back to batteries

Performance & Value

PowerAll BTS 5K

4.992–29.952 kWh · LFP · DC-coupled

SOFARReleased 2022

62/ 100

Good

Global

LFP5 kWh Modular

The verdict. In our Performance & Value class, SOFAR PowerAll BTS 5K leads on capacity & usability. Home-battery reliability is rarely independently verified, so judge on chemistry, safety certification and the backing company.

43thof 74 in Performance & ValueLower halfclass average 63.0
Compare this batteryAsk Watt →

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability88
Power & Efficiency50
Longevity (verified)56
Safety & Chemistry78
Guarantee & Backbone64
Energy Ecosystem38

Market position

43thof 74 in Performance & ValueLower half
486276

Our reading

PowerAll BTS 5K scores 62, placing 43 of 74 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.0. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), above the class average of 83. Energy Ecosystem scores 38, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 47. Key specifications: LFP, 2.5 kW continuous output.

The data

Chemistry
LFP
Power
2.5kW
Round-trip
Not recorded
Cycle life
Not recorded
Technology architecture

DC-coupled battery

Architecture guide

Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.

Product role
The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
Published range
4.992–29.952 kWh
Phase
Not recorded
Backup boundary
Installation-specific
Architecture describes the product boundary. It is not a system design or an equipment-pairing decision.
Decision evidence

What the documents establish

Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.

Usable capacity

97.5% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 4.992 kWh in the scored configuration.

4.992 kWh usableScored configuration: BTS 5K. Published range 4.992–29.952 kWh.

The remaining 2.5% stays in the pack as reserve; the home never draws it.

Nominal capacity is not stated here. The usable kWh and the depth-of-discharge percentage are sourced separately, at times from different documents and different module counts, so dividing one by the other would produce a nominal figure no manufacturer published.

Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

5.0 kWhfull3.5at yr 10
60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.

Blackout protection

47 / 100#74 of 90 batteries
fleet low 40median 64fleet high 100
No backupGrid-forming

Partial (essential loads)

Continuous power
2.5kW
AC terminal protection
Not specified

The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed PowerAll BTS 5K configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. The current datasheet range uses one to six 4.992 kWh usable modules. The score remains anchored to one module; the Australian warranty uses a lower 4.60 kWh contractual usable-energy baseline. Scored model: BTS 5K · checked 2026-07-27. Evidence.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30

Strong evidence coverage

29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. BTS 5K datasheet V2.1 dated 2026-01-06, ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet and Australian battery warranty Rev 1.1 re-audited 2026-08-06. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.

Change ledger

Product record history

9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    US Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    unavailable
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+1 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    DE Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    DE market evidencePrimary datasheet+1 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    US Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    SOFARSOLAR's contact region list names Germany/Austria/Switzerland, Australia, the UK and other territories. It does not name the United States. No official US host lists BTS 5K. us.sofarsolar.com does not resolve. HYD 5-20KTL-3PH is not this PowerAll identity.
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+1 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    US Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+1 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    DE Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://de.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html; https://de.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html
    DE market evidencePrimary datasheet+1 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    US Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sofarsolar.com/contact.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+1 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    DE Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    unavailable
    DE market evidencePrimary datasheet+1 in JSON record
  8. Record updated

    Source revision

    Before
    BTS 5K datasheet V2.1 dated 2026-01-06, ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet and Australian battery warranty Rev 1.1 re-audited 2026-08-06
    After
    BTS 5K datasheet V2.1 dated 2026-01-06, ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet and Australian battery warranty Rev 1.1 re-audited 2026-08-06. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
    Primary datasheet
  9. Evidence added

    DE Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The dedicated German BTS 5K product URL returns HTTP 500. German ESI 3-6K-S1 copy names PowerAll stack capacities, which is not an independent BTS 5K battery sale path. A Europe-outside-Germany battery warranty that names BTS 5K is not a German instrument. This overlay does not create a pairing recommendation.
    DE market evidencePrimary datasheet+1 in JSON record
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The exact current datasheet, product page and governing Australian warranty do not publish a cycle-life test to a stated retained-capacity endpoint.
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product battery/DC round-trip efficiency with a complete measurement boundary was established in the reviewed primary source set. This is a scoped reviewed absence, not proof that the value has never been measured.
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20241030/1730269417969037331.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260107/1767754640090029347.pdf
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record
  8. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Modularity & scalabilityUsable energy / DoD (%)+3 in JSON record

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. DE market evidence checked
  3. US market evidence checked
  4. AU market evidence checked
  5. Plain-language warranty summary checked
  6. Series benchmark evidence checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Further reading from Findings

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.