The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 9.12–18.24 kWh
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 95%. Published usable energy: 13.68 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.13.68 kWh usableScored configuration: SH-G3-BE with three Pylontech US5000 and SH6000-G3. Published range 9.12–18.24 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
Scored on the three-module reference configuration; the published range describes two to four modules. Redback's website markets up to 51.2 kWh, which its own data sheet does not support and which is not credited.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
62 / 100#49 of 90 batteriesPartial (essential loads)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. Scored on the three-module reference configuration; the published range describes two to four modules. Redback's website markets up to 51.2 kWh, which its own data sheet does not support and which is not credited. Scored model: SH-G3-BE with three Pylontech US5000 and SH6000-G3 · checked 2026-08-03. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-01
Strong evidence coverage
29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only2 rows in the rings4 warranty terms beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 5 rows in the rings beyond claim1 design fact beside the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. G3 current AU regulator identity, split warranty ownership and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Bounded exact G3 owner manual V2.2 (10Oct24), firmware-update disclosure and surplus-triggered load-control evidence reviewed 2026-10-05; other verification dates and claims not restamped.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 4 more
- Archived copy of the primary sourcePDF ↗
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- AC terminal & connection protectionNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 5 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Pylontech%20US2000%20US3000%20US5000%20Specifications%20%282023%29.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Pylontech%20US2000%20US3000%20US5000%20Specifications%20%282023%29.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
5 changes to this record · 23 products changed in this update
Backup switching speed: Evidence status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- sourced
Backup switching speed
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- <100ms fast relay (essential loads maintained; some sensitive equipment may re
Backup switching speed: Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20Owner%27s%20Manual.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Installation%20Manual_v2.6_20260513.pdf
7 changes to this record · 9 products changed in this update
Modularity & scalability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Installation%20Manual_v2.6_20260513.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia, with split exact-product obligations. Redback vD502 (effective 9 February 2026) covers SH5000-G3, SH6000-G3, their V2 variants and SH-G3-BE manufactured on or after 1 April 2025 and installed in Australia by an accredited SAA installer (clauses 2 and 3.1), for the earlier of ten years after installation or eleven years after manufacture, with two years from installation for included external network adaptors and energy meters (clause 4.1). Pylontech separately covers US5000 modules for ten years from the earlier of installation or six months after manufacture, subject to its throughput and operating conditions (warranty number RB24WUSS100904, sections 2, 3, 6 and 9). Redback's document library also lists earlier G3 warranty revisions (vD501, vC401 and v1.0), which were not read. Redback vC402 (effective 15 October 2025) names SH5000-G3V2 and SH6000-G3V2 only and does not name SH-G3-BE.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)AU market evidence+7 in JSON recordWarranty period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf; https://static.redbacktech.com/multi/portal/Pylontech-product-warranty-US-serie-V1.4-RB24WUSS100904-Australia_1750209392589.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20SH-G3-BE%20Warranty%20vD502%20effective%2009Feb2026.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf; https://static.redbacktech.com/multi/portal/Pylontech-product-warranty-US-serie-V1.4-RB24WUSS100904-Australia_1750209392589.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Pylontech%20US2000%20US3000%20US5000%20Specifications%20%282023%29.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20SH-G3-BE%20Warranty%20vD502%20effective%2009Feb2026.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf; https://static.redbacktech.com/multi/portal/Pylontech-product-warranty-US-serie-V1.4-RB24WUSS100904-Australia_1750209392589.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/all-energy/
- After
- https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Pylontech%20US2000%20US3000%20US5000%20Specifications%20%282023%29.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20SH-G3-BE%20Warranty%20vD502%20effective%2009Feb2026.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf; https://static.redbacktech.com/multi/portal/Pylontech-product-warranty-US-serie-V1.4-RB24WUSS100904-Australia_1750209392589.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/all-energy/; https://www.solar.vic.gov.au/product-lists; https://www.synergy.net.au/Global/SSL
AU Grid and installation context
- Current text
- Single-phase 230 V system listed against AS/NZS 4777.2:2020. Redback publishes installer commissioning guides for SA Power Networks dynamic exports (revision 1, 21 July 2023), Energy Queensland dynamic exports (revision 0, 20 November 2023) and the Victorian emergency backstop (version 1, 26 September 2024). Each refers to Redback Smart Hybrid inverters (SH and ST series) generically and does not name the SH5000-G3 or SH6000-G3, so its application to this exact system is not established. Final network and installer approval remain project-specific.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)AU market evidence+7 in JSON recordAU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: No unrestricted third-party labour or removal-and-reinstallation reimbursement is promised.; registration: Compliant installation, cloud availability and the requested purchase, serial, installation and operating evidence are conditions.; remedy: Redback may repair onsite or offsite or replace an accepted enclosure or inverter claim (vD502 clause 5.1). Pylontech may repair or replace an accepted US5000 module claim, and its warranty also states a ten-year time-value replacement guarantee with fair value calculated on linear depreciation over ten years (Pylontech section 4). If the product is no longer available, Pylontech may replace it with a refurbished or different product or parts with equivalent functions and performance.; removal reinstallation: No unrestricted removal and reinstallation entitlement is stated.; transferability: Transfer is available at the original installation after new-owner registration. Relocation requires prior written approval.; transport: Pylontech states that it processes transport within Australia, but unconditional owner freight cover is not promised.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)AU market evidence+7 in JSON recordAU Certifications
- Current text
- SH5000-G3 and SH6000-G3 are Clean Energy Council approved inverters under EESS-240803-1, approved 12 March 2025, recorded with an inbuilt software client.; Solar Victoria's inverter product list as of 6 October 2026 includes SH5000-G3 and SH6000-G3 under Redback Operations Pty Ltd. Synergy's Supported Solutions List, last updated 1 October 2026, records both with provisional DER-Generator and DER-Storage status.; The Pylontech US5000 and US5000-B modules are CEC-approved batteries, approved 11 May 2022, expiry 31 December 2027.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Usable energy / DoD (%)AU market evidence+7 in JSON record
9 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Thermal load management: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Thermal load management: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20Owner%27s%20Manual.pdf
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- No security or firmware documentation found
- After
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence status
- Before
- reviewed_absence
- After
- sourced
Thermal load management
- Before
- No thermal load integration
- After
- Smart relay switching (excess solar triggered)
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH5000-G3%20SH6000-G3%20Owner%27s%20Manual.pdf
Source revision
- Current text
- G3 current AU regulator identity, split warranty ownership and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged. Bounded exact G3 owner manual V2.2 (10Oct24), firmware-update disclosure and surplus-triggered load-control evidence reviewed 2026-10-05; other verification dates and claims not restamped.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Primary datasheet
9 changes to this record · 152 products changed in this update
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No German Redback catalogue names SH-G3-BE. RED-P1-BE21HV is a different identity and is not transferred.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- redbacktech.com is an Australian integrator surface. No United States catalogue names SH-G3-BE with three Pylontech US5000 modules. Raw US5000 modules are not transferred onto this Redback enclosure.
Source revision
- Before
- G3 current AU regulator identity, split warranty ownership and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07
- After
- G3 current AU regulator identity, split warranty ownership and lifecycle boundary re-audited 2026-08-07. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-09-01: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Not credited, because the available figures conflict and none is stated to the rubric's retained-capacity endpoint. The Redback-hosted Pylontech US-series specification publishes greater than 8,000 cycles at 25 C to an unstated end-of-life threshold, while review.solar's own Pylontech US5000B record carries 6,000. Publishing either as a Redback system rating would assert a figure the sources do not agree on.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SH6000-G3%20series_Datasheet_20251016.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- No round-trip efficiency is published. The data sheet publishes a maximum battery-to-load efficiency of 93.51%, which is a one-way conversion figure and is deliberately not credited as a round-trip result.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/Pylontech%20US2000%20US3000%20US5000%20Specifications%20%282023%29.pdf
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Hybrid Battery System G3 scores 67, placing 21 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (84), above the class average of 84. Energy Ecosystem (55) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 6.0 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar