The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 16.08 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 16.08 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.16.08 kWh usableScored configuration: APL8.0-S2.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The S2 and D-S2 identities remain split because their usable energy and DoD differ.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The S2 and D-S2 identities remain split because their usable energy and DoD differ. Scored model: APL8.0-S2 · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
17 of 17 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 4 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output3 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Endurance2 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments
- Safety1 of 3 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- BackingMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment; no checkable rows
- Fit1 checkable row, not beyond the maker's claim
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Bounded6October2026 AU warranty integration: current S-PM21-011 V1.8 (revision history20September2026) replaces V1.7 citation for exact APL8.0-S2 current public terms. Contract precedence,residual extension text,claim deadlines,cost and measurement qualifications retained; no retroactive coverage or full market/approval freshness restamp. Criterion values unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Modularity & scalabilityManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Round-trip efficiency (%)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
2 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Verified reliability
- Before
- Not independently tested
- After
- Not third-party tested
7 changes to this record · 75 products changed in this update
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Security page or vulnerability disclosure published
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://solplanet.net/vi/security-vulnerability-notifications-and-patch-updates
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
3 changes to this record · 13 products changed in this update
US Status
- Before
- not_reviewed
- After
- unavailable
US Support Note
- After this change
- On 19 October 2026 the Solplanet country and language menu had no United States or North America entry, solplanet.net/us/ redirected to a news article, and the page and product sitemaps contained no US path. No official US market listing exists, so the US overlay for APL8.0-S2 is unavailable for lack of a US market presence. APL8.0D-S2 is a different identity and is not transferred.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
US market evidencesupersededUS market evidence+2 in JSON recordUS Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/us/; https://solplanet.net/us/products/apl8-0-s-series
- After
- https://solplanet.net/; https://solplanet.net/products-sitemap.xml; https://solplanet.net/us/
3 changes to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
Certification: APL8.0-S2
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- accepted at: 2026-10-16; category: battery; certification model: APL8.0-S2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: solplanet-apl8-0-s2-16-08-au; source key: data/batteries/solplanet_apl8_s2_au.json; source manufacturer name: AISWEI New Energy Technology (Yangzhong) Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2026-08-14; candidate model: APL8.0-S2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-10-11-62eb82c5c7fa; list retrieved at: 2026-10-12T01:22:18Z; listing status at validation: listed
3 changes to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Certification: APL8.0-S2
- Before
- accepted at: 2026-10-15; category: battery; certification model: APL8.0-S2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: solplanet-apl8-0-s2-16-08-au; source key: data/batteries/solplanet_apl8_s2_au.json; source manufacturer name: AISWEI New Energy Technology (Yangzhong) Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2026-08-14; candidate model: APL8.0-S2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-10-11-62eb82c5c7fa; list retrieved at: 2026-10-12T01:22:18Z; listing status at validation: listed
- After
- No longer recorded
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
3 changes to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Certification: APL8.0-S2
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- accepted at: 2026-10-15; category: battery; certification model: APL8.0-S2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: solplanet-apl8-0-s2-16-08-au; source key: data/batteries/solplanet_apl8_s2_au.json; source manufacturer name: AISWEI New Energy Technology (Yangzhong) Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2026-08-14; candidate model: APL8.0-S2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-10-11-62eb82c5c7fa; list retrieved at: 2026-10-12T01:22:18Z; listing status at validation: listed
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf
3 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
12 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
End-of-warranty retained capacity (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Before
- Australia; warranty V1.7 names APL8.0-S2 with a ten-year coverage route, 70% retention and 43.41 MWh throughput.
- After
- Australia; current S-PM21-011 V1.8 names APL8.0-S2: 16.08 kWh usable, 70% retention during the applicable warranty term, limited by 43.41 MWh minimum throughput. Default ten-year standard route unless the purchase contract differs. The provider is the defined AISWEI group led by AISWEI New Energy Technology (Yangzhong) Co., Ltd.; AISWEI Pty Ltd is the Australian importer. The 20 September 2026 revision-history date does not establish retroactive coverage for every earlier purchase.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
AU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: On-site service is a selectable remedy; personnel travel/accommodation excluded. No unconditional reimbursement of owner-selected installer labour.; registration: No separate base-registration requirement recovered. Purchase invoice/voucher,legible typeplate and skilled-person or AISWEI-certified third-party installation are stated. Report abnormal-operation fault within one week; written defect notice and supporting records within14days. Default starts at earlier first installation or six months after dispatch; purchase contract can differ.; remedy: AISWEI chooses remote, factory, on-site or equivalent-value replacement, including refurbished units. Repaired/replaced units retain remaining original coverage or one year where the remaining term is shorter. Reasonable diagnosis costs may be charged if no defect is found. Original contract and claim conditions apply.; removal reinstallation: No unconditional removal/reinstallation cost entitlement recovered. Warranty exclusion mentions operating temperature−10C to50C; it is distinct from datasheet hardware operating limits.; transferability: No express subsequent-owner transfer entitlement recovered in V1.8; do not infer one.; transport: Standard service parts, materials and specified shipment are covered, subject to written return procedure. Taxes, customs and duties are excluded. Residual extended-service clause excludes transport. Advance replacement may require return within three weeks or the specified written period.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty throughputSafety certification+2 in JSON recordTitle
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Warranty coverage depends on contract and claim conditions
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://solplanet.net/au/products/apl8-0-s-series; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://solplanet.net/au/products/apl8-0-s-series; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Datasheet-APL8.0-S2-AU-Solplanet.pdf; https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Bounded6October2026 AU warranty integration: current S-PM21-011 V1.8 (revision history20September2026) replaces V1.7 citation for exact APL8.0-S2 current public terms. Contract precedence,residual extension text,claim deadlines,cost and measurement qualifications retained; no retroactive coverage or full market/approval freshness restamp. Criterion values unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetSummary
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The current Australian warranty gives APL8.0-S2 ten years of standard coverage unless the purchase contract says otherwise. It starts at first installation or six months after AISWEI dispatch, whichever comes first. The performance promise is 70% usable-energy retention during the applicable warranty term or until 43.41 MWh throughput is reached, whichever comes first. The document requires an abnormal-operation fault report within one week and written defect notice with records within 14 days. For accepted claims, AISWEI chooses the remedy; standard service shipment is covered, while taxes, duties, travel and accommodation are excluded. Diagnosis costs may apply if no defect is found. It does not promise every installer, removal or reinstallation cost. Its operating exclusion mentions −10°C to 50°C, separately from the datasheet limits. Earlier contracts need their own coverage check; residual extension clauses do not establish a five-plus-five entitlement. Australian Consumer Law rights are preserved by the instrument.
Warranty period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
Warranty throughput: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
Warranty assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.7-1.pdf
- After
- https://solplanet.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/S-PM21-011-Battery-Factory-Quality-Warranty-Terms-for-Australia_V1.8.pdf
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- After this change
- solplanet.net/us/products/apl8-0-s-series returns 404. A /us/ hostname path that opens a news article is not a United States product catalogue. APL8.0D-S2 is a different identity and is not transferred. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
US market evidencesupersededUS market evidence
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- solplanet.net/us/products/apl8-0-s-series returns 404. A /us/ hostname path that opens a news article is not a United States product catalogue. APL8.0D-S2 is a different identity and is not transferred.
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://solplanet.net/au/products/apl8-0-s-series; https://solplanet.net/de/products/; https://solplanet.net/de/products/apl8-0-s-series
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- solplanet.net/de/products/apl8-0-s-series is a WordPress redirect to the Australian page, not a German catalogue. The German products index does not list APL8.0-S2. APL8.0D-S2 is not transferred.
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://solplanet.net/us/; https://solplanet.net/us/products/apl8-0-s-series
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: Solplanet; name: AP-L8.0-S2; model: APL8.0-S2; exact fixed-capacity variant; score: 62.7
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- US market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
AP-L8.0-S2 scores 65, placing 37 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 64.4. Its highest-scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), above the class average of 84. Energy Ecosystem scores 44, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 51. Key specifications: LFP, 8.19 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar