The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 17.7 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 17.7 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.17.7 kWh usableScored configuration: EU0407N00B_5S.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses the exact reviewed reference configuration; larger stacks do not receive a capacity-size advantage.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the exact reviewed reference configuration; larger stacks do not receive a capacity-size advantage. Scored model: EU0407N00B_5S · checked 2026-08-08. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
15 of 15 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim1 row in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only1 row in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitReviewed absence only1 row in the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. GM Energy PowerBank specification version 1.2 and limited warranty dated August 2024, exact e1.17 model boundary reviewed 8 August 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
3 changes to this record · 13 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/de
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/; https://gmenergy.gm.com/de; https://gmenergy.gm.com/energy-solutions/gm-energy-powerbank; https://gmenergy.gm.com/sitemap.xml; https://gmenergy.gm.com/support/faqs
DE Support Note
- Before
- gmenergy.gm.com/de returns HTTP 403. No German catalogue naming EU0407N00B_5S was retrieved. The EU prefix is an internal SKU token, not a European catalogue. Held is not unavailable.
- After
- On 19 October 2026 gmenergy.gm.com/de returned a 404 page, the GM Energy home page carried no country or language selector, and the site's 44-URL sitemap listed no German, European or other regional pages. The GM Energy FAQ states that the company ships its products to all 50 US states and not to US territories. No official German listing of the PowerBank e1.17 (EU0407N00B_5S) exists, so the German overlay is unavailable under the no-market-presence rule.
1 change to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=BatteryList
4 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/01-pdfs/gm-energy-powerbank-installation-and-operation.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/01-pdfs/gm-energy-powerbank-installation-manual.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/products/gm-energy-storage-bundle/01-pdfs/GM-Energy-PowerBank-Limited-Warranty-Aug2024.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/energy-solutions/gm-energy-powerbank.html
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/01-pdfs/gm-energy-powerbank-installation-manual.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/01-pdfs/gm-energy-powerbank-limited-warranty.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/products/gm-energy-storage-bundle/01-pdfs/GM-Energy-PowerBank-Limited-Warranty-Aug2024.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/energy-solutions/gm-energy-powerbank.html; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=BatteryList
US Certifications
- Before
- The exact version 1.2 specification lists cell IEC 62619, battery pack UL 1973 and UL 9540A, FCC EMC and UN 38.3 transport evidence.
- After
- The California Energy Commission Battery List, retrieved 9 October 2026 with the statement that data has not changed since 1 October 2026, lists model EU0407N00B_5S (enblock S17) from LG Energy Solution, Ltd. at 17.7 kWh nameplate and 7 kW maximum continuous discharge, with UL 1973 certification by TUV Rheinland (Ed. 3: 2022) and a CEC listing date of 11 July 2024. The listing is matched on the model number and does not name GM Energy or PowerBank.; The exact version 1.2 specification lists cell IEC 62619, battery pack UL 1973 and UL 9540A, FCC EMC and UN 38.3 transport evidence.
US Warranty scope
- Before
- The GM Energy published warranty applies in the United States to PowerBank e1.17 model EU0407N00B_5S. It promises ten years and 70% retention until the earlier of term end or 80.3 MWh throughput.
- After
- The GM Energy published warranty applies in the United States to PowerBank e1.17 model EU0407N00B_5S. It promises ten years and 70% retention until the earlier of term end or 80.3 MWh throughput. Sections 2.3 and 2.4 of the August 2024 warranty, repeated in the September 2025 revision, state that the warranty is void where the battery is installed where the grid is not connected or with a non-approved inverter.
5 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- gmenergy.gm.com/de returns HTTP 403. No German catalogue naming EU0407N00B_5S was retrieved. The EU prefix is an internal SKU token, not a European catalogue. Held is not unavailable.
Source revision
- Before
- GM Energy PowerBank specification version 1.2 and limited warranty dated August 2024, exact e1.17 model boundary reviewed 8 August 2026
- After
- GM Energy PowerBank specification version 1.2 and limited warranty dated August 2024, exact e1.17 model boundary reviewed 8 August 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official German catalogues recorded; existing Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/home/installation-support/03-pdfs/2025/february/gm-energy-powerbank-specifications-v1-21.pdf; https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/products/gm-energy-storage-bundle/01-pdfs/GM-Energy-PowerBank-Limited-Warranty-Aug2024.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The reviewed exact specification and warranty do not publish battery or AC round-trip efficiency.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://gmenergy.gm.com/content/dam/gmenergy/na/us/en/index/products/gm-energy-storage-bundle/01-pdfs/GM-Energy-PowerBank-Limited-Warranty-Aug2024.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The governing warranty publishes throughput and retention limits, not an independent cycle-life result.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- DE market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
PowerBank e1.17 scores 56, placing 69 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (82). Energy Ecosystem scores 39, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 48.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar