The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 7.24–43.44 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 90%. Published usable energy: 7.24 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.7.24 kWh usableScored configuration: HiOne-8B-G3. Published range 7.24–43.44 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The base 7.24 kWh module is scored; regulator-rounded system capacities remain separately disclosed.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The base 7.24 kWh module is scored; regulator-rounded system capacities remain separately disclosed. Scored model: HiOne-8B-G3 · checked 2026-08-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-04
Strong evidence coverage
19 of 19 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not a guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
1 of 4 questions with checkable rows has a row beyond the maker's claim.
- Output2 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 2 design facts
- Endurance1 checkable row, a reviewed absence: not published, we lookedMaker-only: 4 maker's commitments1 held row, not scored
- Safety1 of 3 checkable rows beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 1 design fact
- BackingMaker-only: 1 maker's commitment; no checkable rows
- Fit2 checkable rows, none beyond the maker's claimMaker-only: 3 design facts2 held rows, not scored
- FootprintNot scored for batteries
- Third-party source
- Certified or regulator-listed
- Manufacturer claim
- Reviewed absence
Each bar is one question's checkable rows for this product at true share, stronger tiers first; hatching marks a reviewed absence: not published, we looked. Maker-only rows (warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own documents) are counted under each question, never dropped. Held rows have no value, and each says why: not yet confirmed for the exact product, published but not matched to a rubric band, set by paired equipment, or not applicable. They are not scored and are counted under each question, never drawn. review.solar has measured none of these rows itself. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Operating temperature rangeManufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Round-trip efficiency (%)Not stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
- Smart home & IoT depthNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or third-party source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
22 changes to this record · 280 products changed in this update
Cycle life (cycles to 70%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
Round-trip efficiency (%)
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not published
Smart home & IoT depth
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No local smart home integration
VPP & grid services readiness
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- VPP-capable (protocol ready, no confirmed live program)
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed absence
Verified reliability
- Before
- Not independently tested
- After
- Not third-party tested
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Grid-forming & backup tier
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Published, but not matched to a rubric band
Thermal load management
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Held: not yet confirmed for the exact product
EV charging integration: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
EV charging integration
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Basic EV charger scheduling (timer / relay)
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Sourced
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/cyber-security.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202601/fa769a1e8a.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Vulnerability disclosure policy + firmware/security documentation published
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/au/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202602/9e2ef16939.pdf
Open protocol & API maturity
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Proprietary / no documented API
4 changes to this record · 43 products changed in this update
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; No German warranty document was read; the German datasheet states a 10 year Gewährleistung.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/de/hione.html
- After
- https://w3oss.hoymiles.com/uploadfile/1/202608/ca8db8ed3e.pdf; https://www.hoymiles.com/de/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/de/products/hione-8-20-t-g3.html
DE Support Note
- Before
- hoymiles.com/de/hione.html does not retrieve HiOne-8B-G3 on a live crawl. Held is not unavailable.
- After
- On 19 October 2026 the Hoymiles German HiOne-(8-20)T-G3 product page linked a German-language datasheet (marked Region: Global, REV1.12) that lists HiOne-8B-G3 as a compatible battery model and gives its technical data, 8 kWh total and 7.8 kWh usable, up to four per stack. The German HiOne page describes 8 kWh batteries stackable to 64 kWh without printing the model code. A German datasheet linked from the maker's German page names the exact model, so the DE overlay is available; the 7.8 kWh usable figure differs from the Australian 7.24 kWh reference and is not transferred.
2 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- After this change
- labour: Installation and commissioning costs are not covered, and neither are costs incurred when a distributor sends its own technicians to site (section 6). Where Hoymiles decides to repair on site, performed by Hoymiles or an engineer it authorizes, Hoymiles bears the materials and labour costs and the costs of removing and replacing the part (section 9). On-site service by a distributor's own technicians without Hoymiles' prior written consent is not borne by Hoymiles (section 9).; registration: Serial, installation and operating evidence are required.; remedy: Hoymiles may repair or replace accepted defective hardware.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: The warranty is transferable only while the battery remains at the original installation location. To transfer ownership, contact Hoymiles at service@hoymiles.com with an authorization email from the previous owner (section 3).; transport: Return and replacement logistics are conditional on the approved claim process.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)Round-trip efficiency (%)+2 in JSON recordAU Grid and installation context
- Before
- The exact battery identity appears in the current Australian battery export. Inverter selection, DNSP acceptance and system design remain separate installation decisions.
- After
- The current Australian battery export lists 30 HiOne system combinations (HiOne-xT-yB-G3-AU and HiOne-xS-yB-G3-AU, each shown with the suffix (AS4777-2 2020)), each approved 13 August 2026 and expiring 31 December 2027. It does not list HiOne-8B-G3 as a standalone battery. The single-block combinations HiOne-8T-8B-G3-AU, HiOne-10T-8B-G3-AU and HiOne-12T-8B-G3-AU are listed at 8 kWh nominal and 7.8 kWh usable. Inverter selection, DNSP acceptance and system design remain separate installation decisions.
4 changes to this record · 17 products changed in this update
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetUS Support Note
- Before
- hoymiles.com/us/hione.html does not retrieve HiOne-8B-G3 on a live crawl. Held is not unavailable. Multi-module stacks are not transferred onto the one-module scored reference.
- After
- hoymiles.com/us/products.html names LB-10D-USG2 as the United States battery. hoymiles.com/us/hione.html returns 404 and does not name HiOne-8B-G3. LB-10D-USG2 is a different identity and is not transferred. Multi-module stacks are not transferred onto the one-module scored reference.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.hoymiles.com/us/hione.html
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/us/hione.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/us/products.html; https://www.hoymiles.com/us/products/lb-10d-usg2.html
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
Source revision
- After this change
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetUS Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/us/hione.html
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- hoymiles.com/de/hione.html does not retrieve HiOne-8B-G3 on a live crawl. Held is not unavailable.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- hoymiles.com/us/hione.html does not retrieve HiOne-8B-G3 on a live crawl. Held is not unavailable. Multi-module stacks are not transferred onto the one-module scored reference.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.hoymiles.com/de/hione.html
1 change to this record · 61 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27
- After
- Exact technical and warranty sources plus CER source version dated 20 August 2026, checked 2026-08-27 Battery performance register refresh 2026-08-31: battery/DC round-trip efficiency and cycles-to-70% closed or held from the exact governing sheet.
1 change to this record · 14 products changed in this update
Product record
kind: battery; brand: Hoymiles; name: HiOne-8B-G3 Battery; model: HiOne-8B-G3; one to six modules; scored one-module 7.24 kWh usable configuration; score: 57.4
Usable energy / DoD (%)Primary datasheet
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- DE market evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
HiOne-8B-G3 Battery scores 59, placing 63 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 64.4. Its highest-scoring dimension is capacity & usability (76). Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 56. Key specifications: LFP.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar