The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
DC-coupled battery
Stores DC energy and relies on system power electronics outside the battery product for household AC.
- Product role
- The published battery record covers the storage stack, controller and stated capacity range.
- Published range
- 9.6–25.6 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
What the documents establish
Published evidence, source-reviewed non-disclosure and unresolved questions remain separate from the product score.
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 100%. Published usable energy: 9.6 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.9.6 kWh usableScored configuration: SBR096. Published range 9.6–25.6 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score uses the 9.6 kWh SBR096 reference configuration. The Australian series spans 9.6 to 25.6 kWh per unit and supports up to four units in parallel.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2Capacity guarantee: minimum retained at year 10
No year-by-year capacity schedule is published for this product - the manufacturer guarantees only this end-of-term minimum, not a specific decline curve. Capacity figure based on the sourced usable capacity of the base configuration; modular systems scale with additional modules.
Blackout protection
68 / 100#26 of 90 batteriesWhole-home (via hybrid inverter)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score uses the 9.6 kWh SBR096 reference configuration. The Australian series spans 9.6 to 25.6 kWh per unit and supports up to four units in parallel. Scored model: SBR096 · checked 2026-07-27. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-09-02
Strong evidence coverage
29 of 29 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim6 rows
- EnduranceManufacturer claim6 rows
- SafetyCertified or regulator-listed1 of 6 rows beyond claim
- Warranty & backingManufacturer claim3 rows
- FitThird-party source1 of 8 rows beyond claim
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. Current SBR exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07. India existing-catalogue battery review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded from manufacturer Indian catalogues; scores unchanged.
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 5 more
- Safety certificationManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- VPP & grid services readinessManufacturer ↗
- Smart home & IoT depthManufacturer ↗
- Firmware & security disclosureManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
1 change to this record · 43 products changed in this update
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://aus.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20210322/DS_SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datasheet_V1.2_EN.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
- After
- https://aus.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20210322/DS_SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datasheet_V1.2_EN.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
6 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
AU Support Note
- Before
- SBR096 is current on the CER battery export until 31 October 2026. The warranty requires iSolarCloud monitoring and performance data; incomplete data reduces the promised minimum term to four years.
- After
- SBR096 is current on the CER battery export until 30 November 2026. The warranty requires iSolarCloud monitoring and performance data; incomplete data reduces the promised minimum term to four years.
US Support Note
- Current text
- The exact SBR series has no United States counterpart part. Sungrow's United States product catalogue, read on 7 October 2026, lists no residential hybrid inverter and no residential home battery. Sungrow states on its United States string inverter page that its string inverters range from 36 kW to 352 kW, and the United States products page lists only commercial, industrial and utility storage systems. The United States residential solution page names no product, and the only customer case studies it links are from South Africa and Australia. Sungrow's global product page for this family prints its own regional availability tag, and North America is not among the markets listed. On 7 October 2026 the California Energy Commission Grid Support Solar Inverter List shows 12 Sungrow entries, the smallest being SG60KU-M at 60 kW, and its Energy Storage Systems list shows 9 Sungrow entries from 257 kWh to 5,015 kWh. Neither list includes an SBR or SBH entry, and the Batteries list has no Sungrow entry. Sungrow USA Corporation is at 3200 Park Center Dr, Suite 850, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, hotline +1 833 747 6937. Its United States channel is a wholesale distributor list rather than an installer locator. Sungrow's page for this battery tags it for Europe, the Middle East and Africa, Australia and South East Asia, and its datasheet certifies to the IEC 62619, IEC 62040 and IEC 63056 series with no UL 9540 and no UL 1973. The only SBR mention found on the reviewed United States pages is a link to a South African customer case study, which is not a United States product listing.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
US market evidenceUS market evidence+8 in JSON recordAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/AbnHistory/View?id=76168258679; https://aus.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20210322/DS_SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datasheet_V1.2_EN.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/New%20knowledge%20base%20file/warranty/WD_202605_Term_Sungrow%20HV%20Battery%20Limited%20Warranty_V9.0.1.pdf; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/Warranty/warranty-registration; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/AbnHistory/View?id=76168258679; https://aus.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20210322/DS_SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datasheet_V1.2_EN.pdf; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/09/06/DS_20230721_SBR064_128_160_192_224_256_datasheet_V1_AU.pdf; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/New%20knowledge%20base%20file/warranty/WD_202605_Term_Sungrow%20HV%20Battery%20Limited%20Warranty_V9.0.1.pdf; https://service.sungrowpower.com.au/Warranty/warranty-registration; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
Firmware & security disclosure: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo; https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/trustcenter/psirt
- After
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/security-incident-response
Operating temperature range: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://aus.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20210322/DS_SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datasheet_V1.2_EN.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/09/06/DS_20230721_SBR064_128_160_192_224_256_datasheet_V1_AU.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
US Evidence sources
- Before
- https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/PropertyDetails/EnergyStorage; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/about-us/contact-us; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/find-a-distributor; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/products
- After
- https://info-support.sungrowpower.com/application/pdf/2024/09/06/DS_20230721_SBR064_128_160_192_224_256_datasheet_V1_AU.pdf; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/BatteryList; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/InverterSolarList; https://solarequipment.energy.ca.gov/Home/PropertyDetails/EnergyStorage; https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/about-us/contact-us; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/find-a-distributor; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/products; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/products/string-inverter; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/solution/residential-pv-ess-ev-charging-solution
1 change to this record · 32 products changed in this update
DE Warranty confirmation
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unconfirmed
1 change to this record · 1 product changed in this update
Certification: SBR096
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-09-11; category: battery; certification model: SBR096; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: sungrow-sbr-series-au; source key: data/batteries/sungrow_sbr.json; source manufacturer name: Sungrow Power Supply Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2023-08-02; candidate model: SBR096; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2026-11-30; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-09-06-c074023b3804; list retrieved at: 2026-09-07T08:51:43Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
Safety certification
5 changes to this record · 28 products changed in this update
IN Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/for-home; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products; https://www.sungrowpower.com/in/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system
IN Certifications
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model SBR096 is not named on Sungrow's Indian residential storage catalogue retrieved 2026-09-02. India has no public per-model BIS register.
IN Support Note
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- The exact scored model SBR096 is not named on Sungrow's Indian residential storage catalogue. India has no public per-model BIS register, so registration is not independently verified here. Absence from that catalogue is a listing fact, not a quality finding, and does not change the global score. That catalogue names MG5/6RL, MG8RL/MG10RL and MGL060. SBR128 and SBR160 appear only in a South Africa case study on the India For Home page. Those are different identities and are not transferred. Existing AU, US or DE warranty terms are not transferred.
IN Status
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- unavailable
Source revision
- Before
- Current SBR exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07
- After
- Current SBR exact-family datasheet, Australian HV Battery Limited Warranty V9.0 effective 2026-05-21, and CER battery export reviewed 2026-08-07. India existing-catalogue battery review 2026-09-02: IN overlays recorded from manufacturer Indian catalogues; scores unchanged.
1 change to this record · 147 products changed in this update
Certification: SBR096
- Current text
- accepted at: 2026-08-09; category: battery; certification model: SBR096; jurisdiction: au_cec; match method: exact_normalized_single_record; product slug: sungrow-sbr-series-au; source key: data/batteries/sungrow_sbr.json; source manufacturer name: Sungrow Power Supply Co Ltd; validation: approved at: 2023-08-02; candidate model: SBR096; data confidence: High; evidence url: https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; expires at: 2026-10-31; list data version: au-cer-battery-2026-08-20-b3f077cbe945; list retrieved at: 2026-08-27T04:30:11Z; listing status at validation: listed
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidencesupersededSafety certification
2 changes to this record · 9 products changed in this update
DE Certifications
- Before
- After
- Sungrow's exact German SBR096-256 datasheet lists CE, CEC, IEC 62619, IEC 62040, UN 38.3 and VDE 2510-50 for the published SBR family.
DE Evidence sources
- Before
- https://ger.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20240308/DE_UM_SBR096-256_Benutzerhandbuch.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/de/de/products; https://www.sungrowpower.com/de/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/warranty-terms-and-conditions-country-list-global-site
- After
- https://ger.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20211117/DE%20DS%20SBR096%20SBR128%20SBR160%20SBR192%20SBR224%20SBR256%20Datenblatt.pdf; https://ger.sungrowpower.com/upload/file/20240308/DE_UM_SBR096-256_Benutzerhandbuch.pdf; https://www.sungrowpower.com/de/de/products; https://www.sungrowpower.com/de/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256; https://www.sungrowpower.com/us/en/warranty-terms-and-conditions-country-list-global-site
2 changes to this record · 11 products changed in this update
Canonical identity
- Before
- Sungrow SBR 9.6 kWh
- After
- Sungrow SBR High-Voltage Stack 9.6 kWh
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
State
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- reviewed_absence
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
Confidence
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- high
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product battery/DC round-trip efficiency with a complete measurement boundary was established in the reviewed primary source set. This is a scoped reviewed absence, not proof that the value has never been measured.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Reviewed 2026-08-25: no exact-product cycle-life result to exactly 70% retained capacity was established in the reviewed primary source set. Warranty limits and other or unstated endpoints are not converted. This is a scoped reviewed absence.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.sungrowpower.com/au/en/products/residential-energy-storage-system/b-sbr064-096-128-160-192-224-256-alwaystaketwo
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- US market evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
- Australian certification source identity verified
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- IN market evidence checked
- DE market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
SBR High-Voltage Stack scores 73, placing 3 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is capacity & usability (94), running 9.6 points above the class average on this dimension. Key specifications: LFP, 5.76 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar