The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 5–60 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 5 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.5 kWh usableScored configuration: Smart Battery S0 5 kWh. Published range 5–60 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Each stack uses one to three 5 kWh modules. The two-system branch reaches 30 kWh. The 60 kWh maximum requires an eligible three-phase platform, four 15 kWh stacks and the SmartPS-80AI-T0 meter for three or four systems. The score remains anchored to one 5 kWh module; larger-stack performance and warranty are not transferred. Published energy is measured at beginning of life, 100% DoD, 0.2C and 25C. No PV, or no sunlight detected for 24 hours, sets a 15% minimum end-of-discharge SOC. Aggregate capacity does not promise delivered energy in every operating state.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2Depth-of-discharge source 3Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
64 / 100#48 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Each stack uses one to three 5 kWh modules. The two-system branch reaches 30 kWh. The 60 kWh maximum requires an eligible three-phase platform, four 15 kWh stacks and the SmartPS-80AI-T0 meter for three or four systems. The score remains anchored to one 5 kWh module; larger-stack performance and warranty are not transferred. Published energy is measured at beginning of life, 100% DoD, 0.2C and 25C. No PV, or no sunlight detected for 24 hours, sets a 15% minimum end-of-discharge SOC. Aggregate capacity does not promise delivered energy in every operating state. Scored model: Smart Battery S0 5 kWh · checked 2026-10-05. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings4 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 4 rows in the rings beyond claim2 design facts beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim1 row in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings4 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Smart Battery S0 May 2025 technical specification, March 2026 warranty, CER battery export and ABR certificate-holder status reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Conditional battery expansion reviewed5October2026 against exact May2025 datasheet PDF2/footnote6; one-module scored reference unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 5 more
- Usable energy / DoD (%)Manufacturer ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- EV charging integrationManufacturer ↗
- EV charging integrationManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 19 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
1 change to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/IS-BATT-5000-sept23.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/IS-BATT-5000-sept23.pdf
3 changes to this record · 22 products changed in this update
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/
- After
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/IS-BATT-User-Manual-June24-V1.1.pdf
VPP & grid services readiness: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/
- After
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/iStore-Home-CSIP-AUS-Commissioning-Quick-Guide.pdf
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/
- After
- https://github.com/opilot87/ha-istore-solar; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/
3 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Current text
- IS-BATT-5000-S0 remains current on the CER battery export through 19 April 2027. The certificate holder is active iStore (QLD) Pty Ltd, the entity named on the cover of the September 2026 copy of the governing warranty; the warranty body does not define which entity the term iStore refers to.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+5 in JSON recordAU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; the March 2026 governing document covers IS-BATT-5000-S0, IS-BATT-10000-S0 and IS-BATT-15000-S0 for 10 years or 18.25 MWh at 70% end-of-life capacity, whichever occurs first. The copy linked as Open warranty on the iStore downloads page (file created 2 September 2026) names iStore (QLD) Pty Ltd on its cover page; the April 2026 copy, which the same page still links, names no legal entity. The body text of the two copies is the same, is labelled as at March 2026, and refers to iStore without defining the term.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+5 in JSON recordAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=54152166160; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/warranty-rma/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/pv-products-warranty-March2026.pdf
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=54152166160; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/warranty-rma/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/pv-products-warranty-March2026.pdf; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/pv-products-warranty-March2026.pdf
1 change to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Note
- Current text
- Each stack uses one to three 5 kWh modules. The two-system branch reaches 30 kWh. The 60 kWh maximum requires an eligible three-phase platform, four 15 kWh stacks and the SmartPS-80AI-T0 meter for three or four systems. The score remains anchored to one 5 kWh module; larger-stack performance and warranty are not transferred. Published energy is measured at beginning of life, 100% DoD, 0.2C and 25C. No PV, or no sunlight detected for 24 hours, sets a 15% minimum end-of-discharge SOC. Aggregate capacity does not promise delivered energy in every operating state.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Usable energy / DoD (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf
- After
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf?x27645=
Note
- Current text
- One to three5kWh modules per stack; two-system branch reaches30kWh. Maximum60kWh is conditional on the manufacturer-specified eligible three-phase platform, four15kWh stacks, and SmartPS-80AI-T0 meter for three/four systems. It is not universal expansion or a pairing recommendation. Score remains exact one-module5kWh configuration; no larger-stack performance or warranty transfer. Published energy basis: beginning of life,100%DoD,0.2C and25C;no-PV/no-sunlight24h condition sets minimum end-SOC15%. Aggregate expansion is not guaranteed delivered energy in every operating state.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)
7 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Ranges
- Current text
- checked: 2026-10-05; market: AU; max: 60; min: 5; range label: 5–60 kWh; source revision: Exact Smart Battery S0 May2025 datasheet, PDF2 scalability rows and footnote6; source url: https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf?x27645=; unit: kWh
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetUsable energy / DoD (%)Model
- Before
- IS-BATT-5000-BMS with 1-3 IS-BATT-5000-ES modules; up to two systems in parallel
- After
- IS-BATT-5000-BMS with 1-3 IS-BATT-5000-ES modules per system; up to two systems on supported platforms, or four on eligible three-phase installations with the specified smart meter
Modularity & scalability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/
- After
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf?x27645=
Source revision
- Current text
- Smart Battery S0 May 2025 technical specification, March 2026 warranty, CER battery export and ABR certificate-holder status reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Conditional battery expansion reviewed5October2026 against exact May2025 datasheet PDF2/footnote6; one-module scored reference unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetNote
- Before
- The range uses one to three 5 kWh modules per system and up to two systems. The score remains anchored to one reviewed 5 kWh configuration.
- After
- One to three5kWh modules per stack; two-system branch reaches30kWh. Maximum60kWh is conditional on the manufacturer-specified eligible three-phase platform, four15kWh stacks, and SmartPS-80AI-T0 meter for three/four systems. It is not universal expansion or a pairing recommendation. Score remains exact one-module5kWh configuration; no larger-stack performance or warranty transfer.
9 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- iStore is an Australian brand and warranty counterparty. No iStore German manufacturer catalogue lists IS-BATT-5000. Huawei Germany's SUN2000 and LUNA2000 pages are different identities and are not transferred onto this iStore record.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://istore.net.au/; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://solar.huawei.com/de/; https://solar.huawei.com/de/products/
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- iStore's manufacturer surface is istore.net.au. No iStore United States catalogue lists IS-BATT-5000. Huawei US or global SUN2000 / LUNA2000 pages are different identities and are not transferred onto iStore SKUs.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://istore.net.au/; https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://solar.huawei.com/de/products/
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
Source revision
- Before
- Smart Battery S0 May 2025 technical specification, March 2026 warranty, CER battery export and ABR certificate-holder status reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- Smart Battery S0 May 2025 technical specification, March 2026 warranty, CER battery export and ABR certificate-holder status reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No comparable battery round-trip efficiency is published in the reviewed exact product, technical specification or governing warranty.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://istore.net.au/istore-solar-battery-5000es/; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/is-battery-tech-specs-May2025.pdf; https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/pv-products-warranty-March2026.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://istore.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/pv-products-warranty-March2026.pdf
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The warranty publishes an energy-throughput limit at 70% end of life, not a cycle-life test result.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Smart Battery S0 scores 63, placing 44 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (94), running 9.6 points above the class average on this dimension. Energy Ecosystem (48) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 2.5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar