The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 9.32–41.93 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 9.32 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.9.32 kWh usableScored configuration: EQ4800-L2. Published range 9.32–41.93 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses the 9.32 kWh EQ4800-L2 reference stack. The Australian series supports two to nine EQ4800 modules for 9.32 to 41.93 kWh usable capacity.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
51 / 100#68 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the 9.32 kWh EQ4800-L2 reference stack. The Australian series supports two to nine EQ4800 modules for 9.32 to 41.93 kWh usable capacity. Scored model: EQ4800-L2 · checked 2026-07-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-04
Strong evidence coverage
31 of 31 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 5 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output4 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 4 design facts
- Endurance3 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments
- Safety1 of 4 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Backing1 checkable row, not beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment
- Fit4 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 4 design facts
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged. Australian EQ4800-L2 warranty reader review 4 October 2026: V2.7 printed 15 March 2026 names L2 through L9. Ten-year term is capped at 125 months from manufacture; replacements retain the original remainder. Registration and website connection at commissioning are required; continuous connectivity or outage tolerance is not specified. A later clause recommends registration within six weeks and says it should occur within36 months; these statements are retained without treating the later window as overriding commissioning. Installer or Fox-authorized personnel submit RMA evidence; replacement requires Fox approval. Return shipping must be arranged within30 days of replacement receipt; unavailable products may be replaced with equivalent function/performance. Unqualified returns may incur inspection/full replacement costs. Service-rebate references lack a defined amount in this instrument; unconditional labour, freight and removal/reinstallation cover remains unestablished. ACL rights are preserved. Exact L2 table states39.32 MWh and9.32 kWh nominal, with70% nominal-or-usable energy until time/throughput whichever first. Warranty ambient limit is -10 to50 C, separate from datasheet55 C. Capacity test uses battery DC at25–30 C; EQ4800 discharge cutoff40.6 V is specified but an EQ4800-specific charge voltage is not. No adjacent-family charge voltage, independent reliability result or AC-system efficiency is inferred. Broader market approval, technical and sale dates remain unchanged. EQ4800 firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: accepted current FoxESS AU policy V1.0 (July 2026) explicitly covers battery ESS and firmware. Disclosure band 55 to 80; exact support duration and firmware protection remain unestablished. No broader verification-date refresh.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 6 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Verified reliabilityManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 19 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0
6 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
Cycle life (cycles to 70%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251231/ENEQ4800EQ5500ManualV1.0.8.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260116/AUEQ4800ManualV1.0.01008.pdf
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.fox-ess.com/us/; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
- After
- https://us.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260723/USWarrantyPolicy202602.pdf; https://us.fox-ess.com/download/datasheets; https://us.fox-ess.com/download/warranties; https://us.fox-ess.com/products/battery; https://www.fox-ess.com/us/; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Unconditional end-user site labour coverage is not established. Installer eligibility/service-rebate references do not specify a guaranteed amount in the reviewed instrument; appointing another installer where the original is insolvent or the site remote is at the end-user/installer expense. ACL rights remain preserved.; registration: Policy precondition requires registration and connection to the Fox ESS website at commissioning. It does not specify continuous Internet access or outage tolerance. A later clause recommends registration within six weeks and says within 36 months; no override of commissioning is inferred. Installer/Fox-authorized personnel submit fault details, contact information and RMA evidence; Fox approval is required before replacement.; remedy: Fox ESS liability is limited to replacement, repair, refund and compensation. Repaired or replaced product keeps the remaining term of the original warranty, without renewal. Where a product is no longer available, Fox may replace it with an alternative of equivalent functions and performance (V2.7 sections iii and viii).; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: No subsequent-owner transfer right was found in the governing terms.; transport: Installer must arrange faulty-product return shipping within 30 days of replacement receipt. Failure forfeits the referenced service rebate, whose amount/complete eligibility is not defined here. Unconditional freight cover is not established; an ineligible/no-defect return may incur inspection charges or full replacement costs.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+4 in JSON recordDE Support Note
- Before
- de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800 does not resolve. No German catalogue naming EQ4800-L2 was retrieved. Held is not unavailable.
- After
- de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800 did not resolve on 9 October 2026 (DNS lookup failure, an access failure rather than absence). de.fox-ess.com/produkte/batterie checked 9 October 2026 lists EQ5000-P, EQ3300, EK6, EK12, DQ6.6 and CQ16 battery products; its datasheet index names no EQ4800 product. No German catalogue naming EQ4800-L2 was retrieved. Held is not unavailable.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
- After
- https://de.fox-ess.com/downloads/datenblaetter; https://de.fox-ess.com/produkte/batterie; https://de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
US Support Note
- Before
- foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery returns a JavaScript shell with no retrievable EQ4800-L2 identity. fox-ess.com/us returns 404. Held is not unavailable. EQ5500 and PowerQ are different identities.
- After
- foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery returns a JavaScript shell with no retrievable EQ4800-L2 identity. fox-ess.com/us returns 404. Held is not unavailable. EQ5500 and PowerQ are different identities. us.fox-ess.com pages checked 9 October 2026 list CQ7, EQ4000 and ECS4000 battery products and no EQ4800 product in the battery catalogue or datasheet index. The Fox ESS US Warranty Policy, Version 3.0 dated 11 February 2026 and published on the same site, lists ECS4000 and EQ4000 as batteries and does not name EQ4800. EQ4000 is a different identity. Catalogue and policy absence is not an explicit maker exclusion.
8 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260611/AUBATTERYWARRANTYV2.7.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/products/battery/16; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251231/ENEQ4800EQ5500ManualV1.0.8.pdf
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20260611/AUBATTERYWARRANTYV2.7.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/products/battery/16; https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251231/ENEQ4800EQ5500ManualV1.0.8.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
- After
- Security page or vulnerability disclosure published
AU Support Note
- Before
- The exact 9.32 kWh EQ4800-L2 reference publishes 4.48 kW nominal battery-side power, greater than 95% DC battery-pack RTE, natural-convection cooling and no onboard fire-suppression claim.
- After
- The exact 9.32 kWh EQ4800-L2 reference publishes 4.48 kW nominal battery-side power, greater than 95% DC battery-pack RTE, natural-convection cooling and no onboard fire-suppression claim. FoxESS publishes a vulnerability-reporting and handling policy covering battery systems and firmware. EQ4800-specific security support duration, firmware signing and secure boot remain unestablished.
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251231/ENEQ4800EQ5500ManualV1.0.8.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/contact-us
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://au.fox-ess.com/resource-support/vulnerability-disclosure-and-handling-policy
Source revision
- Current text
- EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged. Australian EQ4800-L2 warranty reader review 4 October 2026: V2.7 printed 15 March 2026 names L2 through L9. Ten-year term is capped at 125 months from manufacture; replacements retain the original remainder. Registration and website connection at commissioning are required; continuous connectivity or outage tolerance is not specified. A later clause recommends registration within six weeks and says it should occur within36 months; these statements are retained without treating the later window as overriding commissioning. Installer or Fox-authorized personnel submit RMA evidence; replacement requires Fox approval. Return shipping must be arranged within30 days of replacement receipt; unavailable products may be replaced with equivalent function/performance. Unqualified returns may incur inspection/full replacement costs. Service-rebate references lack a defined amount in this instrument; unconditional labour, freight and removal/reinstallation cover remains unestablished. ACL rights are preserved. Exact L2 table states39.32 MWh and9.32 kWh nominal, with70% nominal-or-usable energy until time/throughput whichever first. Warranty ambient limit is -10 to50 C, separate from datasheet55 C. Capacity test uses battery DC at25–30 C; EQ4800 discharge cutoff40.6 V is specified but an EQ4800-specific charge voltage is not. No adjacent-family charge voltage, independent reliability result or AC-system efficiency is inferred. Broader market approval, technical and sale dates remain unchanged. EQ4800 firmware/security disclosure reviewed 5 October 2026: accepted current FoxESS AU policy V1.0 (July 2026) explicitly covers battery ESS and firmware. Disclosure band 55 to 80; exact support duration and firmware protection remain unestablished. No broader verification-date refresh.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
3 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Unconditional end-user site labour coverage is not established. Installer eligibility/service-rebate references do not specify a guaranteed amount in the reviewed instrument; appointing another installer where the original is insolvent or the site remote is at the end-user/installer expense. ACL rights remain preserved.; registration: Policy precondition requires registration and connection to the Fox ESS website at commissioning. It does not specify continuous Internet access or outage tolerance. A later clause recommends registration within six weeks and says within 36 months; no override of commissioning is inferred. Installer/Fox-authorized personnel submit fault details, contact information and RMA evidence; Fox approval is required before replacement.; remedy: Repair, replacement, refund or compensation at FoxESS option. Repaired/replaced product retains the original remaining warranty, without renewal; unavailable models may be replaced with equivalent functions and performance.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: No subsequent-owner transfer right was found in the governing terms.; transport: Installer must arrange faulty-product return shipping within 30 days of replacement receipt. Failure forfeits the referenced service rebate, whose amount/complete eligibility is not defined here. Unconditional freight cover is not established; an ineligible/no-defect return may incur inspection charges or full replacement costs.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+3 in JSON recordAU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australian V2.7 printed15 March2026 names EQ4800-L2 through L9; title also names New Zealand but this review applies only to AU. Named local entity/importer FoxESS Australia Pty Ltd is distinct from maker Foxess Co Ltd. Ten years from installation, capped125 months from manufacture;70% nominal-or-usable energy until time or throughput whichever first, under specified use/test conditions. Exact L2 table39.32 MWh/9.32 kWh nominal; no capacity/configuration or global technical score change.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+3 in JSON recordSource revision
- Current text
- EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged. Australian EQ4800-L2 warranty reader review 4 October 2026: V2.7 printed 15 March 2026 names L2 through L9. Ten-year term is capped at 125 months from manufacture; replacements retain the original remainder. Registration and website connection at commissioning are required; continuous connectivity or outage tolerance is not specified. A later clause recommends registration within six weeks and says it should occur within36 months; these statements are retained without treating the later window as overriding commissioning. Installer or Fox-authorized personnel submit RMA evidence; replacement requires Fox approval. Return shipping must be arranged within30 days of replacement receipt; unavailable products may be replaced with equivalent function/performance. Unqualified returns may incur inspection/full replacement costs. Service-rebate references lack a defined amount in this instrument; unconditional labour, freight and removal/reinstallation cover remains unestablished. ACL rights are preserved. Exact L2 table states39.32 MWh and9.32 kWh nominal, with70% nominal-or-usable energy until time/throughput whichever first. Warranty ambient limit is -10 to50 C, separate from datasheet55 C. Capacity test uses battery DC at25–30 C; EQ4800 discharge cutoff40.6 V is specified but an EQ4800-specific charge voltage is not. No adjacent-family charge voltage, independent reliability result or AC-system efficiency is inferred. Broader market approval, technical and sale dates remain unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
3 changes to this record · 17 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
- After
- https://www.fox-ess.com/us/; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
US Support Note
- Before
- foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery returns a JavaScript shell with no retrievable EQ4800-L2 identity. Held is not unavailable. EQ5500 and PowerQ are different identities.
- After
- foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery returns a JavaScript shell with no retrievable EQ4800-L2 identity. fox-ess.com/us returns 404. Held is not unavailable. EQ5500 and PowerQ are different identities.
Source revision
- Current text
- EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800; https://www.foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery
Source revision
- Before
- EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07
- After
- EQ4800 current AU regulator identity, local warranty owner and distinct PowerQ boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- de.foxesscloud.com/product/eq4800 does not resolve. No German catalogue naming EQ4800-L2 was retrieved. Held is not unavailable.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- foxesscloud.com/us/product/battery returns a JavaScript shell with no retrievable EQ4800-L2 identity. Held is not unavailable. EQ5500 and PowerQ are different identities.
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification: EQ4800-L2
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: EQ4800-L2; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: foxess-eq4800-au; source key: data/batteries/foxess_eq4800.json; source manufacturer name: FOXESS Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2024-11-14; candidate model: EQ4800-L2; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-11-14; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencesupersededSafety certification
2 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
Canonical identity
- Before
- FoxESS EQ4800 9.32 kWh
- After
- FoxESS EQ4800 High-Voltage Stack 9.32 kWh
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The AU datasheet states battery-pack round-trip efficiency above 95%; 95% is stored conservatively.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact EQ4800 manual states at least 6,000 cycles at 25 C to 70% state of health; this is manufacturer engineering data, not an independent test.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251219/ENEQ4800DatasheetAUV1.320250915.pdf; https://www.fox-ess.com/Public/Uploads/uploadfile/files/20251231/ENEQ4800EQ5500ManualV1.0.8.pdf
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
EQ4800 High-Voltage Stack scores 67, placing 17 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (94), running 9.6 points above the class average on this dimension. Guarantee & Backbone scores 50, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 55. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 4.48 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar