The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
Hybrid inverter
Manages PV, battery DC and household AC through the inverter platform.
- Product role
- The battery remains a separate product even when it belongs to the same branded platform.
- Published range
- 3–6 kW
- Phase
- Single phase
- Backup boundary
- Essential-load capability recorded
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Warranty coverage: 10-year term
Coverage includes
Parts, labour & extendable · term longer than 24 of 95 scored inverters
No inverter in the fleet publishes a year-by-year performance or output guarantee the way panels and batteries do - this shows the covered term against the market-typical term and where every scored inverter’s term lands (grey dots, sized by model count), plus what the warranty actually includes.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score is anchored to the highest Australian model in this exact single-phase hybrid series. Scored model: ESI 6K-S1 · checked 2026-07-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-30
Strong evidence coverage
27 of 27 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings
- EnduranceManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 2 rows in the rings beyond claim
- BackingManufacturer claim2 rows in the rings2 warranty terms beside the rings
- FitManufacturer claim6 rows in the rings7 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for inverters
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. SOFAR ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet V2.4, 2026-01-26; SOFAR Australia warranty AU-202301-v1. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 4 more
- Grid & safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Semiconductor technologyNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- VPP & grid services readinessNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- EV charging integrationNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Thermal load managementNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 3 products changed in this update
Grid & safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20240205/1707119098881072612.pdf
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20240205/1707119098881072612.pdf
3 changes to this record · 7 products changed in this update
DE Warranty scope
- Current text
- Germany. SOFARSOLAR's Factory Warranty Terms and Conditions for Europe (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, updated 15 December 2025) apply to products installed in European countries and ordered after 15 December 2025. Page 1 lists the ESI Series as an energy storage inverter with a 10-year standard warranty period. The document is silent on terms for goods ordered before that date. The ESI 3-6K-S1 installation and user manual (Issue 01, 28 August 2025) names the six models on PDF page 5 and refers to ESI Series products on PDF page 9, so the series term covers ESI 3-6K-S1. The six warranty terms are taken from this document and are not transferred from the Australian factory warranty. Additional warranty promises from local distributors are outside this document (pages 1 and 2). A separate Germany, Austria and Switzerland battery instrument is not this inverter overlay.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Modularity & scalabilityDE market evidence+2 in JSON recordDE Warranty conditions
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- labour: The warranty includes the cost of work and material necessary to regain a faultless functioning inverter (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, page 3). Warranty services are free of charge only if the action is agreed with SOFARSOLAR in advance (page 3).; registration: Defects are reported to the service hotline for registering, and the warranty card is sent to the service department by fax or email to process the claim (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, page 2). A warranty card not sent back to the distributor, dealer or SOFARSOLAR is listed among the exclusions (page 4, exclusion 1). Extended warranty periods can be purchased to 10, 15 or 20 years; applications are made within 60 months of production with the serial number and a copy of the warranty card, and SOFARSOLAR reserves the right to accept or reject them (page 5).; remedy: A faulty inverter within the warranty period is repaired by SOFARSOLAR, repaired on-site, or exchanged for a refurbished inverter that includes all firmware updates (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, page 3). SOFARSOLAR replaces any product or part proved defective in design or manufacture during the warranty period (page 4).; removal reinstallation: SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4 states no removal or reinstallation cover, so no removal or reinstallation entitlement is established. Page 3 excludes the costs of the user's own staff and states that SOFARSOLAR informs the user of charges beyond the warranty coverage within 3 working days before on-site service.; transferability: SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4 does not state whether the warranty passes to a subsequent owner. On an exchange, the remainder of the warranty period transfers to the replacement unit (page 3).; transport: Transports, the travel and accommodation costs of SOFARSOLAR personnel, and the costs of the user's own staff are not included in the warranty (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, page 3). Faulty inverters and components are returned to SOFARSOLAR in original or equivalent packaging (page 3). Damage during transportation is excluded and is claimed from the shipping company or insurer (page 4, exclusion 7). The document states no freight allowance.
DE Warranty confirmation
- Before
- unconfirmed
- After
- No longer recorded
4 changes to this record · 23 products changed in this update
Firmware & security disclosure
- Before
- Firmware updates referenced; no security documentation
- After
- Security page or vulnerability disclosure published
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://au.sofarsolar.com/service.html
- After
- https://www.sofarsolar.com/download.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20240422/1713765411871092356.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20240426/1714123381345030542.pdf
8 changes to this record · 8 products changed in this update
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://de.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20251016/1760577960728020035.pdf
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://de.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20251016/1760577960728020035.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260722/1784700254264041258.pdf
AU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20241022/1729584191985072691.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20241022/1729584191985072691.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260527/1779850325032034632.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260722/1784700424196066989.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- SOFAR Australia's published factory warranty (Version 2.5, updated 15 December 2025) covers ESI-series energy-storage inverters for 10 years and includes one freight to the end user plus labour and material needed to restore a functioning product, subject to the claim conditions. Version 2.4 (updated 1 May 2025) names ESI 3-6K-S1 at 120 months. Paid extension options are available.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Modularity & scalabilityWarranty period (yrs)+3 in JSON recordHybrid / battery capability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf
Monitoring & smart features: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf
DE Warranty scope
- Current text
- Germany. SOFARSOLAR's Factory Warranty Terms and Conditions for Europe (SF-WI-GS-007 A2, Version 1.4, updated 15 December 2025) apply to products installed in European countries and ordered after 15 December 2025, and list the ESI Series as an energy storage inverter with a 10-year standard warranty period. The document does not name ESI 3-6K-S1 or its models, so six-field terms are not attached and are not transferred from the Australian factory warranty. A separate Germany, Austria and Switzerland battery instrument is not this inverter overlay.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Modularity & scalabilityDE market evidence+2 in JSON recordAU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: Necessary approved repair labour and material are covered.; registration: Paid extensions to 15 or 20 years are subject to the purchase deadline.; remedy: On-site or off-site repair, replacement or equivalent remedy.; removal reinstallation: Travel and accommodation costs of SOFARSOLAR personnel and costs of associated third-party staff and personnel are not covered (clause 2, Version 2.5).; transferability: No subsequent-owner transfer right was found in the governing terms.; transport: The cost of one freight to the end user is covered; other transport costs are not covered (clause 2, Version 2.5).
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Modularity & scalabilityWarranty period (yrs)+3 in JSON recordBackup / islanding: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260316/1773653907482011378.pdf
1 change to this record · 32 products changed in this update
DE Warranty confirmation
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unconfirmed
11 changes to this record · 12 products changed in this update
DE Grid and installation context
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Single-phase 220/230/240 V PowerAll inverter family. The manual lists VDE-AR-N 4105. DNSP and site settings remain installation-specific. ESI-5-12K-T1 is a different family.
US Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
US Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.sofarsolar.com/contact.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/battery/BTS%205K.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html
US Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://de.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20251016/1760577960728020035.pdf
DE Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The German ESI 3-6K-S1 product page names the exact family. The manufacturer manual lists Germany VDE-AR-N 4105 as a selectable grid code for ESI 3K-S1 through ESI 6K-S1.
DE Warranty scope
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Germany; a Europe-outside-Germany battery instrument is not this inverter overlay. No German inverter warranty naming ESI 3-6K-S1 was attached, so six-field terms are not transferred from the Australian factory warranty.
DE Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- available
Source revision
- Before
- SOFAR ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet V2.4, 2026-01-26; SOFAR Australia warranty AU-202301-v1
- After
- SOFAR ESI 3-6K-S1 datasheet V2.4, 2026-01-26; SOFAR Australia warranty AU-202301-v1. First-market US and DE overlay review 2026-08-30: official regional catalogues recorded; Australian overlays and scores unchanged.
DE Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- de.sofarsolar.com names ESI 3-6K-S1. BTS 5K composition in PowerAll manuals is documented identity, not a pairing recommendation. Manufacturer listing is established; distributor inventory is not inferred.
US Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- SOFARSOLAR's contact region list names Germany/Austria/Switzerland, Australia, the UK and other territories. It does not name the United States. No official US host lists ESI 3-6K-S1. us.sofarsolar.com does not resolve. HYD 5-20KTL-3PH is not this PowerAll identity.
4 changes to this record · 73 products changed in this update
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://au.sofarsolar.com/product/residentialstorage/storageinverter/ESI%203-6K-S1.html; https://www.sofarsolar.com/upload/file/20260128/1769582404044005609.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Direct-pv hybrid inverter with 2 independent MPPTs at the scored model boundary.
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- supported
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- US market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
PowerAll ESI 3-6K-S1 scores 73, placing 11 of 25 in the Value & Volume class against a class average of 72.1. Its strongest scoring dimension is thermal & physical resilience (85), above the class average of 81. Energy Ecosystem scores 40, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on energy ecosystem is 51. Key specifications: 97.8% peak efficiency, 2 MPPT inputs, 10-year warranty.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar