The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 13.5 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The reference scores one Expansion unit. Larger installed configurations do not receive a capacity-size advantage. Scored model: Powerwall 3 Expansion 1807000-xx-y · checked 2026-08-26. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
21 of 21 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 4 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- OutputMaker-only: 3 design facts; no checkable rows6 held rows, not scored
- Endurance2 checkable rows, all reviewed absences: not published, we lookedMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments, 1 design fact
- Safety1 of 5 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- Backing2 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment
- Fit1 checkable row, a reviewed absence: not published, we lookedMaker-only: 1 design fact6 held rows, not scored
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. Held rows have no value, and each says why: not yet confirmed for the exact product, published but not matched to a rubric band, set by paired equipment, or not applicable. They are not scored and are counted under each question, never drawn. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Powerwall 3 Expansion Australian specification, AU/NZ warranty Rev 1.16 effective 2026-05-06 and current regulator configurations checked 2026-08-26. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 7 more
- Cell balancing architectureManufacturer ↗
- Cell balancing architectureManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cycle life (cycles to 70%)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell chemistryNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
16 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Energy density / footprint
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
Usable energy / DoD (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
VPP & grid services readiness
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Continuous power output (kW)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Smart home & IoT depth
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Backup switching speed
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
EV charging integration
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Round-trip efficiency (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Verified reliability
- Before
- Not independently tested
- After
- Not third-party tested
Cycle life (cycles to 70%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not published
Thermal load management
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Grid-forming & backup tier
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Backup surge / motor-start capability
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not applicable to this product
4 changes to this record · 153 products changed in this update
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- Sourced
- After
- Reviewed absence
Cell balancing architecture: Evidence status
- Before
- Reviewed absence
- After
- Sourced
1 change to this record · 5 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/en-au/GUID-4437D18F-8C6F-4782-B475-6AC3C9FF56B5.html
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/en-au/GUID-4437D18F-8C6F-4782-B475-6AC3C9FF56B5.html; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/DownloadtoExcel?filename=BatteryList
1 change to this record · 3 products changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: The voluntary warranty is silent on site labour reimbursement. Australian Consumer Law rights remain additional to the voluntary warranty.; registration: Non-registration or extended internet disconnection may prevent remote firmware updates and reduce the full ten-year term, but Tesla guarantees at least four years from first installation, subject to other exclusions and limitations. Registration can be completed during commissioning or later by contacting Tesla.; remedy: Tesla chooses repair, replacement with an equivalent product, or a refund of the equivalent product's market price at the time of the claim. Refurbished products or parts may be used, and the remaining original warranty period applies, subject to local legal rights.; removal reinstallation: Defects or capacity shortfalls resulting from relocation without Tesla's express written consent are excluded and may void the warranty. The voluntary warranty is silent on removal and reinstallation reimbursement.; transferability: A subsequent owner may claim with proof of ownership. The claims process requires proof of the original purchase and subsequent ownership transfers; it does not impose a separate new-owner registration step.; transport: The voluntary warranty is silent on freight reimbursement. Tesla says to obtain an RMA number before returning a product.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Verified reliabilityAU market evidence+4 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 6 products changed in this update
AU Warranty scope
- Before
- Australia and New Zealand; warranty Rev 1.16 explicitly names Powerwall 3 Expansion part 1807000 for ten years and 70% of 13.5 kWh at year ten under the stated application conditions.
- After
- Australia and New Zealand; warranty Rev 1.17, effective 3 September 2026, explicitly names Powerwall 3 Expansion part 1807000-xx-x for ten years and 70% of 13.5 kWh at year ten under the stated application conditions.
1 change to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Cell balancing architecture: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/en-au/GUID-4437D18F-8C6F-4782-B475-6AC3C9FF56B5.html
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/DeviceSetupGuide/en-au/GUID-94C0C567-A05B-432E-BB88-12F854A787E7.html; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/en-au/GUID-4437D18F-8C6F-4782-B475-6AC3C9FF56B5.html; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/en-au/GUID-60146E9C-3743-4B7B-88E5-0BF2258CB7B3.html
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- After this change
- Powerwall 3 Expansion Australian specification, AU/NZ warranty Rev 1.16 effective 2026-05-06 and current regulator configurations checked 2026-08-26. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
15 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German energy library titles the page Powerwall 3 Expansion (Erweiterung). The German Powerwall 3P datasheet also names 1807000-xx-y as a separate product. This record is not merged with Powerwall 3P.
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Tesla's German Expansion technical-data page names model 1807000-xx-y and lists IEC 62619, IEC 62933-5-2, IEC 61000-6-1:2016 and EN IEC 61000-6-3:2020.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3-Datasheet.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/General/Warranty/en-us/Powerwall-Warranty-EN.pdf
US Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No standalone grid interface. The expansion pack is an accessory to Powerwall 3. Site approval and installed power remain configuration-specific. This record is not the Powerwall 3 inverter.
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No standalone grid interface. In Germany the expansion pack is documented with Powerwall 3P as well as Powerwall 3. Those host inverters are separate records. Site approval remains configuration-specific.
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; the Europe Powerwall warranty effective 19 March 2026 names Powerwall 3 Expansion part 1807000-xx-x. For Germany it publishes ten years and 80 percent retained capacity, subject to registration, internet connectivity and use-profile conditions.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Tesla's US energy-library datasheet and US warranty name part 1807000. Powerwall 3 itself remains a separate record. German Powerwall 3P is a different host identity.
DE Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: The written warranty does not expressly allocate site labour.; registration: Registration and reliable internet are required for the full ten-year term. Non-registration or extended disconnection can reduce coverage to four years.; remedy: Tesla may repair with new or refurbished parts, replace with an equivalent product, or refund equivalent market value.; removal reinstallation: Unconditional removal and reinstallation coverage is not stated.; transferability: A later owner can claim with proof of ownership. Relocation requires Tesla's written consent.; transport: The written warranty does not expressly allocate ordinary freight.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/InstallManual/BackupGateway/2/de-de/GUID-4437D18F-8C6F-4782-B475-6AC3C9FF56B5.html; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3P/Datasheet/de-de/Powerwall-3P-Datasheet-DE.pdf; https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/General/Warranty/de-de/Powerwall-Warranty-DE.pdf
Source revision
- Before
- Powerwall 3 Expansion Australian specification, AU/NZ warranty Rev 1.16 effective 2026-05-06 and current regulator configurations checked 2026-08-26
- After
- Powerwall 3 Expansion Australian specification, AU/NZ warranty Rev 1.16 effective 2026-05-06 and current regulator configurations checked 2026-08-26. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
US Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- United States; warranty Rev 2.6 effective 6 May 2026 explicitly names Powerwall 3 Expansion part 1807000-xx-x for ten years and 70 percent of 13.5 kWh at year ten under the stated application conditions.
US Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Reasonable labour is reimbursable only when Tesla chooses repair or replacement and a Tesla Certified Installer performs the work.; registration: Registration and reliable internet are required for the full ten-year term. Failure may reduce coverage to four years.; remedy: Tesla may repair, replace with an equivalent product, or refund the market price of an equivalent product.; removal reinstallation: No unrestricted benefit is stated. Certified-installer labour may be covered for Tesla-selected work. Relocation without written consent is excluded.; transferability: A subsequent owner may claim with proof of ownership. The product must remain at the original site unless Tesla gives written consent.; transport: RMA authorisation is required. No unrestricted owner freight reimbursement is stated.
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The current US Powerwall 3 datasheet names Powerwall 3 Expansion model 1807000-xx-y and lists UL 1973, UL 9540 and unit-level UL 9540A for that expansion pack.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- available
1 change to this record · 5 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: Tesla; name: Powerwall 3 Expansion; model: Powerwall 3 Expansion part 1807000-xx-y; 13.5 kWh reference unit; score: 57.9
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Powerwall 3 Expansion scores 58, placing 12 of 13 in the Premium Integrated class against a class average of 65.7. Its highest-scoring dimension is guarantee & backbone (73), running 10.3 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem scores 39, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 54. Key specifications: Other / unspecified.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar