The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
All-in-one energy system
Presents storage and power conversion as one integrated product or product platform.
- Product role
- Battery modules, inverter functions and controls are packaged as one purchasing architecture.
- Published range
- 9.6–57.6 kWh
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 95%. Published usable energy: 9.6 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.9.6 kWh usableScored configuration: SMILE-G3-S5 with one SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P. Published range 9.6–57.6 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses one BAT-10.1P at 9.6 kWh usable; the published range describes one to six matching modules.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
66 / 100#37 of 90 batteriesPartial (essential loads)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses one BAT-10.1P at 9.6 kWh usable; the published range describes one to six matching modules. Scored model: SMILE-G3-S5 with one SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P · checked 2026-08-01. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
26 of 26 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only1 row in the rings4 warranty terms and 1 design fact beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim2 design facts beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim1 row in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings4 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01. Australian warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. 70% end-point retention joined from the 11 October 2024 AU warranty on 2026-09-20. AC connection protection reviewed 4 October 2026 from Australian SMILE-G3-S-LCD V02 manual: standard connector safeguards and installer-configured grid-charge/backup current limiting documented; active AC-terminal temperature monitoring remains unestablished. EV-charger terminal OTP is not a system-terminal feature.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 6 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Cell balancing architectureManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- EV charging integrationManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Smart home & IoT depthNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
One earlier entry recorded a source recheck rather than a change to the published figure, and is not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20221020/8.Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P_V00.17102022%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20221020/8.Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P_V00.17102022%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
5 changes to this record · 23 products changed in this update
Backup surge / motor-start capability: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://alphatest.blob.core.windows.net/osc/osc/material202601200110404272642374013878.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20240412/Installation%2COperation%26MaintenanceManual_AU_SMILE-G3-S-LCD%281%29.pdf
Backup surge / motor-start capability: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
Backup surge / motor-start capability
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Peak/surge rating published with duration
4 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Current text
- Reviewed 7 October 2026. alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns HTTP 404; the AlphaESS US site is alphaess.us. Its residential listing, product list and download centre name SMILE-SP/SPB 7.6/9.6, SMILE-BAT-8.2PHA and BlackBee portable units, and the download centre lists UL 1741, UL 9540, UL 9540A and UL 1973 documents for those products only. A SMILE-G3 3.6 / 5 kW page on alphaess.us is not linked from the US residential listing; it gives a 5 year product and 10 year battery warranty headline and links a 2022 SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P datasheet (V01.13042022) that lists UN 38.3, IEC 62619, IEC 63056 and IEC 62040 but no UL standard. Neither names a US certification, grid-interconnection standard or US warranty document. No US catalogue entry, certification or warranty naming SMILE-G3-S5 with SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P was found, so US availability is not publicly established. This is not evidence that the product is not sold in the United States. BAT-9.3S and M-series are different identities and are not transferred.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
US market evidenceUS market evidence+4 in JSON recordUS Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3
- After
- https://www.alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3; https://www.alphaess.us/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20220620/Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P_V01.13042022.pdf; https://www.alphaess.us/document; https://www.alphaess.us/products; https://www.alphaess.us/residential-energy-storage-system; https://www.alphaess.us/smile-g3-3-6kw-5kw-residential-energy-storage-system
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Clause 2 excludes travelling and accommodation costs of persons for on-site support and does not name labour as covered or excluded. The warranty requires a qualified installer to be available for exchange and re-commissioning (clause 3) and obliges the original installer to assist with replacement (clause 10); reimbursement of necessary and reasonably incurred costs of a valid claim may be claimed with documentary evidence (clauses 2 and 10).; registration: Serial registration before a claim, and installation by an SAA-accredited installer with a valid Alpha Installer ID, are required.; remedy: Repair or replacement at AlphaESS's option.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: The warranty is non-transferable except where the products remain installed in a building, in which case it transfers to a later purchaser of that building.; transport: Replacement-parts freight is covered for an accepted claim.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty throughputOperating temperature range+4 in JSON recordBackup switching speed: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://web.archive.org/web/20250124130633/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20240618/Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-S8_V01.05242024-264.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20240618/Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-S8_V01.05242024-264.pdf
- After
- https://alphatest.blob.core.windows.net/osc/osc/material202601200110404272642374013878.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20240412/Installation%2COperation%26MaintenanceManual_AU_SMILE-G3-S-LCD%281%29.pdf
6 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AC terminal & connection protection: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Source revision
- Current text
- AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01. Australian warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. 70% end-point retention joined from the 11 October 2024 AU warranty on 2026-09-20. AC connection protection reviewed 4 October 2026 from Australian SMILE-G3-S-LCD V02 manual: standard connector safeguards and installer-configured grid-charge/backup current limiting documented; active AC-terminal temperature monitoring remains unestablished. EV-charger terminal OTP is not a system-terminal feature.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAC terminal & connection protection
- Before
- Not specified
- After
- Standard terminal protection, no active monitoring
AC terminal & connection protection: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
- After
- https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20240412/Installation%2COperation%26MaintenanceManual_AU_SMILE-G3-S-LCD%281%29.pdf
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Before
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-S5 with SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P. BAT-9.3S and M-series are different identities and are not transferred.
- After
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-S5 with SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P. BAT-9.3S and M-series are different identities and are not transferred. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
2 changes to this record · 2 products changed in this update
Warranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20221114/6.WarrantyofAlphaESSProducts-Australia20221009-731.pdf
- After
- https://alphaessapi.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/files/20241012/20241012174918552_835556_404066.pdf; https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
Source revision
- Current text
- AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01. Australian warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. 70% end-point retention joined from the 11 October 2024 AU warranty on 2026-09-20.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
2 changes to this record · 17 products changed in this update
Primary Source
- Before
- https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf (archived copy https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf)
- After
- https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://alphaessapi.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/files/20241012/20241012174918552_835556_404066.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20221020/8.Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P_V00.17102022%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf (archived copy https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf); https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260608/AlphaESS_Brochure_AU_V02.22042026.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/smile-g3-3-6kw-5kw-residential-energy-storage-system
- After
- https://alphaessapi.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/files/20241012/20241012174918552_835556_404066.pdf; https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20221020/8.Datasheet_EN_SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P_V00.17102022%28AU%29.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260608/AlphaESS_Brochure_AU_V02.22042026.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/smile-g3-3-6kw-5kw-residential-energy-storage-system
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- alphaess.de/pages/smile-g3 uses generic SMILE-G3 navigation and does not name SMILE-G3-S5 or SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P. BAT-9.3S and M-series are not transferred.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.alphaess.de/pages/smile-g3
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-S5 with SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P. BAT-9.3S and M-series are different identities and are not transferred.
Source revision
- Current text
- AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01. Australian warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetsuperseded
2 changes to this record · 18 products changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: Installer travel and on-site labour are excluded.; registration: Serial registration before a claim, and installation by an SAA-accredited installer with a valid Alpha Installer ID, are required.; remedy: Repair or replacement at AlphaESS's option.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: The warranty is non-transferable except where the products remain installed in a building, in which case it transfers to a later purchaser of that building.; transport: Replacement-parts freight is covered for an accepted claim.
Source revision
- Before
- AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01
- After
- AlphaESS Australia 2026 brochure, exact BAT-10.1P datasheet and 11 October 2024 AU warranty, rechecked 2026-08-01. Australian warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product battery/DC round-trip efficiency with a complete measurement boundary was established in the reviewed primary source set. This is a scoped reviewed absence, not proof that the value has never been measured.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://web.archive.org/web/20251025202205/https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf; https://www.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20230421/Datasheet_AU_SMILE-G3-S5_V02.21042023.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Smile G3 S5 / BAT-10.1P scores 68, placing 13 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (82). Energy Ecosystem (58) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar