back to batteries

Premium Integrated · financial note below

Home Battery 400V

9.7 kWh · NMC · DC-coupled

SolarEdgeReleased 2022

69/ 100

Very good

Global

UL9540AVPP-Ready

The verdict. In our Premium Integrated class, SolarEdge Home Battery 400V leads on capacity & usability. See the financial standing note above. A long warranty is only as good as the business behind it.

5thof 13 in Premium IntegratedTop halfclass average 64.9
Compare this batteryAsk Watt →
Worth knowing. SolarEdge reported a US$57.4 million GAAP net loss in Q1 2026, while generating US$24.4 million of operating cash flow and ending the quarter with US$246.2 million of cash and investments net of debt. It remains Nasdaq-listed and operational. These are figures for one reporting period: a loss can reflect an investment cycle as readily as a decline, and either may take several years to resolve either way. Source. One reporting period is not a trend, and a figure like this can sit alongside investment the same company has disclosed. Read the source, then ask your retailer what warranty backing applies.

The assessment

How it scores, by category

Capacity & Usability86
Power & Efficiency75
Longevity (verified)61
Safety & Chemistry75
Guarantee & Backbone50
Energy Ecosystem71

Market position

5thof 13 in Premium IntegratedTop half
516976

Our reading

Home Battery 400V scores 69, placing 5 of 13 in the Premium Integrated class against a class average of 64.9. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (86), running 11.1 points above the class average on this dimension. Guarantee & Backbone scores 50, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on guarantee & backbone is 60. Key specifications: NMC, 94.5% round-trip efficiency, 5 kW continuous output.

The data

Chemistry
NMC
Power
5kW
Round-trip
94.5%
Cycle life
Not recorded
Technology architecture

DC-coupled battery

Architecture guide

Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.

Product role
The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
Published range
9.7 kWh
Phase
Not recorded
Backup boundary
Installation-specific
Architecture describes the product boundary. It is not a system design or an equipment-pairing decision.
Decision evidence

What the documents establish

Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.

Usable capacity

97% of this battery’s nominal capacity is usable, 9.7 kWh in the scored configuration.

9.7 kWh usableScored configuration: SolarEdge Home Battery / Energy Bank (BAT-10K1PS0B).

The remaining 3% stays in the pack as reserve; the home never draws it.

Nominal capacity is not stated here. The usable kWh and the depth-of-discharge percentage are sourced separately, at times from different documents and different module counts, so dividing one by the other would produce a nominal figure no manufacturer published.

Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source

Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10

9.7 kWhfull6.8at yr 10
60708090100Rated capacity 100%Guaranteed floor 70.0%70.0%0yr2yr4yr6yr8yr10yr
Rated capacity (reference)Guaranteed floor: 70.0% at yr 10

No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.

Blackout protection

62 / 100#50 of 90 batteries
fleet low 40median 64fleet high 100
No backupGrid-forming

Whole-home (via hybrid inverter)

Continuous power
5kW
Switchover
>100ms / undisclosed
Surge / motor-start
Surge rated
Off-grid solar recharge
Yes, documented
AC terminal protection
Not specified

The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.

Before you buy
Local positionUse a market view to check local availability, approvals and warranty scope.
Ask the installerWhat usable capacity, backup power and warranted operating conditions will the installed Home Battery 400V configuration deliver?

Verification & sources

Market context

Global evidencechange in the site menu

Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.

Benchmark anchor. Scored model: SolarEdge Home Battery / Energy Bank (BAT-10K1PS0B) · checked 2026-08-01. Evidence.

Sources & references · checked 2026-08-29

Strong evidence coverage

30 of 30 scored criteria link directly to a published source.

Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.

Record revision. Multi-market warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU, US or IN overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument.

Change ledger

Product record history

3 changes to this record · 23 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    US Warranty conditions

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    labour: Labour, travel and boarding for on-site repair, uninstall and reinstall are excluded unless SolarEdge agrees otherwise in writing.; registration: No separate product-registration portal is stated. Cover requires connection to an approved SolarEdge inverter and the Monitoring Platform for the full term, with serial number, purchase evidence and prompt notice of a claimed defect.; remedy: SolarEdge may repair, replace with an equivalent product, or issue a credit up to the remaining capacity value toward SolarEdge products.; removal reinstallation: Uninstalling and reinstalling costs are excluded. Moving the battery from its original site without SolarEdge's written consent ends cover.; transferability: The remaining term may transfer to an assignee provided the battery is not moved from its original installation site or deinstalled and reinstalled.; transport: Where SolarEdge invokes its return procedure, it bears shipping and customs on the repaired or replaced unit to a designated location in countries where it has an office or a significant PV market. Buyer-arranged shipping is excluded.
    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  2. Record updated

    US Warranty scope

    Current text
    United States; SolarEdge Limited SolarEdge Home Battery 400V Warranty for North America, revised May 2025, runs 10 years from installation or 12 months from shipment, whichever comes first, and retains 70% energy capacity. Cycles are unlimited for standard solar self-consumption, time-of-use, backup and SolarEdge-managed use, or capped at 26 MWh under third-party management. The warrantor is SolarEdge Technologies Ltd. The Australian and German instruments on this record are not transferred.

    The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.

    US market evidenceUS market evidence+2 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    Source revision

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Multi-market warranty-terms recovery 2026-08-29: structured AU, US or IN overlay terms recovered or held from the exact governing instrument.
    Primary datasheet
2 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
  1. Record updated

    Published name

    Before
    Home Battery
    After
    Home Battery 400V
    Primary datasheet
  2. Record updated

    Canonical identity

    Before
    SolarEdge Home Battery 9.7 kWh
    After
    SolarEdge Home Battery 400V 9.7 kWh
    Primary datasheet
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
  1. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://knowledge-center.solaredge.com/sites/kc/files/se-home-battery-10K1PS0B-01-datasheet-aus.pdf
    Usable energy / DoD (%)+11 in JSON record
  2. Evidence added

    Evidence sources

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    https://natec.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Datasheet-SolarEdge-Home-Battery-400V_ENG.pdf
    Thermal & fire mitigation+11 in JSON record
  3. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record
  4. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    reviewed_absence
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record
  5. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record
  6. Evidence added

    Value

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    The Australian datasheet publishes 94.5% peak round-trip efficiency.
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record
  7. Evidence added

    Confidence

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    high
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record
  8. Evidence added

    State

    Before
    Not previously recorded
    After
    supported
    Usable energy / DoD (%)Open protocol & API maturity+10 in JSON record

This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.

Evidence timeline

Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.

  1. Core scorecard evidence checked
  2. US market evidence checked
  3. DE market evidence checked
  4. AU market evidence checked
  5. Plain-language warranty summary checked
  6. Series benchmark evidence checked

Evidence record (JSON)

Scored by Solar Analytica Research

Further reading from Findings

Stay across the benchmark.

New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.