The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 9.3–37.2 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 9.3 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.9.3 kWh usableScored configuration: SMILE-G3-S5-INV with SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S. Published range 9.3–37.2 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Capacity range describes supported configurations; the score remains anchored to the reviewed reference configuration, not the largest stack.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Capacity range describes supported configurations; the score remains anchored to the reviewed reference configuration, not the largest stack. Scored model: SMILE-G3-S5-INV with SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S · checked 2026-08-01. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-22
Strong evidence coverage
17 of 17 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceWarranty terms: the maker's commitment4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim1 row in the rings1 design fact beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. AlphaESS Australia SMILE-G3-S5/B5 + BAT-9.3S datasheet V2.1, current AU resource-centre material reviewed 2026-07-16. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 2 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
One earlier entry recorded a source recheck rather than a change to the published figure, and is not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
1 change to this record · 19 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://alphaessapi.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251125/Datasheet-SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S_EN_V2.0_AlphaESS_15062025-442.pdf
- After
- https://alphaessapi.alphaess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251125/Datasheet-SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S_EN_V2.0_AlphaESS_15062025-442.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0
1 change to this record · 7 products changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: The warranty excludes other costs such as transportation and the travelling and accommodation costs of persons providing on-site support, and it does not state who bears installer on-site labour. The end user is not charged for reasonable costs of a valid claim, including warranty processing, replacement parts and freight, and necessary and reasonably incurred claim costs may be reimbursed on documentary evidence.; registration: Initial serial registration and eligible installation are required.; remedy: Repair or replacement at AlphaESS's option.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: Non-transferable except where the products are installed in a building; the warranty transfers to a subsequent purchaser of that building or the products while they remain installed and the warranty terms are met.; transport: Replacement-parts freight is covered for an accepted claim.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetWarranty throughput+1 in JSON record
3 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
2 changes to this record · 49 products changed in this update
US Support Note
- Before
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S. BAT-10.1P is a different module and is not transferred.
- After
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S. BAT-10.1P is a different module and is not transferred. Re-audited 2026-09-22: this determination rests solely on the fetch failure recorded above, with no independently reachable regional catalogue, store or archived copy consulted. Downgraded to not_reviewed - unavailable was not confirmed, and this pass did not re-fetch to confirm available either.
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.alphaess.de/pages/smile-g3
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German SMILE-G3 page does not name SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S. BAT-10.1P is a different module and is not transferred.
Source revision
- Before
- AlphaESS Australia SMILE-G3-S5/B5 + BAT-9.3S datasheet V2.1, current AU resource-centre material reviewed 2026-07-16
- After
- AlphaESS Australia SMILE-G3-S5/B5 + BAT-9.3S datasheet V2.1, current AU resource-centre material reviewed 2026-07-16. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3 returns 404. No official United States catalogue names SMILE-G3-BAT-9.3S. BAT-10.1P is a different module and is not transferred.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.alphaess.com/us/products/smile-g3
2 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
Canonical identity
- Before
- AlphaESS Smile G3 S5 BAT-9.3S
- After
- AlphaESS Smile G3 S5 9.3 kWh
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product battery/DC round-trip efficiency with a complete measurement boundary was established in the reviewed primary source set. This is a scoped reviewed absence, not proof that the value has never been measured.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://alphaesspartner.blob.core.windows.net/osc/osc/material202604220110437542700650557856.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://alphaesspartner.blob.core.windows.net/osc/osc/material202604220110437542700650557856.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Smile G3 S5 9.3 kWh scores 63, placing 47 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (88), above the class average of 84. Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 55. Key specifications: LFP, 5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar