The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
AC-coupled battery
Includes battery-side power conversion and connects on the household AC side.
- Product role
- The battery product includes its own conversion stage, while site isolation and backup controls may remain separate.
- Published range
- 15 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 93.75%. Published usable energy: 15 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.15 kWh usableScored configuration: aPower X-02-AU (APR-05K15V1-AU).
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses one exact 15 kWh Australian aPower X unit; larger multi-unit aGate systems do not inflate the battery score.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 12
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses one exact 15 kWh Australian aPower X unit; larger multi-unit aGate systems do not inflate the battery score. Scored model: aPower X-02-AU (APR-05K15V1-AU) · checked 2026-08-02. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-31
Strong evidence coverage
19 of 19 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceWarranty terms: the maker's commitment4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim1 row in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings1 design fact beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Accepted current FranklinWH AU system datasheet V1.7, printed 10 September 2026, PDF2 names APR-05K15V1-AU / aPower X-02-AU; recovered5October2026 and reused without refetch for bounded source reconciliation. Retain the historical24June2026 benchmark-source record and its checked date; no fullregional/approval/warranty restamp. FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact AU/NZ App2.23.0(30September2026) local-monitoring and optional two-circuit reader clarification checked2026-10-05; scores and prior market/approval/warranty verification dates unchanged. Australian installer reimbursement reader integration reviewed 2026-10-05: the separate 4 May 2026 AU/NZ process explicitly names APR-05K15V1-AU, with capped certified-installer site/replacement payments, prior RMA and 30-day claim conditions. Consumer cost coverage and end-user warranty commencement are not inferred from this separate process. Global scores, 15 kWh usable benchmark and market/approval dates retained. V1.7 source reconciliation5October2026 preserves single-unit15kWh usable/16kWh rated/5kW/10kW10seconds and89% AC round-trip conditions; system20/40kW limits,more-than-four support condition andfan-off/on sound boundary now explicit. No global criterion/score change ornew active-cell-cooling claim.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary12-year product warranty →
Show 12 more
- Warranty throughputWarranty ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Thermal & fire mitigationManufacturer ↗
- Warranty assuranceWarranty ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Smart home & IoT depthNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 10 products changed in this update
Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/au/about-us/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/news/franklin-whole-home-unveils-advanced-energy-storage-for-u.s.-residential-market; https://www.franklinwh.com/news/franklinwh-has-been-added-to-the-lumas-approved-vendor-list-in-puerto-rico
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Current text
- FranklinWH Australia identifies APR-05K15V1-AU as the only current Australian aPower model and publishes local service contact details in Macquarie Park, New South Wales. The separate AU/NZ installer reimbursement process dated 4 May 2026 expressly names APR-05K15V1-AU / aPower X-02-AU. Its capped site-visit and replacement payments go to certified installers after approval, verification and return of the defective unit; ask the installer how remaining site costs are handled. This process describes its eligibility period from system activation/permission to operate; the end-user warranty’s initial-installation commencement remains separately recorded. Current exact AU system datasheet V1.7, dated 10 September 2026, retains 15 kWh usable and 5 kW continuous per aPower. Published system maxima are 20 kW continuous and 40 kW peak; support for more than four parallel units requires manufacturer contact. The 225 kWh capacity ceiling does not imply 75 kW system output. At 1 m the sheet states below 30 dB(A) typical with the fan off and below 44 dB(A) maximum with the fan on. It does not identify the fan’s cooled component or establish a cell-cooling architecture.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty assuranceWarranty throughput+3 in JSON recordSource revision
- Current text
- Accepted current FranklinWH AU system datasheet V1.7, printed 10 September 2026, PDF2 names APR-05K15V1-AU / aPower X-02-AU; recovered5October2026 and reused without refetch for bounded source reconciliation. Retain the historical24June2026 benchmark-source record and its checked date; no fullregional/approval/warranty restamp. FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact AU/NZ App2.23.0(30September2026) local-monitoring and optional two-circuit reader clarification checked2026-10-05; scores and prior market/approval/warranty verification dates unchanged. Australian installer reimbursement reader integration reviewed 2026-10-05: the separate 4 May 2026 AU/NZ process explicitly names APR-05K15V1-AU, with capped certified-installer site/replacement payments, prior RMA and 30-day claim conditions. Consumer cost coverage and end-user warranty commencement are not inferred from this separate process. Global scores, 15 kWh usable benchmark and market/approval dates retained. V1.7 source reconciliation5October2026 preserves single-unit15kWh usable/16kWh rated/5kW/10kW10seconds and89% AC round-trip conditions; system20/40kW limits,more-than-four support condition andfan-off/on sound boundary now explicit. No global criterion/score change ornew active-cell-cooling claim.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
5 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Warranty assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/warranty-au
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/warranty-and-labor-reimbursement-au-nz; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/warranty-au
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Conditional certified-installer reimbursement is available under the separate AU/NZ process dated 4 May 2026: AUD 200 per removal/replacement site visit plus AUD 200 per replaced aPower, including GST. Remote diagnosis, prior RMA and a claim within 30 days of completed replacement are required. This capped installer program does not promise payment of every customer labour charge.; registration: Registration at installation, continued internet connectivity and software updates are required for the full 12-year term; otherwise coverage can reduce to four years.; remedy: Repair, replacement with a new or refurbished equivalent, or a depreciated refund at FranklinWH's discretion.; removal reinstallation: Removal and replacement are eligible for capped reimbursement to FranklinWH-certified installers under the separate AU/NZ process. Prior remote diagnosis and RMA, replacement within the applicable warranty period, return of the defective product and application within 30 days are required. Payment follows verification and receipt of the defective product. Full customer removal/reinstallation costs are not automatically covered.; transferability: The claim process accepts proof of subsequent transfers of ownership, but the limited warranty does not expressly promise automatic transfer.; transport: For an approved installer warranty replacement, FranklinWH ships the replacement and supplies a return label; the installer must return the defective unit in the same box or equivalent protective packaging. The reimbursement process covers a 250 km round-trip site visit and states AUD 0.80 per additional kilometre beyond that distance. This is a conditional installer process, not an unconditional customer freight entitlement.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Warranty assuranceWarranty throughput+3 in JSON recordAU Support Note
- Before
- FranklinWH Australia identifies APR-05K15V1-AU as the only current Australian aPower model and publishes local service contact details in Macquarie Park, New South Wales.
- After
- FranklinWH Australia identifies APR-05K15V1-AU as the only current Australian aPower model and publishes local service contact details in Macquarie Park, New South Wales. The separate AU/NZ installer reimbursement process dated 4 May 2026 expressly names APR-05K15V1-AU / aPower X-02-AU. Its capped site-visit and replacement payments go to certified installers after approval, verification and return of the defective unit; ask the installer how remaining site costs are handled. This process describes its eligibility period from system activation/permission to operate; the end-user warranty’s initial-installation commencement remains separately recorded.
Source revision
- Current text
- FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact AU/NZ App2.23.0(30September2026) local-monitoring and optional two-circuit reader clarification checked2026-10-05; scores and prior market/approval/warranty verification dates unchanged. Australian installer reimbursement reader integration reviewed 2026-10-05: the separate 4 May 2026 AU/NZ process explicitly names APR-05K15V1-AU, with capped certified-installer site/replacement payments, prior RMA and 30-day claim conditions. Consumer cost coverage and end-user warranty commencement are not inferred from this separate process. Global scores, 15 kWh usable benchmark and market/approval dates retained.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/warranty-au
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/warranty-and-labor-reimbursement-au-nz; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/warranty-au
5 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Summary
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The Australian aPower X listing refers to APR-05K15V1-AU with 15 kWh usable energy. Household controls belong to the aGate and FranklinWH App. An optional Smart Circuits Module controls two physically wired circuits, with manual switching, time schedules and battery-reserve cut-off during grid outages. These are circuit controls, not a general hub for third-party smart-home devices. AU/NZ App manual 2.23.0, issued 30 September 2026, also documents local monitoring through the aGate hotspot and Direct Connect when internet and cellular networks are unavailable. This establishes proprietary-app monitoring; it does not establish a public local API, MQTT, third-party automation or offline availability of every remote feature. Minimum controller firmware for these functions is not established by the reviewed app manual. Installer configuration and the optional module are required for Smart Circuits. App switching is not proof that an electrical circuit is safely isolated.
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/au/installer/; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/au/installer/; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/agate-home-energy-management-controller/; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/app-user-manual-au
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/au/installer/; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/agate-home-energy-management-controller/; https://www.franklinwh.com/au/products/apower-home-battery-storage/; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/app-user-manual-au
Source revision
- Current text
- FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged. Exact AU/NZ App2.23.0(30September2026) local-monitoring and optional two-circuit reader clarification checked2026-10-05; scores and prior market/approval/warranty verification dates unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
5 changes to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026
- After
- FranklinWH Australia aPower X system datasheet dated 2026-06-24 and Australia limited warranty effective June 2026. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded for the remaining 17 AU+US identities; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- FranklinWH aPower X-02-AU (APR-05K15V1-AU) is published as an AU+NZ system. The United States SKU is APR-05K13V1-US / aPower 1.3. No German SKU, German product page or German warranty instrument names aPower X-02-AU. The US aPower 1.3 identity is not transferred onto this AU record.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/download/apower-datasheet; https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
17 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact Australian system datasheet publishes 89% AC-to-battery-to-AC round-trip efficiency at 50% rated power and beginning of life.
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
- After
- No longer recorded
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: The exact Australian system datasheet publishes 89% AC-to-battery-to-AC round-trip efficiency at 50% rated power and beginning of life. No battery/DC round-trip value is substituted into the score.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.franklinwh.com/document/system-datasheet
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
aPower X scores 63, placing 7 of 13 in the Premium Integrated class against a class average of 65.1. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (76), above the class average of 75. Energy Ecosystem (50) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar