back to plug-in ESS

Plug-in ESS

HiBattery 4020 AC

0.8 kW

HoymilesReleased 2026

77/ 100

Superior

Global

LFP chemistryFast switchingIEC 62619 certifiedCold-climate rated

The verdict. In our Plug-in ESS class, Hoymiles HiBattery 4020 AC leads on capacity & usability.

1stof 8 in Plug-in ESSTop 10%class average 64.1
Ask Watt →

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability98
Output Power66
Longevity (verified)78
Safety & Chemistry96
Guarantee & Backbone56
Connectivity & Ecosystem62

Market position

1stof 8 in Plug-in ESSTop 10%
497777

Our reading

HiBattery 4020 AC sits at the top of the Plug-in ESS class with 77 points against a class average of 64.1. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (98), running 5.7 points above the class average on this dimension. Guarantee & Backbone (56) is the dimension with the most room to move.

The data

Backup
2.5kW
Switching
<20ms
Cycle life
8000cycles
Warranty
10yr

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve.

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed HiBattery 4020 AC configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. Scored model: HiBattery 4020 AC · checked 2026-08-23. Evidence.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-23

Strong evidence coverage

23 of 23 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. HiBattery 4020 AC exact product page, Rev 1.1 datasheet and Europe warranty, rechecked 2026-08-23

Change ledger

Product record history

47 changes to this record · 9 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Grid-injection power (kW): Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  2. Record updated

    Cell chemistry: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  3. Record updated

    Name Rating

    Before
    Very Good
    After
    Superior
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  4. Record updated

    Warranty assurance: Evidence status

    Before
    sourced
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Warranty period (yrs)Primary datasheet
  5. Record updated

    Financial strength & warranty backing

    Before
    Financially strong (profitable / strong parent)
    After
    Stable / listed
    Primary datasheetFinancial strength & warranty backing
  6. Record updated

    Source

    Before
    checked: 2026-07-14; source revision: Live source; revision not stated; source url: https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    After
    checked: 2026-08-23; source revision: Exact HiBattery 4020 AC product page, Rev 1.1 datasheet and Europe warranty, rechecked 2026-08-23; source url: https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  7. Record updated

    Connectivity & Ecosystem pillar score

    Before
    51.4
    After
    62.2
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  8. Record updated

    Warranty period (yrs): Evidence sources

    Before
    https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6c46cf5491.pdf
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_HiBattery_4020_Series_Warranty_Terms_Conditions_EU.2026006.pdf?v=1782797359; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6c46cf5491.pdf
    Warranty period (yrs)Warranty period (yrs)+1 in JSON record
  9. Record updated

    AU Support Note

    Before
    Hoymiles launched the HiBattery 4020 AC in Europe and its exact-model warranty is restricted to designated European markets.
    After
    An Australian product page is public, but a page route alone does not establish Australian sale, approval or warranty coverage. Status remains unavailable pending exact local evidence.
    Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+4 in JSON record
  10. Record updated

    Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence status

    Before
    sourced
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Warranty period (yrs)Primary datasheet
  11. Record updated

    AU Evidence sources

    Before
    https://www.hoymiles.com/company-event/hoymiles-unveils-hibattery-4020-series-at-the-unbreakable-night-event-in-munich.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6c46cf5491.pdf
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_HiBattery_4020_Series_Warranty_Terms_Conditions_EU.2026006.pdf?v=1782797359; https://www.hoymiles.com/au/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+4 in JSON record
  12. Record updated

    Ingress protection (outdoor): Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  13. Record updated

    Warranty assurance: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_HiBattery_4020_Series_Warranty_Terms_Conditions_EU.2026006.pdf?v=1782797359; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Warranty period (yrs)Primary datasheet
  14. Record updated

    Cycle life (cycles to stated EOL): Evidence sources

    Before
    https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  15. Record updated

    Rating

    Before
    Very good
    After
    Superior
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  16. Evidence added

    Backup switching speed: Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  17. Record updated

    Self-heating capability: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  18. Evidence added

    Source revision

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    HiBattery 4020 AC exact product page, Rev 1.1 datasheet and Europe warranty, rechecked 2026-08-23
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  19. Record updated

    Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://www.hoymiles.com/about-us.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Primary datasheetFinancial strength & warranty backing
  20. Record updated

    Operating temperature range: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  21. Record updated

    Longevity (verified) pillar score

    Before
    68.2
    After
    77.6
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  22. Record updated

    Cell balancing architecture

    Before
    Pack-level only / not disclosed
    After
    Active cell-level balancing (energy recirculation)
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  23. Record updated

    Safety certification

    Before
    CE + VDE market approval (IEC 62619 not confirmed)
    After
    IEC 62619 (system-level) + EN 50549 / VDE-AR-N 4105
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  24. Record updated

    Global score

    Before
    70.7
    After
    77.4
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  25. Record updated

    VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  26. Record updated

    Safety & Chemistry pillar score

    Before
    84
    After
    96
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  27. Record updated

    Energy density / footprint: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  28. Record updated

    Safety certification: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  29. Record updated

    Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  30. Record updated

    Guarantee & Backbone pillar score

    Before
    63.5
    After
    55.5
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  31. Record updated

    Modularity & scalability: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  32. Record updated

    End-of-warranty retained capacity (%): Evidence sources

    Before
    https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6c46cf5491.pdf
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_HiBattery_4020_Series_Warranty_Terms_Conditions_EU.2026006.pdf?v=1782797359; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202607/6c46cf5491.pdf
    Warranty period (yrs)Warranty period (yrs)+1 in JSON record
  33. Record updated

    Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_HiBattery_4020_Series_Warranty_Terms_Conditions_EU.2026006.pdf?v=1782797359; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Warranty period (yrs)Primary datasheet
  34. Record updated

    Smart home & IoT depth

    Before
    No documented smart home integration
    After
    Cloud API + confirmed Home Assistant integration
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  35. Record updated

    Cell balancing architecture: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  36. Record updated

    Thermal & fire mitigation: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  37. Record updated

    Primary Source

    Before
    https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    After
    https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Primary datasheet+1 in JSON record
  38. Evidence added

    Backup switching speed: Evidence status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    sourced
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  39. Record updated

    Ranges

    Current text
    checked: 2026-08-23; market: global; max: 0.8; min: 0.8; range label: 0.8 kW; source revision: Exact HiBattery 4020 AC product page, Rev 1.1 datasheet and Europe warranty, rechecked 2026-08-23; source url: https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; unit: kW

    The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.

    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  40. Record updated

    AU Grid and installation context

    Before
    No Australian grid-tied variant or Australian warranty is published for HB-4020-AC; the current compliance set is European.
    After
    Hoymiles now publishes an Australian exact-product page, but no Australian grid certificate or approval record for HB-4020-AC was established in this review.
    Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+4 in JSON record
  41. Record updated

    Backup output power (kW): Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  42. Record updated

    AU Warranty scope

    Before
    The published HiBattery 4020 warranty is explicitly for the Europe region and Europe-series models.
    After
    The exact warranty remains a Europe-region document; no Australian HiBattery 4020 warranty was established.
    Warranty period (yrs)Usable energy / DoD (%)+4 in JSON record
  43. Record updated

    Usable energy / DoD (%): Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  44. Record updated

    Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0798/3818/3654/files/Hoymiles_Datasheet_HB-4020-AC_Global_EN_REV1.1.pdf?v=1782797367; https://shop.hoymiles.com/pages/hibattery-4020; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/products/hibattery-4020-ac.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202606/12cee34a1f.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  45. Record updated

    Financial strength & warranty backing: Evidence sources

    Before
    After
    https://www.hoymiles.com/about-us.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/hibattery-4020-ac.html
    Primary datasheetFinancial strength & warranty backing
  46. Record updated

    Output Power pillar score

    Before
    56.8
    After
    65.6
    Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)
  47. Evidence added

    Backup switching speed

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    <20ms (appliance-safe)
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Usable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. AU market evidence checked
  3. Series benchmark evidence checked
  4. Plain-language warranty summary checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.