The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
AC-coupled battery
Includes battery-side power conversion and connects on the household AC side.
- Product role
- The battery product includes its own conversion stage, while site isolation and backup controls may remain separate.
- Published range
- 15 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 15 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.15 kWh usableScored configuration: aPower 2 (APR-10K15V2-US).
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 12
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
100 / 100#1 of 90 batteriesGrid-forming (black-start)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Scored model: aPower 2 (APR-10K15V2-US) · checked 2026-08-29. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
25 of 25 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceManufacturer claim1 row in the rings4 warranty terms and 1 design fact beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 5 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings4 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. aPower 2 data sheet, May 2026 governing warranty, July 2026 regional schedule, system manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. Official Australian due-soon freshness recheck 2026-08-29. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. 70% end-point retention joined from the May 2026 end-user warranty on 2026-09-20.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary12-year product warranty →
Show 10 more
- Warranty throughputWarranty ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Backup switching speedManufacturer ↗
- Cell balancing architectureManufacturer ↗
- EV charging integrationManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Smart home & IoT depthNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
2 earlier entries recorded source rechecks rather than changes to the published figures, and are not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
1 change to this record · 2 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/ul-9540-a-report-summary-and-installation-guidance-for-apower-2
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/ca_apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/ul-9540; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/ul-9540-a-report-summary-and-installation-guidance-for-apower-2
3 changes to this record · 3 products changed in this update
4 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Current text
- The aPower 2 data sheet (16 December 2025, page 2) states that APR-10K15V2-US is available in the United States and Canada. FranklinWH's regional schedule (US V1.0, 21 July 2026, page 2) lists the SKU under region NA, and the May 2026 end-user warranty applies to systems installed in the United States, United States Territories and Canada (page 2). FranklinWH's website lists United States, Canadian, Australian and Japanese regional sites, and franklinwh.com/de returned a 404 page on 7 October 2026. No German catalogue, data sheet or warranty naming APR-10K15V2-US was found, and the US SKU is not transferred. A differently named European product is not assessed. This is a market outcome only and is not a statement about product performance.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetDE market evidence+3 in JSON recordDE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The May 2026 FranklinWH System Limited Warranty for End Users applies to FranklinWH energy storage systems installed in the United States, United States Territories and Canada (page 2), and states that warranty terms may vary by region. No German or EU warranty naming APR-10K15V2-US was found in the FranklinWH sources checked on 7 October 2026.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/de/
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/; https://www.franklinwh.com/de/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/franklin-home-power-fhp-limited-warranty-for-end-users-en; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/franklinwh-backwards-compatibility-statement
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- franklinwh.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names APR-10K15V2-US. The US aPower 2 SKU is not transferred.
- After
- franklinwh.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names APR-10K15V2-US. The US aPower 2 SKU is not transferred. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
1 change to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Current text
- aPower 2 data sheet, May 2026 governing warranty, July 2026 regional schedule, system manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. Official Australian due-soon freshness recheck 2026-08-29. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. 70% end-point retention joined from the May 2026 end-user warranty on 2026-09-20.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/de/
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- franklinwh.com/de returns 404. No German catalogue names APR-10K15V2-US. The US aPower 2 SKU is not transferred.
Source revision
- Current text
- aPower 2 data sheet, May 2026 governing warranty, July 2026 regional schedule, system manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. Official Australian due-soon freshness recheck 2026-08-29. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
3 changes to this record · 9 products changed in this update
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/apower-2-storage-and-transportation-guide
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/apower-2-storage-and-transportation-guide
Source revision
- Before
- aPower 2 data sheet, May 2026 governing warranty, July 2026 regional schedule, system manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- aPower 2 data sheet, May 2026 governing warranty, July 2026 regional schedule, system manual and buyer-consequence boundaries reviewed 2026-08-07. Official Australian due-soon freshness recheck 2026-08-29.
AU Support Note
- Before
- The benchmarked aPower 2 SKU is APR-10K15V2-US. FranklinWH's Australia product page identifies a different model, aPower X (APR-05K15V1-AU), as the only aPower currently available in Australia.
- After
- The benchmarked aPower 2 SKU remains APR-10K15V2-US. FranklinWH's Australia product page still identifies aPower X (APR-05K15V1) as the current Australian aPower. The 29 August 2026 CER battery export has no aPower 2 or APR-10K15V2-US row; aPower X-01-AU and aPower X-02-AU are different identities and are not transferred.
17 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/franklin-home-power-fhp-limited-warranty-for-end-users-en
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact datasheet and governing warranty publish a throughput endpoint, not an independently measured cycles-to-70% result.
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet
- After
- No longer recorded
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact US datasheet publishes 90% grid-to-battery-to-load round-trip efficiency for the integrated system.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/apower-2-datasheet
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: The exact US datasheet publishes 90% grid-to-battery-to-load round-trip efficiency for the integrated system. No battery/DC round-trip value is substituted into the score.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- DE market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
aPower 2 scores 71, placing 4 of 13 in the Premium Integrated class against a class average of 65.1. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), running 12.8 points above the class average on this dimension. Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 60. Key specifications: LFP, 10 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar