The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
All-in-one energy system
Presents storage and power conversion as one integrated product or product platform.
- Product role
- Battery modules, inverter functions and controls are packaged as one purchasing architecture.
- Published range
- 7.16–25.04 kWh
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 90%. Published usable energy: 7.16 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.7.16 kWh usableScored configuration: US1H-3.8-EQL2 with EQ4000-AL2. Published range 7.16–25.04 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses the smallest exact US PowerQ configuration. The 7.16-25.04 kWh displayed range is usable energy rounded to two decimals from the published 7.95-27.82 kWh nominal range at 90% DoD.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 12.5
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the smallest exact US PowerQ configuration. The 7.16-25.04 kWh displayed range is usable energy rounded to two decimals from the published 7.95-27.82 kWh nominal range at 90% DoD. Scored model: US1H-3.8-EQL2 with EQ4000-AL2 · checked 2026-07-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only1 row in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 5 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim1 row in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings1 design fact beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. FoxESS official company timeline rechecked 2026-08-23; PowerQ remains a US exact-product record and AU unavailable. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. PowerQ firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: public corporate FoxESS policy V1.0 (July 2026) expressly covers inverter/battery ESS and firmware without stated market restriction; existing US PowerQ disclosure band 55 to 80. Exact support duration, firmware protections and offline operation remain unestablished; no AU availability or warranty transfer.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary12.5-year product warranty →
Show 8 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Grid-forming & backup tierManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal load managementNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
- After
- https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=EnergyStorage; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Source revision
- Current text
- FoxESS official company timeline rechecked 2026-08-23; PowerQ remains a US exact-product record and AU unavailable. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. PowerQ firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: public corporate FoxESS policy V1.0 (July 2026) expressly covers inverter/battery ESS and firmware without stated market restriction; existing US PowerQ disclosure band 55 to 80. Exact support duration, firmware protections and offline operation remain unestablished; no AU availability or warranty transfer.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetFirmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
- After
- Security page or vulnerability disclosure published
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/us-faq/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-without-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0b.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
US Support Note
- Before
- FoxESS publishes exact US PowerQ system, EQ4000 battery and US-series warranty documents.
- After
- FoxESS publishes exact US PowerQ system, EQ4000 battery and US-series warranty documents. FoxESS publishes a corporate vulnerability-reporting and handling policy covering inverter/battery systems and firmware. Exact PowerQ security support duration, firmware signing, secure boot and offline-operation guarantees remain unestablished.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
19 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Usable energy / DoD (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf
Ingress protection (outdoor): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/contact-us; https://au.fox-ess.com/download/datasheets-9; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://us.fox-ess.com/foxhub/; https://us.fox-ess.com/us-faq/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-without-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0b.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/contact-us; https://au.fox-ess.com/download/datasheets-9; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/foxhub/; https://us.fox-ess.com/us-faq/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-without-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0b.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
Continuous power output (kW): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Primary Source
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Energy density / footprint: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Modularity & scalability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/about-us-2/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/about-us-2/
Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
Operating temperature range: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Thermal & fire mitigation: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Backup surge / motor-start capability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
Cell chemistry: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260722/USAIOEQ4000DatasheetV2.220251210.pdf
AC terminal & connection protection: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260929/USPowerQdatasheetV1.120241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/User-Manual-PowerQ-with-FOX-Hub-2.0-V1.0a.pdf
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- FoxESS official company timeline rechecked 2026-08-23; PowerQ remains a US exact-product record and AU unavailable.
- After
- FoxESS official company timeline rechecked 2026-08-23; PowerQ remains a US exact-product record and AU unavailable. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://de.fox-ess.com/; https://www.fox-ess.com/de/
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- fox-ess.com/de returns 404. de.fox-ess.com names EQ4800 and does not name PowerQ, US1H-3.8-EQL2 or EQ4000-AL2. EQ4800 is a different identity and is not transferred.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/Download/EN-PowerQ-EQ4000-HUB-warranty-20250707.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The current EQ4000 AIO datasheet publishes greater than 95% round-trip efficiency; 95% is used conservatively.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact PowerQ datasheet, EQ4000 datasheet and governing warranty publish throughput and retention limits but no cycle-count claim to the benchmark's 70% threshold.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/US-AIO-EQ4000-Datasheet-V2.2-20251210.pdf
2 changes to this record · 34 products changed in this update
Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources
- Before
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/about-us-2/; https://us.fox-ess.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/US-PowerQ-datasheet-Non-US-Mainland-V1.1-20241112.pdf
Source revision
- Before
- PowerQ US identity and separate AU EQ4800/CQ7 lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07
- After
- FoxESS official company timeline rechecked 2026-08-23; PowerQ remains a US exact-product record and AU unavailable.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
PowerQ EQ4000 scores 66, placing 23 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (84), above the class average of 84. Energy Ecosystem (45) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 3.8 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar