The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 13.3–33.25 kWh
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 95%. Published usable energy: 19.95 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.19.95 kWh usableScored configuration: RED-P1-BE21HV with RED-H3-S10HV. Published range 13.3–33.25 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Scored on the single-phase reference configuration, not the largest three-phase stack; the published range describes BE14HV through BE35HV.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge sourceCapacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
70 / 100#24 of 90 batteriesPartial (essential loads)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Scored on the single-phase reference configuration, not the largest three-phase stack; the published range describes BE14HV through BE35HV. Scored model: RED-P1-BE21HV with RED-H3-S10HV · checked 2026-08-03. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
28 of 28 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 5 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings4 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. RED-P1 and RED-H3 current AU regulator identity, warranty owner and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact single-phase HV manual V0.7 (15Sep25) thermal-control and firmware disclosures reviewed 2026-10-05; other product/market verification dates unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 3 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell provenance & traceabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
One earlier entry recorded a source recheck rather than a change to the published figure, and is not listed here. Every entry remains in the evidence record.
1 change to this record · 19 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence status
- Before
- sourced
- After
- reviewed_absence
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
8 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
Open protocol & API maturity: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20API%20Specification%20v2.23.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20API%20Specification%20v2.23.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; Redback Energy Pty Ltd. The enclosure warranty (vJ501, effective 19 March 2026) names RED-P1-BE21HV and runs for the earlier of 10 years from installation or 11 years from manufacture (clause 4.1). The separate RED-P1-7000HV module warranty (vF112, effective 1 June 2026) gives ten years on the condition that the system stays connected to the internet through the monitoring system and five years if it is not (clauses 4.1 and 4.2), with degradation not exceeding 30% over ten years and a minimum cumulative throughput of 3.65 MWh per kWh usable capacity, whichever occurs later (clause 4.4). Both warranties are transferable only while the product stays at the original location and after the new owner registers with Redback, and both exclude intentionally off-grid installations. The module warranty prints ACN 605 542 541 for Redback Energy Pty Ltd, which the ABN Lookup record shows as Redback Operations Pty Ltd; that conflict is disclosed and not reconciled.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceBackup surge / motor-start capability+9 in JSON recordThermal & fire mitigation: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
Backup surge / motor-start capability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
AU Support Note
- Current text
- This record covers the single-phase Hybrid Battery Max reference configuration: RED-P1-BE21HV with a RED-H3-S10HV inverter. The three-phase RED-H3-T series and the separate G3 system are distinct product identities. Note that the RED-P1-7000HV module named in the module warranty (vF112) does not itself appear on either CEC list; only the BExxHV enclosures do. Redback's manufacturer declaration dated 23 September 2025 lists RED-H3-S10HV among the inverters compatible with RED-P1-BE21HV. The inverter warranty vG501 (effective 1 August 2025) prints the codes RED-P1-S05HV to RED-P1-S10HV rather than the RED-H3 codes used on the CER list and the inverter data sheet, so it is not joined to this identity. Redback states that its Brisbane customer support team is available 8am to 4pm Brisbane time, Monday to Friday (installation manual v0.7, page 3). Bounded load-control review, 5 October 2026: the exact single-phase HV manual documents surplus-triggered hot-water control through Smart Load Control. Compatible hardware/firmware and the supplied meter are required, plus an installer-provided load-rated relay or contactor. This does not authorise connecting hot water to backup: the manual excludes high-power loads including hot water from that circuit. Remote firmware updates are documented; a security-support lifetime remains unestablished.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceBackup surge / motor-start capability+9 in JSON recordAU Certifications
- Current text
- Clean Energy Council approved battery, certificate BAT-927, approved 27 March 2026, covering RED-P1-BE14HV, BE21HV, BE28HV and BE35HV, listed to Redback Energy Pty Ltd, expiry 31 December 2027.; The paired RED-H3-S05HV, S06HV, S08HV and S10HV single-phase inverters are on the CER approved inverter list as RED-H3-S05HV to RED-H3-S10HV (AS4777-2 2020), listed to Redback Energy Pty Ltd, approved 26 February 2026, with expiry 26 February 2029. Redback's inverter data sheet (v1.1) and single-phase installation manual (v0.7) list AS/NZS 4777.2:2020 without an amendment reference, and no certificate number is printed on the CER list.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceBackup surge / motor-start capability+9 in JSON recordAU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Onsite or offsite repair labour is included in the stated remedy for an accepted claim; rejected claims may be invoiced.; registration: The module warranty (vF112, clauses 4.1 and 4.2) gives ten years on the condition that the system stays internet-connected through the monitoring system, and five years if it is not. The enclosure warranty (vJ501) states no five-year step but excludes damage caused by failure to maintain a stable connection to the Redback cloud (clause 6.1(b)).; remedy: Repair or replacement, either onsite by a Redback or suitably qualified technician or offsite at an authorised Redback repair facility (vJ501 clause 5.1; vF112 clauses 5.1 to 5.3). The module warranty (vF112, clause 8.3, closing paragraphs) states that if a battery module is defective, the time value of the batteries is replaced, with fair value calculated on the basis of a linear depreciation over 10 years, and that if the product is no longer available Redback may replace it with a refurbished product, or a different product or parts with equivalent functions and performance.; removal reinstallation: Relocation without prior written approval invalidates the warranty.; transferability: Transfers at the original installation after the new owner registers with Redback; relocation requires prior written approval.; transport: Transport damage is excluded and unconditional freight reimbursement is not separately promised.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceBackup surge / motor-start capability+9 in JSON recordAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=605542541; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Hybrid%20HV%20Battery%20Warranty%20vJ501%20effective_20260319.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20Product%20Warranty%20Batteries%20vF112_20260703.pdf
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=605542541; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Hybrid%20HV%20Battery%20Warranty%20vJ501%20effective_20260319.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Inverter%20Compatibility%20Statement_20250923.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20Product%20Warranty%20-%20Hybrid%201-Phase%20High%20Voltage%20Inverters%20vG501.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20Product%20Warranty%20Batteries%20vF112_20260703.pdf
13 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Thermal load management: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf
Thermal load management
- Before
- No thermal load integration
- After
- Smart relay switching (excess solar triggered)
Source revision
- Current text
- RED-P1 and RED-H3 current AU regulator identity, warranty owner and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Exact single-phase HV manual V0.7 (15Sep25) thermal-control and firmware disclosures reviewed 2026-10-05; other product/market verification dates unchanged.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceFirmware & security disclosure
- Before
- No security or firmware documentation found
- After
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
AU Support Note
- Current text
- This record covers the single-phase Hybrid Battery Max reference configuration: RED-P1-BE21HV with a RED-H3-S10HV inverter. The three-phase RED-H3-T series and the separate G3 system are distinct product identities. Note that the RED-P1-7000HV module named in the current battery warranty does not itself appear on either CEC list; only the BExxHV enclosures do. Bounded load-control review, 5 October 2026: the exact single-phase HV manual documents surplus-triggered hot-water control through Smart Load Control. Compatible hardware/firmware and the supplied meter are required, plus an installer-provided load-rated relay or contactor. This does not authorise connecting hot water to backup: the manual excludes high-power loads including hot water from that circuit. Remote firmware updates are documented; a security-support lifetime remains unestablished.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceBackup surge / motor-start capability+7 in JSON recordAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=605542541; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Hybrid%20HV%20Battery%20Warranty%20vJ501%20effective_20260319.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20Product%20Warranty%20Batteries%20vF112_20260703.pdf
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=605542541; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Hybrid%20HV%20Battery%20Warranty%20vJ501%20effective_20260319.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Product%20Data%20Sheet%20%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20Inverter%20v1.1.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Redback%20Product%20Warranty%20Batteries%20vF112_20260703.pdf
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Installation%20Manual%20-%20Redback%201-Phase%20HV%20Hybrid%20System%20v0.7.pdf
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
Source revision
- Before
- RED-P1 and RED-H3 current AU regulator identity, warranty owner and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07
- After
- RED-P1 and RED-H3 current AU regulator identity, warranty owner and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.redbacktech.com/; https://www.redbacktech.com/de/
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- www.redbacktech.com/de returns the same Australian integrator shell and does not name RED-P1-BE21HV. SH-G3-BE is not transferred.
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.redbacktech.com/; https://www.redbacktech.com/us/
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- redbacktech.com is an Australian integrator surface. www.redbacktech.com/us returns the same shell and does not name RED-P1-BE21HV. SH-G3-BE is a different enclosure and is not transferred.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Redback publishes no cycle-life figure for the RED-P1-7000HV module; no module-level data sheet exists in its public document library.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Redback publishes no round-trip efficiency figure for any current battery. The nearest published number is the separate G3 inverter's one-way maximum battery-to-load efficiency, which is not a round-trip measurement and is not credited here.
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Hybrid Battery Max BE21HV scores 65, placing 29 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (81). Energy Ecosystem (51) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 9.99 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar