The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
All-in-one energy system
Presents storage and power conversion as one integrated product or product platform.
- Product role
- Battery modules, inverter functions and controls are packaged as one purchasing architecture.
- Published range
- 9.6–57.6 kWh
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 95%. Published usable energy: 9.6 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.9.6 kWh usableScored configuration: BW-INV-SPH5K with one BW-BAT-10.1P. Published range 9.6–57.6 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses one 9.6 kWh usable BW-BAT-10.1P module rather than rewarding the largest supported six-module stack.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
68 / 100#30 of 90 batteriesWhole-home, seamless (<20ms)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses one 9.6 kWh usable BW-BAT-10.1P module rather than rewarding the largest supported six-module stack. Scored model: BW-INV-SPH5K with one BW-BAT-10.1P · checked 2026-08-01. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-04
Strong evidence coverage
21 of 21 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceWarranty terms: the maker's commitment4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 5 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingWarranty terms: the maker's commitment1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim1 row in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Bytewatt Australian BW-ESS 3.6-5 kW with BW-BAT-10.1P datasheet and AU/NZ warranty A7 reviewed 2026-08-01. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
2 changes to this record · 19 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
AC terminal & connection protection: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
1 change to this record · 4 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
6 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- neovoltess.com returns HTTP 403. No German catalogue was retrieved. Held is not unavailable.
- After
- On 9 October 2026 neovoltess.com/de returned HTTP 200. The German datasheet for BW-ESS 3.6~5kW (10.1P) names BW-INV-SPH5K and BW-BAT10.1P. The German warranty page lists only the Australia and New Zealand warranty document, and no warranty document issued for Germany was found among the pages read. Held is not unavailable.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.neovoltess.com/
- After
- https://www.neovoltess.com/; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738984648813447.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.neovoltess.com/Datasheet; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1732847861810267.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.neovoltess.com/Datasheet; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1732847861810267.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/cec20260928usermanualbwbat101p.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/cec20260928warrantydoucument.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia and New Zealand; the inverter and BW-BAT-10.1P receive 10-year product cover and a 70% retained-capacity endpoint. Standard solar self-consumption, time shifting and backup use carry unlimited-cycle coverage, subject to the published conditions. Any other application, or any combination that includes one, carries 38.38 MWh of aggregate throughput for BW-BAT-10.1P, measured at the battery AC output.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceAU market evidence+4 in JSON recordUS Support Note
- Before
- neovoltess.com returns a Cloudflare HTTP 403 challenge. No United States catalogue naming BW-INV-SPH5K with BW-BAT-10.1P was retrieved. Held is not unavailable. TPH10K is a different identity.
- After
- On 9 October 2026 neovoltess.com returned HTTP 200 for its home, Datasheet and Download-center pages. The language and region switch offers EN, DE, IT, PL and AU. No United States catalogue naming BW-INV-SPH5K with BW-BAT-10.1P was found among the pages read. Held is not unavailable. TPH10K is a different identity.
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: The installer rebate is conditional and not full labour cover.; registration: Authorised installation, claim evidence and RMA conditions apply. The BW-BAT-10.1P installation, operation and maintenance manual (V03, section 9.4) states that a part of the warranty is based on cloud connection to the Bytewatt web server. The governing warranty document does not state this condition.; remedy: On-site or service-centre repair, or replacement at Bytewatt's option.; removal reinstallation: Removal and reinstallation are not promised.; transferability: No clear later-owner transfer process was found in the governing terms.; transport: Replacement dispatch and return conditions apply; full freight cover is not promised.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceAU market evidence+4 in JSON record
3 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.neovoltess.com/Datasheet; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1732847861810267.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.neovoltess.com/Datasheet; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1732847861810267.pdf; https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
AU Support Note
- Current text
- The scored reference is Bytewatt's blue-enclosure BW-INV-SPH5K and BW-BAT-10.1P system, separate from VoltX vBox and the white-enclosure BW-BAT-9.6P platform. On 4 October 2026 the CER battery export contains an exact BW-BAT-10.1P row under Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd, approved 29 September 2026 through 31 December 2027, matching 10.1 kWh nominal and 9.6 kWh usable capacity. The older expired row under Suzhou Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd remains. Exact certificate-holder continuity and physical revision/enclosure applicability need confirmation; the export does not establish complete system eligibility. The paired BW-INV-SPH5K inverter approval was not rechecked in this battery-only review; its separately recorded 18 November 2026 expiry remains a dated observation. Existing exact system datasheet and AU/NZ warranty evidence remain unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+2 in JSON recordAU Certifications
- Current text
- The 6 September 2026 CER approved-inverter export, retrieved the same day, lists the paired BW-INV-SPH5K (AS4777-2 2020) under the same manufacturer. That row carries an approved date of 22 May 2023 and an expiry date of 18 November 2026. The BW-BAT-9.6P and BW-BAT-4.8S rows in the battery export are separate identities and are not transferred. SMILE-BAT-10.1P and SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P are listed to Alpha ESS Co Ltd, a different manufacturer, and are not transferred. Cited source_version au-cer-inverter-2026-09-06-733db02cccc8.; The current CER approved-battery export checked 4 October 2026 contains a new exact BW-BAT-10.1P row under Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd, brand NEOVOLT, approved 29 September 2026 and expiring 31 December 2027, with 10.1 kWh nominal and 9.6 kWh usable capacity. It also retains the older Suzhou Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd row approved 7 March 2023 and expired 5 June 2026. These are distinct certificate-holder rows. The new row does not alone establish legal continuity between the holders or physical revision/enclosure equivalence; no II–VI variant or adjacent battery identity is transferred.; The exact Australian system datasheet publishes AS/NZS 4777.2:2020, IEC/EN 62109-1/-2 and IEC 62619:2022.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencePrimary datasheet+2 in JSON record
2 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Before
- The scored reference is Bytewatt's blue-enclosure BW-INV-SPH5K and BW-BAT-10.1P system. It is separate from VoltX vBox and from NeoVolt's white-enclosure BW-BAT-9.6P platform.
- After
- The scored reference is Bytewatt's blue-enclosure BW-INV-SPH5K and BW-BAT-10.1P system. It is separate from VoltX vBox and from NeoVolt's white-enclosure BW-BAT-9.6P platform. The two halves carry different Australian listing states in the 6 September 2026 exports. The approved-inverter export lists the paired BW-INV-SPH5K with an expiry date of 18 November 2026. The exact BW-BAT-10.1P row's expiry date of 5 June 2026 has passed and the approved-battery export carries no renewed row. The scored BW-BAT-10.1P is not a current Australian approved battery. The exact Australian system datasheet and AU/NZ warranty reviewed 1 August 2026 remain the cited evidence for this record. An expired approval row does not by itself establish a discontinuation or a legacy state for the exact system.
AU Certifications
- Before
- The exact Australian system datasheet publishes AS/NZS 4777.2:2020, IEC/EN 62109-1/-2 and IEC 62619:2022.
- After
- The 6 September 2026 CER approved-battery export, retrieved 7 September 2026, retains exact BW-BAT-10.1P and its II, III, IV, V and VI variants under manufacturer Suzhou Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd. Those rows carry an approved date of 7 March 2023 and an expiry date of 5 June 2026. That expiry date has passed and the export carries no renewed BW-BAT-10.1P row. These rows do not establish eligibility for a new installation of the exact battery after the expiry date. Cited source_version au-cer-battery-2026-09-06-c074023b3804.; The 6 September 2026 CER approved-inverter export, retrieved the same day, lists the paired BW-INV-SPH5K (AS4777-2 2020) under the same manufacturer. That row carries an approved date of 22 May 2023 and an expiry date of 18 November 2026. The BW-BAT-9.6P and BW-BAT-4.8S rows in the battery export are separate identities and are not transferred. SMILE-BAT-10.1P and SMILE-G3-BAT-10.1P are listed to Alpha ESS Co Ltd, a different manufacturer, and are not transferred. Cited source_version au-cer-inverter-2026-09-06-733db02cccc8.; The exact Australian system datasheet publishes AS/NZS 4777.2:2020, IEC/EN 62109-1/-2 and IEC 62619:2022.
2 changes to this record · 17 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Current text
- Bytewatt Australian BW-ESS 3.6-5 kW with BW-BAT-10.1P datasheet and AU/NZ warranty A7 reviewed 2026-08-01. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. T6 United States first-market overlay review 2026-09-04: official United States catalogues recorded; Australian and German overlays and scores unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheetUS Support Note
- Before
- neovoltess.com returns HTTP 403. No United States catalogue naming BW-INV-SPH5K with BW-BAT-10.1P was retrieved. Held is not unavailable. TPH10K is a different identity.
- After
- neovoltess.com returns a Cloudflare HTTP 403 challenge. No United States catalogue naming BW-INV-SPH5K with BW-BAT-10.1P was retrieved. Held is not unavailable. TPH10K is a different identity.
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- neovoltess.com returns HTTP 403. No German catalogue was retrieved. Held is not unavailable.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- neovoltess.com returns HTTP 403. No United States catalogue naming BW-INV-SPH5K with BW-BAT-10.1P was retrieved. Held is not unavailable. TPH10K is a different identity.
Source revision
- Before
- Bytewatt Australian BW-ESS 3.6-5 kW with BW-BAT-10.1P datasheet and AU/NZ warranty A7 reviewed 2026-08-01
- After
- Bytewatt Australian BW-ESS 3.6-5 kW with BW-BAT-10.1P datasheet and AU/NZ warranty A7 reviewed 2026-08-01. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification: BW-BAT-10.1P
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: BW-BAT-10.1P; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: neovolt-single-phase-5-10-1p-au; source key: data/batteries/neovolt_sph5k_10_1p_au.json; source manufacturer name: Suzhou Bytewatt Technology Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2023-03-07; candidate model: BW-BAT-10.1P; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2026-06-05; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Safety certification
21 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Round-trip efficiency (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
- After
- No longer recorded
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact Australian integrated-system datasheet publishes 90% maximum round-trip efficiency.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: The exact Australian integrated-system datasheet publishes 90% maximum round-trip efficiency. No battery/DC round-trip value is substituted into the score.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: The exact datasheet publishes an 8,000-cycle headline without a retained-capacity endpoint or complete test conditions. No cycles-to-70% value is substituted into the score.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.neovoltess.com/upload/down/1738999313441547.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact datasheet publishes an 8,000-cycle headline without a retained-capacity endpoint or complete test conditions.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Single Phase 5 scores 63, placing 45 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (81). Guarantee & Backbone scores 43, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 55. Key specifications: LFP, 5.0 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar