The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 5.8–8.7 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 96.7%. Published usable energy: 5.8 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.5.8 kWh usableScored configuration: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20. Published range 5.8–8.7 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The 5.8 kWh technical base unit is scored; CER's 5.9 and 8.85 kWh values remain regulator declarations.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 5
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
56 / 100#64 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The 5.8 kWh technical base unit is scored; CER's 5.9 and 8.85 kWh values remain regulator declarations. Scored model: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20 · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-27
Strong evidence coverage
22 of 22 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 4 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output3 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Endurance1 checkable row, a reviewed absence: not published, we lookedMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments1 held row, not scored
- Safety1 of 3 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- BackingMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment; no checkable rows
- Fit6 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. Held rows have no value, and each says why: not yet confirmed for the exact product, published but not matched to a rubric band, set by paired equipment, or not applicable. They are not scored and are counted under each question, never drawn. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.; AU/NZ regional warranty Rev 1.1 20260917 recovered 2026-10-05, separate from retained global technical assessment
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary5-year product warranty →
Show 4 more
- Modularity & scalabilityManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Open protocol & API maturityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
25 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Thermal load management
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No thermal load integration
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Thermal load management: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
EV charging integration
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No EV integration
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2; https://www.originenergy.com.au/help-support/energy-products-and-services/batteries-and-loop-vpp/compatible-solar-batteries-and-inverter-models
Cycle life (cycles to 70%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/security-vulnerability-management
Verified reliability
- Before
- Not independently tested
- After
- Not third-party tested
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2
VPP & grid services readiness
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No VPP capability
Grid-forming & backup tier: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf
Grid-forming & backup tier: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
EV charging integration: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Proprietary / no documented API
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2
Smart home & IoT depth
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No local smart home integration
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Vulnerability disclosure policy + firmware/security documentation published
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
Grid-forming & backup tier
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Whole-home backup via paired hybrid inverter (capability is inverter-dependent
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf
3 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
5 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/Downloads/Warranty/GOODWE%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20Lynx%20D%20G2%20Series%20Battery%20Energy%20Storage%20System-Global.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2; https://en.goodwe.com/security-vulnerability-management
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/Downloads/Warranty/GOODWE%20Limited%20Warranty%20for%20Lynx%20D%20G2%20Series%20Battery%20Energy%20Storage%20System-AU_NZ.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/Ftp/EN/Downloads/Datasheet/GW_Lynx-D-G2_Datasheet-EN.pdf; https://en.goodwe.com/lynx-d-g2; https://en.goodwe.com/security-vulnerability-management
AU Support Note
- After this change
- The score uses the 5.8 kWh GW6 technical configuration. CER records 5.9 kWh usable for GW6 and 8.85 kWh for GW9; the manufacturer sheet records 5.8 and 8.7 kWh. The two source classes are displayed separately. Regional warranty Appendix A uses 25±2 C after at least twelve hours storage, 0.2P charge/discharge to cell cut-off, thirty-minute rests and the third discharge capacity. Its printed repeat-steps instruction is retained as written, not silently repaired. Throughput simulation assumes 10–25 C, at most one cycle/day and discharge current at most 50 A; these warranty conditions do not replace the datasheet beginning-of-life capacity or cycle-test protocol.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetModularity & scalability+3 in JSON recordAU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: Conditional discretionary on-site rebate, subject to prior site-visit authorisation, confirmed covered defect and return, eligible service provider, application within two months of authorisation and a per-case cap including GST. Rate is not published in this policy; site labour reimbursement remains subject to these limits.; registration: Original purchase proof, model/serial and installation/failure information are required. No separate mandatory online registration found in this reviewed policy. Install within six months of production; qualified installation/manual and storage requirements apply. Report failure within two weeks; claim instructions also state one month from failure, so retain both deadlines and report promptly.; remedy: GoodWe chooses configuration/software correction, repair or new/refurbished equivalent-or-better replacement. Obtain RMA confirmation before replacement. The default limited remedy covers hardware materials; statutory consumer rights remain additional.; removal reinstallation: No unconditional full removal/reinstallation reimbursement is established. Hardware remedy and possible capped authorised service rebate apply; ask for approval and cost responsibility before replacement. Statutory rights remain additional.; transferability: The reviewed AU/NZ policy does not establish unconditional transfer to a subsequent owner. Remaining warranty transfers to an authorised replacement unit, with a six-month minimum if less time remains; this is not owner transfer.; transport: Conditional capped normal-ground inbound/outbound support in some areas; rate requires confirmation. Claimant pays excess or alternative-method costs and may need to organise return. Confirm shipment in advance; return within four weeks of receiving replacement, or replacement/delivery/service charges may apply.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetModularity & scalability+3 in JSON recordSource revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.; AU/NZ regional warranty Rev 1.1 20260917 recovered 2026-10-05, separate from retained global technical assessment
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetAU Warranty scope
- After this change
- AU/NZ Rev 1.1 (17 September 2026) names GW6.0-BAT-D-G20 and GW9.0-BAT-D-G20. GoodWe Technologies Co., Ltd is the warrantor; GoodWe Australia Pty Ltd is the Australian importer. For authorised-channel units sold and installed after October 2024 in AU/NZ, product hardware and performance warranties are each ten years. Commencement is original end-user purchase; without adequate purchase documentation, the earlier of installation or six months after manufacture applies. Performance is 70% of usable energy or 3.0 MWh DC throughput per usable kWh, whichever comes first. The existing five-year global product-warranty assessment is retained separately and does not describe this regional entitlement. Statutory rights remain additional.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetModularity & scalability+3 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
2 changes to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- accepted at: 2026-08-29; category: battery; certification model: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: goodwe-lynx-d-g2-5-8-8-7-au; source key: data/batteries/goodwe_lynx_d_g2_au.json; source manufacturer name: GoodWe Technologies Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2026-07-09; candidate model: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2027-12-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: GoodWe; name: Lynx D G2; model: GW6.0-BAT-D-G20 and GW9.0-BAT-D-G20; scored GW6.0-BAT-D-G20; score: 59.8
Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Lynx D G2 scores 63, placing 54 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 64.4. Its highest-scoring dimension is capacity & usability (82). Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 56. Key specifications: LFP, 95% round-trip efficiency, 3.0 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar