The assessment
How it scores, by category
Market position
The data
AC-coupled battery
Includes battery-side power conversion and connects on the household AC side.
- Product role
- The battery product includes its own conversion stage, while site isolation and backup controls may remain separate.
- Published range
- 6.48–12.78 kWh
- Phase
- Not recorded
- Backup boundary
- Installation-specific
Usable capacity
Stated depth of discharge: 90%. Published usable energy: 12.78 kWh in the scored configuration. These values may have different measurement conditions.12.78 kWh usableScored configuration: SB14200. Published range 6.48–12.78 kWh.
The stated depth of discharge and published usable energy can have different test conditions or configuration limits. They do not by themselves establish nominal capacity or a reserve that is always inaccessible. Delivered AC energy and runtime also depend on the inverter, settings and loads.
The score is anchored to SB14200. Smart Hybrid and later Redback hybrid systems are separate product identities.
Usable capacity sourceDepth-of-discharge source 1Depth-of-discharge source 2Blackout protection
48 / 100#73 of 90 batteriesPartial (essential loads)
The blackout score is a standalone benchmark of outage resilience only - it re-weights sourced specs already scored in this product’s pillars (backup tier, switchover, surge strength, backup power, off-grid recharge) and never affects the overall score. Dots show the full battery fleet; the marker is this product.
Verification & sources
Market context
Global evidencechange in the site menu
Global benchmark. This scorecard is benchmarked globally. A global score does not imply local availability, certification, warranty coverage, or installer compatibility.
Benchmark anchor. The score is anchored to SB14200. Smart Hybrid and later Redback hybrid systems are separate product identities. Scored model: SB14200 · checked 2026-08-01. Evidence.
Sources & references · checked 2026-08-07
Strong evidence coverage
26 of 26 scored criteria link directly to a published source.
Values marked estimated, derived, or not found remain visible on the audit sheet and do not carry the same evidential weight as a linked source. Coverage measures direct links, not an independent guarantee that a claim is correct.
How far the evidence reaches
- OutputManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings2 design facts beside the rings
- EnduranceReviewed absence only4 rows in the rings1 warranty term beside the rings
- SafetyManufacturer claim5 rows in the rings
- BackingManufacturer claim3 rows in the rings
- FitManufacturer claim4 rows in the rings3 design facts beside the rings
- FootprintNot assessed for batteries
Rings, outside in: manufacturer claim, certified or regulator-listed, third-party source. The centre is review.solar's own measurement, empty for every product today. Warranty terms and design facts that rest on the maker's own word are counted beside the rings; a reviewed absence, or one that reaches beyond the maker's claim, stays in them. How the evidence puzzle works
Record revision. SB14200 regulator expiry, installed-base service and non-assumption boundary re-audited 2026-08-07
- Sourced valuesData card →
- Warranty summary10-year product warranty →
Show 4 more
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Manufacturing track recordManufacturer ↗
- Open protocol & API maturityManufacturer ↗
- Financial strength & warranty backingManufacturer ↗
Help strengthen this record
These are published evidence gaps, not private submissions. A source is reviewed under the same methodology whether it comes from a reader, installer or manufacturer.
- Backup surge / motor-start capabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Warranty throughputNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Verified reliabilityNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
- Cell balancing architectureNot stated in reviewed documentsThe public documents reviewed for this record do not state this value. A published or independent source is requested.Offer a source
Product record history
5 changes to this record · 6 products changed in this update
Cell provenance & traceability: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
EV charging integration: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
AC terminal & connection protection: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Smart home & IoT depth: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://api.redbacktech.com/
- After
- https://api.redbacktech.com/; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf
Cell balancing architecture: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
6 changes to this record · 10 products changed in this update
Thermal & fire mitigation: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Safety certification: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Continuous power output (kW): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Ingress protection (outdoor): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Usable energy / DoD (%): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Operating temperature range: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
7 changes to this record · 1 product changed in this update
AU Warranty conditions
- Current text
- labour: No unconditional labour reimbursement established in the exact RB-HVS policy; system-level cover remains unresolved.; registration: RB-HVS claims: notify Pylontech within48hours of defect discovery. Registered owners use the website claim form; unregistered owners submit the supplied warranty card to Pylontech or the authorised reseller. Invoice and system logs required; logs are not determinative. Confirm the supplied policy applies.; remedy: Recovered RB-HVS policy: Pylontech repair or replacement of defective battery/BMS within the applicable period; if unavailable, refurbished or equivalent-function/performance products or parts may be supplied. Replacement retains the original remaining term. System-level SB14200 remedy and legacy liability remain unresolved.; removal reinstallation: No unconditional removal/reinstallation cost reimbursement established. Relocation needs written Pylontech confirmation; this is not a funded relocation promise.; transferability: The exact RB-HVS policy does not establish a subsequent-owner transfer right. Relocation requires written Pylontech confirmation. The generic Redback FAQ and SB14000 system policy are not transferred to SB14200 without an exact-code join.; transport: No unconditional freight reimbursement established in the exact RB-HVS policy. Transport damage is excluded; disputed testing is initially customer-funded, reimbursed by Pylontech if the claim is valid.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceWarranty period (yrs)+12 in JSON recordAU Evidence sources
- Before
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://api.redbacktech.com/; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-C1-T%EF%BC%88100-125%EF%BC%89AC%20Inverter%20Warranty%20vE101_20250815.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://ir.ebang.com/static-files/09d5bf69-0e76-4034-bc4b-ffbd14571637; https://portal.redbacktech.com/Account/Login; https://publishednotices.asic.gov.au/browsesearch-notices/notice-details/Redback-Technologies-Holdings-Pty-Ltd-Subject-to-Deed-of-Company-Arrangement-634626538/25796e54-cbbe-4007-ab1d-74639e04f964; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/redback_installer_brochure.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://abr.business.gov.au/ABN/View?id=35682761548; https://api.redbacktech.com/; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-inverters-0; https://cer.gov.au/document/cec-approved-solar-batteries-0; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/employee-installer-company/Pylontech%20RB-HVS%20Warranty%20AU%2011Aug2021.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-C1-T%EF%BC%88100-125%EF%BC%89AC%20Inverter%20Warranty%20vE101_20250815.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/RED-P1-BE35HV%20series_Data%20Sheet_20260326.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-9600-14000%20Warranty%20v3.5%20effective%2014Jul2023.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf; https://ir.ebang.com/static-files/09d5bf69-0e76-4034-bc4b-ffbd14571637; https://portal.redbacktech.com/Account/Login; https://publishednotices.asic.gov.au/browsesearch-notices/notice-details/Redback-Technologies-Holdings-Pty-Ltd-Subject-to-Deed-of-Company-Arrangement-634626538/25796e54-cbbe-4007-ab1d-74639e04f964; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/redback_installer_brochure.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Warranty period (yrs): Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/employee-installer-company/Pylontech%20RB-HVS%20Warranty%20AU%2011Aug2021.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-9600-14000%20Warranty%20v3.5%20effective%2014Jul2023.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-SB9600-SB14200%20Data%20Sheet%20v2.5.pdf
Warranty throughput: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/employee-installer-company/Pylontech%20RB-HVS%20Warranty%20AU%2011Aug2021.pdf
Warranty assurance: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/redback_installer_brochure.pdf; https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/employee-installer-company/Pylontech%20RB-HVS%20Warranty%20AU%2011Aug2021.pdf; https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/public/SB7200-9600-14000%20Warranty%20v3.5%20effective%2014Jul2023.pdf
AU Warranty scope
- Current text
- Australia; The recovered Australian Pylontech RB-HVS policy AB17WP5101 expressly names SB14200 and RB-HVS-192-74-AC. It covers the battery/BMS, with 55% of nominal label energy during its ten-year performance term; this is not a 70% US-series promise or a usable-system-capacity test. The supplied policy/cohort must be checked for an individual claim. The Redback system warranty v3.5 names SB14000, so SB14200 system-code equivalence remains unproven. No reviewed instrument establishes transfer of the legacy Redback system obligation to Redback Energy Pty Ltd.
The previous text is not reproduced here: both versions run to a full research paragraph. Both are in the JSON record linked below.
AU market evidenceWarranty period (yrs)+12 in JSON recordWarranty degradation guarantee: Evidence sources
- Before
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
- After
- https://digital.redbacktech.com/support-document/employee-installer-company/Pylontech%20RB-HVS%20Warranty%20AU%2011Aug2021.pdf
8 changes to this record · 78 products changed in this update
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Redback does not publish an exact SB14200 cycle-life result to a stated retained-capacity endpoint.
Value
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- Redback publishes no round-trip efficiency figure for this system. Recorded as a reviewed absence rather than a null placeholder, so the rubric's missing-mode applies cleanly.
Evidence sources
- Before
- Not previously recorded
- After
- https://www.redbacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/sb-data-sheet.pdf
This is review.solar's publication history. It does not claim the product changed on the recorded date, and it excludes compatibility, system pairing, installation suitability and relative leaderboard prose. Open the complete JSON record.
Evidence timeline
Recorded verification events for this scorecard. These are evidence checks, not historical score snapshots.
- Core scorecard evidence checked
- AU market evidence checked
- Series benchmark evidence checked
- Plain-language warranty summary checked
Scored by Solar Analytica Research
Further reading from Findings
Stay across the benchmark.
New scorecards, score changes and market signals, published as they happen.
Our reading
Smart Battery SB14200 scores 53, placing 74 of 76 in the Performance & Value class against a class average of 63.6. Its strongest scoring dimension is guarantee & backbone (64), running 9.5 points above the class average on this dimension. Longevity (verified) scores 45, the lowest pillar for this product. The class average on longevity (verified) is 59. Key specifications: 4.5 kW continuous output.
Dietreich Farquharson · review.solar