables say ten years, while one performance paragraph says twelve. Ten years is retained conservatively until FoxESS publishes corrected governing terms.

    Structured claim terms: Recorded.

    Term
    10 yr productStated in the structured comparison
    Product remedy
    ConditionalRepair, replacement, refund or compensation at FoxESS discretion.
    Labour
    Not coveredA service rebate may apply after approval and timely return; unconditional labour and reinstallation cover is not promised.
    Freight
    Not coveredFoxESS dispatches approved replacements, while the installer must return the failed product within 30 days; unconditional onward freight cover is not promised.
    Removal and reinstallation
    ConditionalThe service rebate is conditional and does not establish uncapped removal and reinstallation cover.
    Transferability
    CoveredNo express subsequent-owner transfer right is stated; coverage is framed around the purchaser or end user at the installed site.
    Registration and conditions
    Not statedThe product must be registered and connected to the FoxESS website when commissioned.
    Exact AU source coverage
    CoveredSource 1Source 2Source 3Source 4Source 5These are the URLs stored on the AU market evidence overlay. A linked source does not make a field marked Not stated covered.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30

Strong evidence coverage

29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.

Change ledger

Product record history

9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    DE Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    unavailable
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    US Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/; https://us.fox-ess.com/downloads/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/US-CQ7-Datasheet-V1.0-20260121.pdf
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    DE Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf; https://de.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260602/DECQ7DatasheetV1.120260602.pdf; https://de.fox-ess.com/produkte/batterie
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  4. Record updated

    Source revision

    Before
    CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07
    After
    CQ7 current AU regulator identity, expired CQ7-50 boundary and local warranty conflict re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
    Primary datasheet
  5. Evidence added

    US Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    FoxESS USA publishes a CQ7-US datasheet naming CQ7-US-M / CQ7-US-S and CQ7-US-L2 at 14.04 kWh. The scored identity is CQ7-L2 at 13.92 kWh usable. CQ7-US is not transferred onto CQ7-L2. H3 Plus plus CQ7 warranty copy is not this record.
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    DE Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    US Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    unavailable
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  8. Evidence added

    US Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  9. Evidence added

    DE Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The German CQ7 datasheet names CQ7-80 / CQ7-S-80 / CQ7-M-80 and a -L2 stack at 14.04 kWh. The scored Australian identity is CQ7-L2 at 13.92 kWh usable. CQ7-80 is not transferred onto CQ7-L2. CQ6, CQ16, EQ4800 and EQ5500 are different families.
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    6Ebc25Ea7C28

    Current text
    accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: CQ7-L2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: foxess-co-ltd-foxess-ecs-cq7-battery-stack; source key: data/batteries/foxess_cq7.json; source manufacturer name: FOXESS CO LTD; validation: approved at: 2026-05-18; candidate model: CQ7-L2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed

    The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.

    AU market evidenceAustralian approved-product source identity
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    supported
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  2. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    supported
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  3. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The exact Australian datasheet publishes battery-pack round-trip efficiency above 95% at 25 C and 0.3C; 95% is retained conservatively.
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  4. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7UserManualV1.0.020260508A.pdf
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  5. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  6. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  7. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260514/ENCQ7DatasheetAUV1.220260514.pdf
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)
  8. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The exact CQ7 manual publishes at least 6,000 cycles at 25 C to 70% state of health for CQ7-50-L2 through L14.
    Primary datasheetContinuous power output (kW)

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. DE market evidence checked
  3. US market evidence checked
  4. AU market evidence checked
  5. Plain-language warranty summary checked
  6. Australian certification source identity verified
  7. Series benchmark evidence checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Further reading from Findings

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.