back to batteries

Emerging

SigenStor 5S-8 System

7.8 kWh · LFP · All-in-one

SigenergyReleased 2024

75/ 100

Superior

Global

LFPVPP-Ready

The verdict. In our Emerging class, Sigenergy SigenStor 5S-8 System leads on capacity & usability. Home-battery reliability is rarely independently verified, so judge on chemistry, safety certification and the backing company.

Compare this battery →Ask Watt →

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability90
Power & Efficiency69
Longevity (verified)59
Safety & Chemistry83
Guarantee & Backbone74
Energy Ecosystem82

Our reading

Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (90). Longevity (verified) (59) is the dimension with the most room to move. Key specifications: LFP, 5.0 kW continuous output.

The data

Chemistry
LFP
Power
5.0kW
Round-trip
Not recorded
Cycle life
Not recorded
Technology architecture

All-in-one energy system

Architecture guide

Presents storage and power conversion as one integrated product or product platform.

Product role
Battery modules, inverter functions and controls are packaged as one purchasing architecture.
Published range
7.8 kWh
Phase
Not recorded
Backup boundary
Installation-specific
Architecture describes the product boundary. It is not a system design or an equipment-pairing decision.
Decision evidence

What the documents establish

Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.

Usable capacity

97% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 7.8 kWh in the scored configuration.

7.8 kWh usableScored configuration: SigenStor-5S-8 (EC 5.0 SP plus BAT 8.0).

The remaining 3% stays in the pack as reserve; the home never draws it.

Nominal capacity is not stated here. The usable kWh and the depth-of-discharge percentage are sourced separately, at times from different documents and different module counts, so dividing one by the other would produce a nominal figure no manufacturer published.

Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

7.8 kWhfull5.5at yr 10
60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.

Blackout protection

81 / 100#7 of 90 batteries
fleet low 40median 64fleet high 100
No backupGrid-forming

Whole-home, seamless (<20ms)

Continuous power
5kW
Surge / motor-start
Surge rated
Off-grid solar recharge
Yes, documented
AC terminal protection
Not specified

The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.

Software capability

mySigen

Evidence notes, not a score. mySigen is a module on this host record, not a separate product SKU. Empty axes stay empty. Last verified 2026-08-31.

Live visibilityOpen

The SigenStor record names mySigen app monitoring. Power, state of charge, tariffs and history are not separately pinned on this host.

  • monitoring. The scored Integration and ecosystem field records mySigen app monitoring on SigenStor. Source
ControlOpen

Smart-load control and a live Australian VPP programme are pinned. Schedules, backup reserve and export limit are not separately pinned.

  • smart-load control. The AU SigenStor Home manual documents smart-load control, mySigen, Fast Ethernet, WLAN and optional 4G communications. Source
  • VPP opt-in. Sigenergy documents live VPP integrations in Australia. An open public aggregator API is not claimed. Source
Local versus cloudOpen

A local Modbus TCP server is published. Warranty cover depends on internet connectivity. Operation of every customer control without cloud remains unestablished on this host.

  • local Modbus TCP. Sigenergy publishes a local Modbus TCP server for third-party EMS integration and a cloud API used for VPP integration. SourceSource
  • connectivity for warranty term. Internet connectivity is required for the ten-year term. More than 90 days offline triggers Safe Operation Mode; more than one year offline can reduce coverage to five years. Claims normally use mySigen. Source
  • every customer control without cloud. The host already records that operation of every customer control without cloud remains unestablished. SourceSource
InteropOpen

Modbus TCP and a cloud API are pinned. Matter is not pinned.

  • Modbus. Sigenergy publishes a local Modbus TCP server for third-party EMS integration. Source
  • API. A cloud API is documented for VPP integration. An open public aggregator API is not claimed. SourceSource
ScopeOpen

The host describes an integrated inverter, battery, bidirectional EV hardware and smart-load control. Backup switching names a separate Energy Gateway. Those are scope notes on SigenStor, not a new SKU.

  • inverter, battery, EV, loads. SigenStor is recorded as hybrid inverter, battery and bidirectional EV hardware with smart-load control for high-power equipment including heat pumps, pool heaters and immersion heaters. SourceSource
  • gateway. Backup switching requires the separate Sigen Energy Gateway. That device is named on the host; it is not treated as this software module's SKU. Source
Version pinOpen

No mySigen app version or firmware identity string was read for this calibration.

No citation pinned on this axis yet.

Software capability index

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed SigenStor 5S-8 System configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. The score is confined to SigenStor-5S-8 and does not inherit specifications from larger stacks or controllers. Scored model: SigenStor-5S-8 (EC 5.0 SP plus BAT 8.0) · checked 2026-08-07. Evidence.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-31

Strong evidence coverage

28 of 28 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. SigenStor Australian system and BAT 8.0 data, AU/NZ factory warranty dated 2025-06-10, CER exports and ABR status reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.

Change ledger

Product record history

2 changes to this record · 109 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Name Rating

    Before
    Very Good
    After
    Superior
    Primary datasheet
  2. Record updated

    Rating

    Before
    Very good
    After
    Superior
    Primary datasheet
7 changes to this record · 61 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    DE Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sigenergy.com/de/products/sigenstor; https://www.sigenergy.com/de/support/files/502; https://www.sigenergy.com/de/support/files/973
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    DE Warranty scope

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Germany; no German warranty PDF naming SigenStor BAT 8.0 was attached, so six-field terms are not transferred from the Australian factory warranty.
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    DE Grid and installation context

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The German SigenStor family page describes a single-phase stack. VDE-AR-N 4105 is documented for SigenStor EC 5.0 SP. The Australian system code SigenStor-5S-8 is the scored reference configuration and is not claimed as a German SKU. Site approval remains installation-specific.
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    DE Status

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    available
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    DE Certifications

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    A German-hosted VDE-AR-N 4105 Certificate of Conformity names SigenStor EC 5.0 SP among the single-phase energy-controller models. A German-hosted Sigen Battery heating-pad technical note names SigenStor BAT 8.0.
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
  6. Record updated

    Source revision

    Before
    SigenStor Australian system and BAT 8.0 data, AU/NZ factory warranty dated 2025-06-10, CER exports and ABR status reviewed 2026-08-07
    After
    SigenStor Australian system and BAT 8.0 data, AU/NZ factory warranty dated 2025-06-10, CER exports and ABR status reviewed 2026-08-07. First-market DE overlay review 2026-08-31: official German catalogues recorded; Australian and United States overlays and scores unchanged.
    Primary datasheet
  7. Evidence added

    DE Support Note

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    sigenergy.com/de lists SigenStor as a current German family. Exact EC 5.0 SP and BAT 8.0 names appear on German support files rather than as a German 5S-8 catalogue string. This record is not data/inverters/sigenergy.json. United States BAT 6.0 US / BAT 9.0 US modules are not transferred onto BAT 8.0. Manufacturer listing is established; distributor inventory is not inferred.
    DE market evidenceDE market evidence+1 in JSON record
1 change to this record · 6 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Manufacturing track record: Evidence sources

    Before
    https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/au_download/1741071661964543.pdf; https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/en_content/sigenergy_sustainability_report_en_2024.pdf
    After
    https://www.gurufocus.com/news/8797289/3-years-and-11-months-aiallinone-pv-storage-sigenergy-listed-on-hkex-fastest-ipo-record-for-a-chinese-enterprise
    Manufacturing track record+2 in JSON record
3 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Manufacturing track record

    Before
    1-4 years, scaling
    After
    4-10 years (or new brand, strong parent heritage)
    Financial strength & warranty backingsupersededPrimary datasheet
  2. Record updated

    Guarantee & Backbone pillar score

    Before
    69
    After
    73.5
    Primary datasheet
  3. Record updated

    Global score

    Before
    74.3
    After
    74.9
    Primary datasheet
2 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Canonical identity

    Before
    Sigenergy SigenStor 7.8 kWh
    After
    Sigenergy SigenStor 5S-8 System
    Primary datasheet
  2. Record updated

    Published name

    Before
    SigenStor
    After
    SigenStor 5S-8 System
    Primary datasheet
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The exact battery datasheet and warranty do not publish a comparable battery-system round-trip efficiency figure.
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/au_download/1741055806763850.pdf; https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/en_download/1693548782125366.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Warranty throughput+8 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The reviewed exact BAT 8.0 datasheet and warranty do not publish cycle life to a 70% retained-capacity endpoint.
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Commissioning+8 in JSON record
  8. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/au_download/1741055806763850.pdf; https://www.sigenergy.com/uploads/en_download/1693548782125366.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Warranty throughput+8 in JSON record

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. DE market evidence checked
  3. AU market evidence checked
  4. Series benchmark evidence checked
  5. Plain-language warranty summary checked
  6. US market evidence checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Further reading from Findings

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.