The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 8–12 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Whole-home capability recorded
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts only · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The 5S approval row is held outside the scored family because the reviewed current warranty does not name it. Scored model: HiOne-12S-G3-AU · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
14 of 14 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 3 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output2 checkable rows, all reviewed absences: not published, we looked1 held row, not scored
- EnduranceMaker-only: 1 design fact; no checkable rows1 held row, not scored
- Safety1 of 2 checkable rows beyond the maker's claim
- BackingMaker-only: 2 maker's commitments; no checkable rows
- Fit1 checkable row, not beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 6 design facts
- FootprintNot scored for inverters
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. Held rows have no value, and each says why: not yet confirmed for the exact product, published but not matched to a rubric band, set by paired equipment, or not applicable. They are not scored and are counted under each question, never drawn. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Rated AC power (kW)Manufacturer ↗
- Hybrid / battery capabilityManufacturer ↗
- Peak efficiency (%)Manufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
5 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Peak efficiency (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Held: not yet confirmed for the exact product
Weighted efficiency (CEC/Euro %)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not published
Thermal management
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
2 changes to this record · 153 products changed in this update
15 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
Grid & safety certification: Evidence status
- Before
- Reviewed absence
- After
- Sourced
AU Support Note
- After this change
- The CER approved-inverter export lists the 12S configuration only as HiOne-12S-48B-G3-AU, approved 13 August 2026 and expiring 31 December 2027. The current Australian warranty terms name the detailed 12S bins HiOne-12S-16B-G3-AU, HiOne-12S-24B-G3-AU and HiOne-12S-32B-G3-AU; their series definition also lists 40B and 48B. The 48B approval row is therefore an approval fact and not proof of identical warranty scope for the 48B system configuration.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+6 in JSON recordBackup / islanding: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/b7180cb9b3.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
AU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: Ordinary installer and commissioning labour is excluded unless separately authorized.; registration: Serial, installation and claim evidence are required.; remedy: Hoymiles may repair or replace accepted defective product.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: Transfer at the original installation site requires Hoymiles authorization by email.; transport: Once a claim is approved under the exchange process, Hoymiles ships the replacement to the specified customer or distributor location at its cost. For a faulty product that Hoymiles requires to be returned, Hoymiles covers the collection and shipment of that product back to Hoymiles, and the purchaser bears any applicable value added tax.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+6 in JSON recordWarranty assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202601/fa769a1e8a.pdf
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6f546fe39a.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202601/fa769a1e8a.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6f546fe39a.pdf; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/73551e9287.pdf; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/b7180cb9b3.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html
Hybrid / battery capability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Operating temperature range: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/73551e9287.pdf; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/b7180cb9b3.pdf
Monitoring & smart features: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/73551e9287.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Warranty period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202601/fa769a1e8a.pdf
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6f546fe39a.pdf
Shutdown / arc safety: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html
Grid & safety certification
- Before
- National grid code + regulator-listed (IEC 62109 not evidenced)
- After
- IEC 62109 + grid code, 1 market
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/73551e9287.pdf; https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202609/b7180cb9b3.pdf
9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Hoymiles Germany's products catalogue lists HIT-(5-20)L-G3 and HiOne-8-20T-G3 without an AU suffix. It does not list HiOne-12S-G3-AU. HiOne T G3 and HIT L G3 are not transferred onto this HiOne S G3 AU record.
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/us/; https://www.hoymiles.com/us/products.html
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetDE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hione-3-6-12-s-g3-au.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/de/products.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/de/products/hione-8-20-t-g3.html
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Hoymiles United States products.html does not list HiOne S G3 or HiOne-12S-G3-AU. The US home page does not name that AU SKU. HiOne T G3 and HIT L G3 are different identities.
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Inverter operating-envelope refresh 2026-08-31: remaining peak, weighted, oversizing or thermal gaps closed as scoped reviewed absences.
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: inverter; brand: Hoymiles; name: HiOne S G3; model: HiOne-8S-G3-AU, HiOne-10S-G3-AU and HiOne-12S-G3-AU; scored HiOne-12S-G3-AU; score: 61.9
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
HiOne S G3 scores 63, placing 58 of 63 in the Inverter class against a class average of 70.9. Its highest-scoring dimension is design & flexibility (93), running 11.6 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 40, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 51. Key specifications: 4 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar